Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Adams: GSTR 110 (Fall 2020)

Print and e-Books

**********      A special note related to Covid-19:      *************
For the fall of 2020, in the interest of everyone's continued safety, we ask that students do not travel to the library's third floor to retrieve books.
We ask that you instead request books that you want to check out by sending a list of the titles you need to the Circulation Desk at: circdesk@berea.edu.
If you are on campus, the books will be pulled and checked out to you, for you to pick up at the Circulation Desk.
If you are off-campus, we will be glad to mail them to your home at no cost to you. 
An alternative to print books are e-books, which are available online 24/7.
How do you find books at Hutchins?

Newspapers & Magazines

To ensure you retrieve periodicals when you search, limit your search results to "magazines" or "newspapers".

Academic Journals

 

To ensure you retrieve scholarly, peer-reviewed articles when you search, limit your search results to "scholarly" and "peer-reviewed"

Reference Books

What is a reference work?

A book (such as a dictionary, encyclopedia, handbook, etc.) intended primarily for consultation rather than for consecutive reading. Usually, these contain short, fact-driven entries.

How do you find reference works?

Perform a simple BANC search using your keywords and then limit to "Reference Collection" 

- OR -

Use a database of reference books, such as Gale Virtual Reference, linked to below

Statistics

Why Use Data?

  • Data can help us strengthen our argument.
  • Data, such as statistics and demographics can help us analyze trends and relationships between economic, social, cultural, and biological processes influencing a population.
  • Data can transform something abstract into something everyone can understand and relate to. For example, data can reveal how some abstract threat such as unemployment affects people based on their age, gender, or education. (From the Data Journalism Handbook
Where do you find statistics?

Streaming Video

Films on Demand is our database of streaming documentaries, available anytime 24/7. Think of it as academic Netflix, or scholarly Hulu!
Videos are equipped with searchable transcripts, citations, and the ability to share or embed segments.

Search for them at the link below:

Evaluating Internet Sources with the CRAAP Test