Hutchins Library News Blog

 March's reference book of the Month:  The Jim Crow Encyclopedia

~ Recommended for students majoring in African-American Studies, history, and peace and Justice Studies~

The Jim Crow Encyclopedia Jim Crow refers to a set of laws in many states, predominantly in the South, after the end of Reconstruction in 1877 that severely restricted the rights and privileges of African Americans. As a caste system of enormous social and economic magnitude, the institutionalization of Jim Crow was the most significant element in African American life until the 1960s Civil Rights Movement led to its dismantling. Racial segregation, as well as responses to it and resistance against it, dominated the African American consciousness and continued to oppress African Americans and other minorities, while engendering some of the most important African American contributions to society. This major encyclopedia is the first devoted to the Jim Crow era. The era is encapsulated through more than 275 essay entries on such areas as law, media, business, politics, employment, religion, education, people, events, culture, the arts, protest, the military, class, housing, sports, and violence as well as through accompanying key primary documents excerpted as side bars. This set will serve as an invaluable, definitive resource for student research and general knowledge. The authoritative entries are written by a host of historians with expertise in the Jim Crow era. The quality content comes in an easy-to-access format. Readers can quickly find topics of interest, with alphabetical and topical lists of entries in the frontmatter, along with cross-references to related entries per entry. Further reading is provided per entry. Dynamic sidebars throughout give added insight into the topics. A chronology, selected bibliography, and photos round out the coverage. Sample entries include Advertising, Affirmative Action, Armed Forces, Black Cabinet, Blues, Brooklyn Dodgers, Bolling v. Sharpe, Confederate Flag, Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), Detroit Race Riot 1943, Ralph Ellison, Eyes on the Prize, G.I. Bill, Healthcare, Homosexuality, Intelligence Testing, Japanese Internment, Liberia, Minstrelsy, Nadir of the Negro, Poll Taxes, Rhythm and Blues, Rural Segregation, Sharecropping, Sundown Towns, Booker T. Washington, Works Project Administration, World War II. by Nikki L. M. Brown (Editor); Barry M. Stentiford (Editor)

Call Number: 305.896 J614 2008

Publication Date: 2008-09-30

Jim Crow refers to a set of laws in many states, predominantly in the South, after the end of Reconstruction in 1877 that severely restricted the rights and privileges of African Americans. As a caste system of enormous social and economic magnitude, the institutionalization of Jim Crow was the most significant element in African American life until the 1960s Civil Rights Movement led to its dismantling.

Racial segregation, as well as responses to it and resistance against it, dominated the African American consciousness and continued to oppress African Americans and other minorities, while engendering some of the most important African American contributions to society. This major encyclopedia is the first devoted to the Jim Crow era. The era is encapsulated through more than 275 essay entries on such areas as law, media, business, politics, employment, religion, education, people, events, culture, the arts, protest, the military, class, housing, sports, and violence as well as through accompanying key primary documents excerpted as side bars.

This set will serve as an invaluable, definitive resource for student research and general knowledge. The authoritative entries are written by a host of historians with expertise in the Jim Crow era. 

Hutchins Library is hosting an art exhibit of the Feminist Artists of Kentucky titled "Engaging communities to impact social justice." This art exhibit celebrates the Women's History Month and features pieces by 6 artists: Trish Ayers, Pat Cheshire Jennings, Jackie Pullum, Mary Ann Shupe, Patricia Watkins, and Valeria Watkins, as well as a guest artist Lynn Marrapodi. 

The exhibit is on display in the library's main floor. The exhibit may be viewed during library regular hours. It is free and open to the public.

The artists provided the following artist statement for the exhibit:

"We are six working artists who combine our efforts and talents to expand our creativity and create exhibitions that challenge the social norms. We are delighted to bring this exhibit to the Berea College Theatre Laboratory during its current production of plays written by Kentucky women playwrights. We support gender parity and equality in the art world, including theatre. 

If you wish to purchase our art, you may call 859-302-3709 and we will explain the details of your transaction and answer any other questions you may have. 

Thank you for coming and we hope you enjoy our exhibition."

Some artists' personal statements:

Valeria Watkins: "Women's History Month offers us all an opportunity to honor the work of women. It is a pure joy to work with my fellow artists  as Feminist Artists of Kentucky.."

Patricia Watkins: "My work as a feminist artist is most often inspired by women, their roles in our culture, and their legacies. Being in my seventh decade, I also am influenced by the body of work that I hope to leave behind..."

Attend Mr. Jordan Ryan's convocation on

February 16, 2017, 3:00pm

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium

Sponsored by CCC.

If you liked Mr. Ryan's presentation, then you'll love these books that we have available for check-out near the cafe area!

The Road to Peace by Henri J. M. Nouwen; John Dear (Editor)

Call Number: 261.8 N934r 1998

Publication Date: 1998

Throughout his life Henri Nouwen stressed the connection between intimacy with Christ and solidarity with a wounded world. From his early support for the civil rights movement, through his engagement in the cause of peace and his life with the handicapped members of the L'Arche community, Nouwen was always engaged with the social dimensions of the gospel. In gathering Nouwen's writings on peace and social justice, editor John Dear amplifies this crucial element of Nouwen's message about the call of Christian discipleship. At the same time, Nouwen issues a call to activists to be peacemakers in the fullest sense: to root their witness in prayer, joy, and a spirit of love. Included are a previously unpublished essay on peacemaking; stories of the March on Selma and the funeral of Martin Luther King; reflections on the legacies of Oscar Romero and Thomas Merton; and a moving talk on compassion in the time of AIDS. For all those who have read and treasured the life and work of Henri Nouwen, The Road to Peace is an inspiration, and a challenge to live our Christian lives with both love and action.

 

Dance, Human Rights, and Social Justice by Naomi M. Jackson (Editor); 

Call Number: 306.484 D1732 2008

Publication Date: 2008

Dance, Human Rights, and Social Justice: Dignity in Motion presents a wide-ranging compilation of essays, spanning more than 15 countries. Organized in four parts, the articles examine the regulation and exploitation of dancers and dance activity by government and authoritative groups, including abusive treatment of dancers within the dance profession; choreography involving human rights as a central theme; the engagement of dance as a means of healing victims of human rights abuses; and national and local social/political movements in which dance plays a powerful role in helping people fight oppression. These groundbreaking papers--both detailed scholarship and riveting personal accounts--encompass a broad spectrum of issues, from slavery and the Holocaust to the Bosnian and Rwandan genocides to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict; from First Amendment cases and the AIDS epidemic to discrimination resulting from age, gender, race, and disability. A range of academics, choreographers, dancers, and dance/movement therapists draw connections between refugee camp, courtroom, theater, rehearsal studio, and university classroom.

 

Second Wave Spirituality by Chris Saade; Andrew Harvey (Foreword by)

Call Number: 204 S111s 2014

Publication Date: 2014

In his work as a spiritual teacher interacting with seekers and activists from around the world, Chris Saade has witnessed a remarkable recent phenomenon: an emerging wave of spirituality that is socially and globally engaged in the pursuit of justice, earth care, and solidarity. Saade calls this movement "second wave spirituality," and in this book he maps out the cutting-edge ideas that are fueling this burgeoning wave of engaged spirituality. He challenges us to rise to our spiritual task and join the millions of all faiths who are awakening to the suffering and social struggles of all living beings. According to Saade, second wave spirituality holds a vision of the intrinsic values of love: justice, global peace, solidarity, inclusion, democratic freedom, compassion, and reconciliation. Saade explores current trends of thought that are shaking the foundations of our belief systems and propelling us toward an evolutionary leap. We are in the midst of a spiritual renaissance, Saade asserts, a universal reawakening that will steer us away from the abysmal global dangers we are facing. The book also includes a collection of quotations as a resource for those working for peace, justice, and inclusion. By dividing the selections into theme-specific chapters, Saade helps us easily access the wisdom and companionship of other souls committed to our diversity, our oneness, and our pursuit of justice.