Hutchins Library News Blog

On Tuesday, August 23^rd staff from the Madison County Public Library (MCPL) visited a Hutchins Library between Noon and 4:00pm. MCPL staff came to get students, faculty, and staff signed up for an MCPL library card. Berea College students, faculty, and staff DO qualify for a public library card, and best part is that it is free.

Anne Cinnamond (Berea alum, '20), Branch Services Manager at Richmond location, and Brandon Thompson, Outreach Coordinator for MCPL, were here from Noon to 4:00pm signing up folks for a library card. This is the second year that MCPL has visited Hutchins Library to sign up folks for library cards. Anne Cinnamond told us that the first time they came they issued 28-30 cards at the event. In contrast, MCPL issues 25 library cards daily between their two branches (main branch in Richmond and the Berea branch). This year MCPL issued about 60 library cards.

Some of the highlights and benefits of having an MCPL library card:

• Items from the Richmond location can be sent to Berea for local pickup.
• The Berea location is just a short walk from campus at 319 Chestnut Street.
• Lockers are available outside the Berea location that allow for 24/7 pickup.
• Full access to all digital library eBooks, audiobooks, tv shows, movies, music and more.
• Your Berea ID can be used for sign-up as well as a drivers license or passport.
• Full access their physical collections.

If you missed the event, you can either visit the library and apply for a card any time they are open, or you can apply online on their website (linked above).

As you can see in the photo, students and campus employees came to get a library card. On the right is our very own Sound Archivist Harry Rice, who took advantage of MCPLs visit to renew his own library card.

Special Collections and Archives is pleased to announce the following events for Fall 2022.

The exhibit "Works of Art on the Art of Quilting."

When: Now through October 28, 2022.

Where: Special Collections and Archives (lower level of Hutchins Library).

Description: This exhibit features twenty prints published by the Work Projects Administration (WPA) in 1937 as part of the New Deal economic recovery program during the Great Depression. The prints illustrate historic quilt block patterns and then deconstruct them so that the designs can be appreciated and appropriated by quilters. 2022 is the 85^th anniversary of their printing. All exhibit visitors are invited to vote on their favorite pattern.

The exhibit website is https://scaexhibits.omeka.net/exhibits/show/wpaquilts.

St. John's Bible Tours

When: Every Monday at 2:00 PM through December 12, 2022, holidays excepted.

Where: Meet in the Hutchins Library Foyer.

Description: This free weekly tour allows participants to encounter volumes of the St. John’s Bible directly so that their artistry can be studied close-up.

Pre-registration is required at least 2 hours in advance. To register for this experience, visit https://bctrace.com/explore/.

Tours of Special Collections Books on Quilts and Quilting

When: Every Friday at 2:00 PM through December 16, 2022, holidays excepted.

Where: Meet in the Hutchins Library Foyer.

Description: This free weekly tour will view the exhibit Works of Art on the Art of Quilting. The group will then visit the Special Collections and Archives reading room to view selected Special Collections books on quilts and quilting.

Pre-registration is required at least 2 hours in advance. To register for this experience, visit https://bctrace.com/explore/.

For further information, you can contact Tim Binkley, Head of Special Collections and Archives, via e-mail at binkleyt@berea.edu or via phone at 859-985-3267.