Hutchins Library News Blog

Are you interested in this convocation presentation?

We have similar books available for check out

in front of the Circulation Desk!

You can also check out her website linked here.

Virtual Equality by Urvashi Vaid

Call Number: 305.906 V128v 1995

Vaid defines the current status of gay America as one of virtual equality, a state of conditional equality based more on the appearance of acceptance by straight America, rather than actual civil equality. With hard-hitting analysis, Vaid begins the call-to-arms to the gay and lesbian community to begin the work necessary to achieve real and lasting equality with the rest of America.

The Right Side of History by Adrian Brooks; Jonathan Katz (Foreword by)

Call Number: 323.326 B873r 2015

Before, During, and After Stonewall: 100 Years of Heroes and History The Right Side of History tells the 100-year history of queer activism in a series of revealing close-ups, first-person accounts, and intimate snapshots of LGBT pioneers and radicals. This diverse cast stretches from the Edwardian period to today, including first-person accounts of the key protest that is at the heart of the 2015 movie Stonewall. The book shows how LGBT folk have always been in the forefront of progressive social evolution in the United States. It references heroes like Abraham Lincoln, Eleanor Roosevelt, Bayard Rustin, Harvey Milk, and Edie Windsor. Equally, the book honors names that aren't in history books, from participants in the Names Project, a national phenomenon memorializing 94,000 AIDS victims, to underground artists and writers.

The Path to Gay Rights by Jeremiah J. Garretson

Call Number: 323.326 G239p 2018

An innovative, data-driven explanation of how public opinion shifted on LGBTQ rights The Path to Gay Rights is the first social science analysis of how and why the LGBTQ movement achieved its most unexpected victory---transforming gay people from a despised group of social deviants into a minority worthy of rights and protections in the eyes of most Americans. The book weaves together a narrative of LGBTQ history with new findings from the field of political psychology to provide an understanding of how social movements affect mass attitudes in the United States and globally. Using data going back to the 1970s, the book argues that the current understanding of how social movements change mass opinion--through sympathetic media coverage and endorsements from political leaders--cannot provide an adequate explanation for the phenomenal success of the LGBTQ movement at changing the public's views. In The Path to Gay Rights, Jeremiah Garretson argues that the LGBTQ community's response to the AIDS crisis was a turning point for public support of gay rights. ACT-UP and related AIDS organizations strategically targeted political and media leaders, normalizing news coverage of LGBTQ issues and AIDS and signaled to LGBTQ people across the United States that their lives were valued. The net result was an increase in the number of LGBTQ people who came out and lived their lives openly, and with increased contact with gay people, public attitudes began to warm and change. Garretson goes beyond the story of LGBTQ rights to develop an evidence-based argument for how social movements can alter mass opinion on any contentious topic.

Queer Media Images by Theresa Carilli (Editor)

Call Number: 306.766 Q3815 2013

Queer Media Images: LGBT Perspectives presents fifteen chapters that address how the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered communities are depicted in the media. This collection focuses on how the LGBT community has been silenced or given voice through the media. Through a study of queer media images, this book scrutinizes LGBT media representations and how these representations contribute to a dialogue about civil rights for this marginalized community. While the communication discipline has been open to the LGBT community, there has been an absence of published research and a marginalizing or tokenizing of the queer voice. Through a study of media representations, this unique collection provides a snapshot into the issues surrounding LGBT identity during a time when the Defense of Marriage Act is called into question and explores what it means to study images through a queer lens.

Handbook of LGBT Communities, Crime, and Justice by Dana Peterson (Editor); Vanessa R. Panfil (Editor)

Call Number: 364.086 H236 2014

Contemporary scholars have begun to explore non-normative sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression in a growing victimization literature, but very little research is focused on LGBTQ communities' patterns of offending (beyond sex work) and their experiences with police, the courts, and correctional institutions. This Handbook, the first of its kind in Criminology and Criminal Justice, will break new ground by presenting a thorough treatment of all of these under-explored issues in one interdisciplinary volume that features current empirical work.

 

Modern Homosexualities by Ken Plummer (Editor)

Call Number: 305.906 M689

This book of nineteen original essays by activists and academics documents and analyses the dramatic changes in lesbian and gay experience over the last twenty years. It charts the growth of lesbian and gay studies, and examines key issues around communitites, identities, relationships, sexualities and politics. These essays, edited by a leading author in the field, herald a new confidence and maturity for the growing field of lesbian and gay studies.

 

Are you interested in this convocation presentation?

We have materials available for check out

in front of the Circulation Desk!

You can also check out his website here. 

Tattoos on the Heart by Gregory Boyle

Call Number: 277.949 B792t 2010

Father Gregory Boyle's sparkling parables about kinship and the sacredness of life are drawn from twenty years working with gangs in LA. How do you fight despair and learn to meet the world with a loving heart? How do you overcome shame? Stay faithful in spite of failure? No matter where people live or what their circumstances may be, everyone needs boundless, restorative love. Gorgeous and uplifting, Tattoos on the Heart amply demonstrates the impact unconditional love can have on your life. As a pastor working in a neighborhood with the highest concentration of murderous gang activity in Los Angeles, Gregory Boyle created an organization to provide jobs, job training, and encouragement so that young people could work together and learn the mutual respect that comes from collaboration. Tattoos on the Heart is a breathtaking series of parables distilled from his twenty years in the barrio. Arranged by theme and filled with sparkling humor and glowing generosity, these essays offer a stirring look at how full our lives could be if we could find the joy in loving others and in being loved unconditionally. From giant, tattooed Cesar, shopping at JCPenney fresh out of prison, we learn how to feel worthy of God's love. From ten-year-old Lula we learn the importance of being known and acknowledged. From Pedro we understand the kind of patience necessary to rescue someone from the darkness. In each chapter we benefit from Boyle's wonderful, hard-earned wisdom. Inspired by faith but applicable to anyone trying to be good, these personal, unflinching stories are full of surprising revelations and observations of the community in which Boyle works and of the many lives he has helped save. Erudite, down-to-earth, and utterly heartening, these essays about universal kinship and redemption are moving examples of the power of unconditional love in difficult times and the importance of fighting despair. With Gregory Boyle's guidance, we can recognize our own wounds in the broken lives and daunting struggles of the men and women in these parables and learn to find joy in all of the people around us. Tattoos on the Heart reminds us that no life is less valuable than another.

 

Barking to the Choir by Gregory Boyle

Call Number: 277.949 B792b 2017

"This is a beautiful and important and soul-transporting book. . . . Please read it." --Elizabeth Gilbert "If you're in the market for genuine inspiration, I urge you to read Barking to the Choir." --Ann Patchett In a moving example of unconditional love in dif­ficult times, the Jesuit priest and bestselling author of Tattoos on the Heart, Gregory Boyle, shares what three decades of working with gang members in Los Angeles has taught him about faith, compassion, and the enduring power of kinship. In his first book, Tattoos on the Heart: The Power of Boundless Compassion, Gregory Boyle introduced us to Homeboy Industries, the largest gang-intervention program in the world. Critics hailed that book as an "astounding literary and spiritual feat" (Publishers Weekly) that is "destined to become a classic of both urban reportage and contemporary spirituality" (Los Angeles Times). Now, after the suc­cessful expansion of Homeboy Industries, Boyle returns with Barking to the Choir to reveal how com­passion is transforming the lives of gang members. In a nation deeply divided and plagued by poverty and violence, Barking to the Choir offers a snapshot into the challenges and joys of life on the margins. Sergio, arrested at nine, in a gang by twelve, and serving time shortly thereafter, now works with the substance-abuse team at Homeboy to help others find sobriety. Jamal, abandoned by his family when he tried to attend school at age seven, gradually finds forgive­ness for his schizophrenic mother. New father Cuco, who never knew his own dad, thinks of a daily adventure on which to take his four-year-old son. These former gang members uplift the soul and reveal how bright life can be when filled with unconditional love and kindness. This book is guaranteed to shake up our ideas about God and about people with a glimpse at a world defined by more compassion and fewer barriers. Gently and humorously, Barking to the Choir invites us to find kinship with one another and reconvinces us all of our own goodness.

 

The Scope of Our Art by L. Gregory Jones (Editor); Stephanie Paulsell (Editor)

Call Number: 230.071 S422 2002

In The Scope of Our Art a diverse group of theological teachers explores the spiritual dimensions of their vocation as religious educators. Drawing on a rich array of resources, including Scripture, The Rule of St. Benedict, medieval women mystics, the Methodist theologian Georgia Harkness, and Simone Weil, as well as their own teaching experiences, the contributors discuss the vital relationships between academic and spiritual formation, religious commitments and teaching practices, and individual and institutional vocation.

 

Are you interested in this convocation presentation?

We have materials available for check out

in front of the Circulation Desk!

You can also check out their website linked here.

Live at 2016 New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival by Corey Harris Band

Call Number: CD 781.643 C797L 2016 (CD Collection - 2nd Floor)

Art of the Groove by Turtle Island String Quartet

Call Number: CD 781.65 T962

 

 

 

Best of Preservation Hall Jazz Band by Best of Preservation Hall Jazz Band

Call Number: CD 781.652 P933b

 

Hutchins Library is pleased to announce that Dr. Valeria Watkins will present her solo exhibit entitled "New Visions" during the month of February 2020. The exhibit of abstract art in celebration of Black History Month can be viewed in the main floor of Hutchins Library during library regular hours throughout the month of February.

In addition, there will be a reception with the artist on Thursday, February 6, 2020 from 4:30p to 6:00p in the library's main floor. Refreshments will be served. Come and meet the artist, ask questions and take some time to enjoy this great and colorful exhibit.

All events are free and open to the public.

Dr. Valeria Watkins submitted the following biographical and artistic statement to go with the exhibit:

Welcome to the 2020 celebration of Black History Month at the Hutchins Library Gallery at Berea College. A collection of 15 new, interesting and exciting Abstract Paintings are on display for the month.

This is the fifth solo exhibit by artist Valeria Watkins. This year’s collection is entitled “New Visions”. She uses bold, colorful acrylic paints to express the creative spirit. Usually, by using two to three colors she finds nit easy to express formless connections with the colors. The work is highly intuitive while invoking strong emotional connections with the images or colors.

It is still a challenge to allow the paints to be themselves as opposed to being something specific. So, take your time with each painting and get a feel for what the painting is saying to you. Everyone has a difference experience as they listen.

"A Joyful Noise" by Valeria Watkins. Acrylic on canvas

"Peaceful" by Valeria Watkins. Acrylic on canvas

Are you interested in this convocation presentation?

We have similar books available for check out

in front of the Circulation Desk!

Black Women's Christian Activism by Betty Livingston Adams

Call Number: 277.493 A211b 2016

2017 Wilbur Non-Fiction Award Recipient Winner of the 2018 Author's Award in scholarly non0fiction, presented by the New Jersey Studies Academic Alliance  In Black Women's Christian Activism, Betty Livingston Adams examines the oft overlooked role of non-elite black women in the growth of northern suburbs and American Protestantism in the first half of the twentieth century.    When a domestic servant named Violet Johnson moved to the affluent white suburb of Summit, New Jersey in 1897, she became one of just barely a hundred black residents in the town of six thousand. In this avowedly liberal Protestant community, the very definition of "the suburbs" depended on observance of unmarked and fluctuating race and class barriers. But Johnson did not intend to accept the status quo. Establishing a Baptist church a year later, a seemingly moderate act that would have implications far beyond weekly worship, Johnson challenged assumptions of gender and race, advocating for a politics of civic righteousness that would grant African Americans an equal place in a Christian nation. Johnson's story is powerful, but she was just one among the many working-class activists integral to the budding days of the civil rights movement.   Focusing on the strategies and organizational models church women employed in the fight for social justice, Adams tracks the intersections of politics and religion, race and gender, and place and space in a New York City suburb, a local example that offers new insights on northern racial oppression and civil rights protest. As this book makes clear, religion made a key difference in the lives and activism of ordinary black women who lived, worked, and worshiped on the margin during this tumultuous time.

Policing Black Bodies by Smith Hattery; Angela J. Hattery; Earl Smith

Call Number: 364.349 H366p 2018

From Trayvon Martin to Freddie Gray, the stories of police violence against Black people are too often in the news. In Policing Black Bodies Angela J. Hattery and Earl Smith make a compelling case that the policing of Black bodies goes far beyond these individual stories of brutality. They connect the regulation of African American people in many settings, including the public education system and the criminal justice system, into a powerful narrative about the myriad ways Black bodies are policed. Policing Black Bodies goes beyond chronicling isolated incidents of injustice to look at the broader systems of inequality in our society--how they're structured, how they harm Black people, and how we can work for positive change. The book discusses the school-to-prison pipeline, mass incarceration and the prison boom, the unique ways Black women and trans people are treated, wrongful convictions and the challenges of exoneration, and more. Each chapter of the book opens with a true story, explains the history and current state of the issue, and looks toward how we can work for change. The book calls attention to the ways class, race, and gender contribute to injustice, as well as the perils of colorblind racism--that by pretending not to see race we actually strengthen, rather than dismantle, racist social structures. Policing Black Bodies is a powerful call to acknowledge injustice and work for change.

Why Global Justice Matters by Chris Armstrong

Call Number: 303.372 A735w 2019

While many are born into prosperity, hundreds of millions of people lead lives of almost unimaginable poverty. Our world remains hugely unequal, with our place of birth continuing to exert a major influence on our opportunities. In this accessible book, leading political theorist Chris Armstrong engagingly examines the key moral and political questions raised by this stark global divide. Why, as a citizen of a relatively wealthy country, should you care if others have to make do with less? Do we have a moral duty to try to rectify this state of affairs? What does 'global justice' mean anyway - and why does it matter? Could we make our world a more just one even if we tried? Can you as an individual make a difference? This book powerfully demonstrates that global justice is something we should all be concerned about, and sketches a series of reforms that would make our divided world a fairer one. It will be essential introductory reading for students of global justice, activists and concerned citizens.

To Live Here, You Have to Fight by Jessica Wilkerson

Call Number: 320.082 W681t 2019

Launched in 1964, the War on Poverty quickly took aim at the coalfields of southern Appalachia. There, the federal government found unexpected allies among working-class white women devoted to a local tradition of citizen caregiving and seasoned by decades of activism and community service. Jessica Wilkerson tells their stories within the larger drama of efforts to enact change in the 1960s and 1970s. She shows white Appalachian women acting as leaders and soldiers in a grassroots war on poverty--shaping and sustaining programs, engaging in ideological debates, offering fresh visions of democratic participation, and facing personal political struggles. Their insistence that caregiving was valuable labor clashed with entrenched attitudes and rising criticisms of welfare. Their persistence, meanwhile, brought them into unlikely coalitions with black women, disabled miners, and others to fight for causes that ranged from poor people's rights to community health to unionization. Inspiring yet sobering, To Live Here, You Have to Fight reveals Appalachian women as the indomitable caregivers of a region--and overlooked actors in the movements that defined their time.

Rethinking Mathematics: Teaching Social Justice by the Numbers by Eric Gutstein (Editor); Bob Peterson (Editor)

Call Number: 510.73 R438 2005

In this unique collection, more than 30 articles show how to weave social justice issues throughout the mathematics curriculum, as well as how to integrate mathematics into other curricular areas. Rethinking Mathematics offers teaching ideas, lesson plans, and reflections by practitioners and mathematics educators. This is real-world math-math that helps students analyze problems as they gain essential academic skills. This book offers hope and guidance for teachers to enliven and strengthen their math teaching. It will deepen students' understanding of society and help prepare them to be critical, active participants in a democracy. Blending theory and practice, this is the only resource of its kind.

February's reference book of the month is Black women in America : an historical encyclopedia.The description provided below is from Amazon:

Provides 614 biographical and 163 topical essays discussing the important roles Black women have played in American history.

~ Recommended for students majoring in African American Studies as well as Women and Gender Studies~

Black Women in America by Darlene Clark Hine (Editor); Elsa B. Brown (Editor); Rosalyn Terborg-Penn (Editor)

ISBN: 0926019619

Publication Date: 1993-01-01

Christians speak of “being saved,” but all too oftendon’t follow the phrase to its logical reply: “Savedfrom what?” How do we answer this question when we share thegospel with others? Far from being a matter of semantics, the issueholds critical importance for believers and non-believers alike. Isit really sufficientto say that we are saved from oursins? R. C. Sproul uses Scripture to show that the question, in itsmost important sense, should be phrased, “Saved fromwhom?” The answer: God himself. God, in righteous wrath,stands against us in our sin. But the glory of the gospel is thatthe one from whom we need to be saved is the very one who saves us.It is when we truly grasp the significance of Christ’sredeeming work that we begin to understand the serious demands andjoys of repentance. Thoughtful readers will be strengthened andchallenged by this insightful volume. Now available inpaperback.

In February 1926, Berea college alum and Harvard-trained historian Carter G. Woodson (1875–1950) introduced the annual Negro History Week. Woodson hoped to promote pride within the black community and to foster more awareness and appreciation of African Americans and their contributions to society. Negro History Week was an opportunity for people to learn about and reflect on the achievements of black men and women. It was also a time for the affirmation of goals and dreams. For mainstream America, it was an opportunity to look beyond the common caricatures of poverty and hopelessness to more realistic representations of family and faith. In the 1960s, Negro History Week became Black History Month. Black History Month continues today as an annual celebration held in February. In turn, this observance has generated other explorations of American history such as Asian American Month (April), National Hispanic Heritage Month (mid-September to mid-October), Native American Heritage Month (November), and Women's History Month (March).

Description from:

Lerner, K. L., Lerner, B. W., & Lerner, A. W. (Eds.). (2006). New February Activities Focus on Black History Importance. In Immigration and Multiculturalism: Essential Primary Sources (pp. 388–391). Detroit, MI: Gale. Retrieved from http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CX2688400151/GVRL?u=berea&sid=GVRL&xid=758dca93

Check out the titles below for more info on Black History Month:

We Are the Change We Seek by E. J. Dionne; Joy-Ann Reid

ISBN: 9781635570915

Publication Date: 2017-01-31

A collection of Barack Obama's greatest speeches, now including his farewell address, selected and introduced by columnist E.J. Dionne and MSNBC host Joy-Ann Reid. "It is a political partisan's dream to see them [Obama's words] so finely gathered here." - Washington Post We Are the Change We Seek is a collection of Barack Obama's 27 greatest addresses: beginning with his 2002 speech opposing the Iraq War and closing with his emotional farewell address in Chicago in January 2017. As president, Obama's words had the power to move the country, and often the world, as few presidents before him. Whether acting as Commander in Chief or Consoler in Chief, Obama adopted a unique rhetorical style that could simultaneously speak to the national mood and change the course of public events. Obama's eloquence, both written and spoken, propelled him to national prominence and ultimately made it possible for the son of a Kenyan man and a white woman from Kansas to become the first black president of the United States. These speeches span Obama's career--from his time in state government through to the end of his tenure as president--and the issues most important to our time: war, inequality, race relations, gun violence and human rights. The book opens with an essay placing Obama's oratorical contributions within the flow of American history by E.J. Dionne Jr., columnist and author ofWhy The Right Went Wrong, and Joy Reid, the host ofAM Joyon MSNBC and author ofFracture.

Let It Shine by Andrea Davis Pinkney; Stephen Alcorn (Illustrator)

ISBN: 9780547906041

Publication Date: 2013-01-08

Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat on a bus and sparked a boycott that changed America. Harriet Tubman helped more than three hundred slaves escape the South on the Underground Railroad. Shirley Chisholm became the first black woman elected to the U.S. House of Representatives. The lives these women led are part of an incredible story about courage in the face of oppression; about the challenges and triumphs of the battle for civil rights; and about speaking out for what you believe in--even when it feels like no one is listening. Andrea Davis Pinkney's moving text and Stephen Alcorn's glorious portraits celebrate the lives of ten bold women who lit the path to freedom for generations. Includes biographies of Sojournor Truth, Biddy Mason, Harriet Tubman, Ida B.Wells-Barnett, Mary McLeod Bethune, Ella Josephine Baker, Dorothy Irene Height, Rosa Parks, Fannie Lou Hamer, and Shirley Chisholm.

Becoming King by Troy Jackson; Clayborne Carson (Other)

ISBN: 9780813125206

Publication Date: 2008-11-14

"The history books may write it Reverend King was born in Atlanta, and then came to Montgomery, but we feel that he was born in Montgomery in the struggle here, and now he is moving to Atlanta for bigger responsibilities." -- Member of Dexter Avenue Baptist Church, November 1959 Preacher -- this simple term describes the twenty-five-year-old Ph.D. in theology who arrived in Montgomery, Alabama, to become the pastor of Dexter Avenue Baptist Church in 1954. His name was Martin Luther King Jr., but where did this young minister come from? What did he believe, and what role would he play in the growing activism of the civil rights movement of the 1950s? In Becoming King: Martin Luther King Jr. and the Making of a National Leader, author Troy Jackson chronicles King's emergence and effectiveness as a civil rights leader by examining his relationship with the people of Montgomery, Alabama. Using the sharp lens of Montgomery's struggle for racial equality to investigate King's burgeoning leadership, Jackson explores King's ability to connect with the educated and the unlettered, professionals and the working class. In particular, Jackson highlights King's alliances with Jo Ann Robinson, a young English professor at Alabama State University; E. D. Nixon, a middle-aged Pullman porter and head of the local NAACP chapter; and Virginia Durr, a courageous white woman who bailed Rosa Parks out of jail after Parks refused to give up her bus seat to a white person. Jackson offers nuanced portrayals of King's relationships with these and other civil rights leaders in the community to illustrate King's development within the community. Drawing on countless interviews and archival sources, Jackson compares King's sermons and religious writings before, during, and after the Montgomery bus boycott. Jackson demonstrates how King's voice and message evolved during his time in Montgomery, reflecting the shared struggles, challenges, experiences, and hopes of the people with whom he worked. Many studies of the civil rights movement end analyses of Montgomery's struggle with the conclusion of the bus boycott and the establishment of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference. Jackson surveys King's uneasy post-boycott relations with E. D. Nixon and Rosa Parks, shedding new light on Parks's plight in Montgomery after the boycott and revealing the internal discord that threatened the movement's hard-won momentum. The controversies within the Montgomery Improvement Association compelled King to position himself as a national figure who could rise above the quarrels within the movement and focus on attaining its greater goals. Though the Montgomery struggle thrust King into the national spotlight, the local impact on the lives of blacks from all socioeconomic classes was minimal at the time. As the citizens of Montgomery awaited permanent change, King left the city, taking the lessons he learned there onto the national stage. In the crucible of Montgomery, Martin Luther King Jr. was transformed from an inexperienced Baptist preacher into a civil rights leader of profound national importance.

Wouldn't Take Nothing for My Journey Now by Maya Angelou

ISBN: 0679427430

Publication Date: 1993-09-21

Wisdom from a remarkable woman of many talents--a writer who captured America's heart on Inauguration Day.

Roots by Alex Haley

ISBN: 0385037872

Publication Date: 1976-08-17

The monumental bestseller! Alex Haley recaptures his family's history in this drama of eighteenth-century slave Kunta Kinte and his descendants.

 

 

 

This month's showcase is on a manga and anime titled Kimi ni Todoke by Karuho Shiina

"Sawako Kuronuma is the perfect heroine...for a horror movie. With striking similarities to a haunting movie character--jet-black hair, sinister smile and silent demeanor--she's mistakenly called Sadako by those around her. But behind her scary façade is a very misunderstood teenager. Too shy to fit in, all she wants to do is make some friends. But when the most popular boy in class befriends her, she's sure to make more than just that--she's about to make some enemies too!"   -from the publisher

Check out the link to the catalog below if Kimi ni Todoke is for you!

Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, by Karuho Shiina

Call Number: 741.595 S555k (Graphic Novels -- Main Floor Circulation Area)

Sawako Kuronuma is the perfect heroine...for a horror movie. With her jet-black hair, sinister smile and silent demeanor, she's often mistaken for Sadako, the haunting character from Ringu. Unbeknownst to but a few, behind her scary façade is a very misunderstood teenager. Shy and pure of heart, she just wants to make friends. But when Kazehaya, the most popular boy in class, befriends her, she's sure to make more than just that--she's about to make some enemies too!