Hutchins Library News Blog

August's reference book of the month is The wellness encyclopedia of food and nutrition : how to buy, store, and prepare every fresh food

Here is a comprehensive guide to more than 500 fresh and whole foods - all the familiar ones you are likely to find in a supermarket or greengrocer's, along with more exotic fare, from amaranth to tomatillo. A user-friendly format supplies all the information you need to compare, select, and prepare foods - so that you know you are buying the best for you and your family. Every food entry provides: 1) Latest findings on the links between foods and disease prevention 2) Nutritional profiles showing calories and carbohydrates, protein, fats, fiber and key vitamins and minerals 3) Comprehensive listings of different types and varieties 4) Shopping tips for choosing the freshest foods - and where and when they're available 5) Best storage methods to preserve taste and nutritional value 6) Cooking and preparation tips for retaining a food's nutrients 7) Creative serving suggestions that include delicious new ideas along with healthier ways to prepare traditional dishes. Color photographs, charts, cooking glossary, complete nutritional directory, and hundreds of tips, shortcuts and food facts are included.

~ Recommended for students majoring in Nursing  as well as Health and Human Performance ~

The Wellness Encyclopedia of Food and Nutrition by Univ. of California at Berkeley Wellness Letter Ed; Sheldon Margen; Steven Mays (Photographer)

ISBN: 0929661036

Publication Date: 1992-09-29

The single most authoritative guide to shopping and eating for better health and a longer life.

Welcome back to Zine of the Month! This month's zine is Like Walking Onto Another Planet: Stories About the True Impacts of Mountaintop Removal Mining. This zine showcases environmental and sustainability issues in the Appalachian region due to the removal of mountain tops in order to mine the coal. Check it out in our Zine Collection!

Historically, zines have been around since 1776 when Thomas Paine self-published Common Sense and used it as an instrument in promoting the ideas that contributed to the U.S. War for Independence. Just a perfect example to demonstrate the free spirit of zine culture. Zine comes from fanzine which is a term that generally describes a small-circulation science fiction publication. Fanzines first appeared in the late 1920s. Zines were used to promote punk music in the 1970s, a time when this type of music received very little interest from the larger press music. This phenomenon spawned a new interest in self-publishing.

Check back next month for more zine updates!

Like Walking Onto Another Planet

Call Number: Zine Collection

Berea College’s health and wellness program referred to as ‘Thrive!’ defines wellness through eight dimensions. It includes emotional, financial, intellectual, occupational, physical, social, spiritual, and sustainable wellness. Mechanisms to improve some of the dimensions of wellness in our daily lives include exercising, eating a healthy diet, practicing gratitude, and improving communication skills.  Blumenthal, Smith, and Hoffman found that aerobic exercise has been correlated with alleviating symptoms of mild to moderate depression and encourage patients to include exercise in their daily lives (Blumenthal, Smith, & Hoffman, 2012). We all know that eating healthily improves one’s physical wellness, however what does it really mean? According to a “meta-analysis of more than 1.5 million healthy adults, it was demonstrated that following a Mediterranean diet was associated with a reduced risk of cardiovascular mortality as well as overall mortality" (Cesari et al., 2008).One aspect of spiritual wellness is gratitude. According to positive psychology research, gratitude is strongly and consistently associated with greater happiness, so remember to practice gratitude more often (Witvliet et al., 2019). Lastly, according to Brene Brown, research professor at the University of Houston, some phrases that improve communication and thereby social wellness include: “the story I make up”, “I am curious about”, “Tell me more”, and “That is not my experience” (Brown, 2012). Incorporate at least one of these wellness boosts as a new habit this August and change a life time. 

Works Cited:

Blumenthal, J. A., Smith, P. J., & Hoffman, B. M. (2012). Is Exercise a Viable Treatment for Depression?. ACSM's health & fitness journal, 16(4), 14–21.

Sofi, F., Cesari, F., Abbate, R., Gensini, G. F., & Casini, A. (2008). Adherence to Mediterranean diet and health status: meta-analysis. BMJ (Clinical research ed.), 337, a1344.

Witvliet, C. V., Richie, F. J., Root Luna, L. M., & Van Tongeren, D. R. (2019). Gratitude predicts hope and happiness: A two-study assessment of traits and states. The Journal of Positive Psychology, 14(3), 271-282.

Brown, Brené. Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead. New York: Gotham Books, 2012. Brown, Brené.

For more information about wellness, check out the titles below:

Health and Wellness by Gordon Edlin; Eric Golanty

ISBN: 0763748196

Publication Date: 2004-01-01

Outlining the basic principles of physical, mental, and spiritual wellness, this colorful textbook explains how to eat and exercise

toward a healthy lifestyle, build healthy relationships, prevent disease, and use drugs responsibly. Stress management techniques are described in the appendix.

Fitness and Wellness by Sharon A. Hoeger

ISBN: 0495012564

Publication Date: 2006-03-07

FITNESS AND WELLNESS, Seventh Edition is a colorful, concise, less expensive option for instructors who value the powerful instruction that is the hallmark of the Hoegers' fitness and wellness texts. If you want the beauty found in the more comprehensive fitness and wellness text, the large ancillary package (see the "Ancillaries" section for a full listing), but are concerned about price and/or do not have enough time to get through the material, then this is your text! FITNESS AND WELLNESS, packaged with the Profile Plus 2007 CD-ROM, concentrates on health-related physical fitness components, with beneficial information about wellness. Inside, you'll also find discussions on motivation and behavior modification with an emphasis on teaching individuals how to take control of their personal fitness, health and lifestyle habits so they can make a constant and deliberate effort to stay healthy and realize their highest potential for well-being.

Lifestyle Wellness Coaching by James Gavin; Madeleine Mcbrearty

ISBN: 9781450414845

Publication Date: 2013-04-18

Lifestyles have changed dramatically over the past quarter century, and along with these changes come exciting opportunities for health, wellness, and fitness professionals, including new career paths in the professional domain of health and wellness coaching. Centered on an evidence-based process for guiding change, Lifestyle Wellness Coaching, Second Edition, offers a systematic approach to helping clients achieve enduring changes in their personal health and wellness behaviors through a supportive and forward-moving coaching relationship. Formerly titled Lifestyle Fitness Coaching, the second edition of Lifestyle Wellness Coaching has been thoroughly revised and updated to keep pace with the rapidly evolving field of lifestyle coaching. The text offers powerful methodologies for those who want to embrace lifestyle coaching as their primary profession as well as for those who intend to integrate a coaching approach into their work with clients. The text is complemented by discussions, case studies, reflective opportunities, and practical aids and engages readers through multiple approaches to learning: - Sidebars provide practical guidance for enhanced understanding. - Reflection sidebars prompt readers to personally experience the content. - Dynamic coaching dialogues bring abstract concepts to life. - Typical exchanges between coaches and clients are illustrated. - The International Coach Federation's 11 core competencies are thoroughly examined to prepare readers for certification in the profession of coaching. Lifestyle Wellness Coaching, Second Edition, uses realistic coaching conversations to address issues such as the timing and types of questions to ask, how to provide feedback effectively, and how to facilitate robust action planning. Readers are presented with a broad overview of the field and detailed analysis of core ingredients to promote effective coaching relationships. The text includes essential structures for coaching conversations and practical considerations to help readers adapt materials to their unique career interests. Lifestyle Wellness Coaching introduces readers to models that clearly identify clients' progress through the stages of change. First, the text explores the popular transtheoretical model (TTM) of health-related behavior change and its delineation of six stages of clients' readiness to change. Discussion of TTM includes strategies appropriate to clients in various stages of readiness to change. Lifestyle Wellness Coaching also presents the learning-through-change model (LCM), revealing the deep layers beneath each phase of client movement toward change. Following considerations of the stages and phases of change, readers are offered a critical map for coaching clients toward goal achievement. The authors' unique flow model of coaching illustrates how professional coaches help clients navigate the sometimes turbulent events in attempting to change habitual patterns of behavior. Lifestyle Wellness Coaching, Second Edition, details how professionals engage in well-designed communication strategies to motivate, guide, inform, and support clients' processes toward personal change with a holistic approach.

The American Holistic Medical Association Guide to Holistic Health by Larry Trivieri; American Holistic Medical Association Staff

ISBN: 0471327433

Publication Date: 2001-04-26

A Complete and Comprehensive Guide to Holistic Treatment "Larry Trivieri beautifully illuminates the full spectrum of natural healing approaches, highlighting the unifying themes and distinctive features of health systems around the world and across the ages. This book is a valuable resource for individuals interested in their personal well being, as well as health professionals seeking to deepen their understanding of holistic medicine."-David Simon, M.D., Medical Director, the Chopra Center for Well Being, Author, Vital Energy and Return to Wholeness Find reputable practitioners and put proven healing therapies to work in your life with this informative and reliable guide to holistic medicine and its primary treatment methods, including: * Nutritional Medicine * Environmental Medicine * Mind-Body Medicine * Traditional Chinese Medicine * Osteopathic Medicine * Chiropractic * Botanical Medicine * Bodywork/Massage * Naturopathic Medicine * Homeopathy * Ayurvedic Medicine * Acupuncture * Yoga and many more

This month's showcase is on a graphic novel and anime titled Fullmetal Alchemist by Hiromu Arakawa

"Breaking the laws of nature is a serious crime! In an alchemical ritual gone wrong, Edward Elric lost his arm and his leg, and his brother Alphonse became nothing but a soul in a suit of armor. Equipped with mechanical ""auto-mail"" limbs, Edward becomes a state alchemist, seeking the one thing that can restore his and his brother's bodies...the legendary Philosopher's Stone.

Alchemy: the mystical power to alter the natural world, somewhere between magic art, and science. When two brothers, Edward and Alphonse Elric, dabbled in these powers to grant their dearest wish, one of them lost an arm and leg...and the other became nothing but a soul locked into a body of living iron. Now they are agents of the government, slaves of the military -alchemical complex, using their unique powers to obey their orders...even to kill. But their powers aren't unique. The world crawls with evil alchemists. And in pursuit of the ultimate alchemical treasure, the Philosophers' Stone, their enemies are even more ruthless than they are.."        -from the publisher

Check out the link to the catalog below if Fullmetal Alchemist is for you!

Fullmetal Alchemist by Hiromu Arakawa

Call Number: 741.595 A659f 2011 (Graphic Novel Collection -- Main Floor Circulation Area)

Breaking the laws of nature is a serious crime! Reads  R to L (Japanese Style), for audience T. Containing volumes 1,2 and 3 of Fullmetal Alchemist! In an alchemical ritual gone wrong, Edward Elric lost his arm and his leg, and his brother Alphonse became nothing but a soul in a suit of armor. Equipped with mechanical ""auto-mail"" limbs, Edward becomes a state alchemist, seeking the one thing that can restore his and his brother's bodies...the legendary Philosopher's Stone. Alchemy: the mystical power to alter the natural world, somewhere between magic art, and science. When two brothers, Edward and Alphonse Elric, dabbled in these powers to grant their dearest wish, one of them lost an arm and leg...and the other became nothing but a soul locked into a body of living iron. Now they are agents of the government, slaves of the military -alchemical complex, using their unique powers to obey their orders...even to kill. But their powers aren't unique. The world crawls with evil alchemists. And in pursuit of the ultimate alchemical treasure, the Philsopher's Stone, their enemies are even more ruthless than they are...

Hutchins Library's August 2019 Spotlight Display is on the topic of Wellness. Stop by the Reference Desk to view the display and check out some books related to the topic. The Spotlight Display is chosen every month by our Reference Student Associates.

The following books are on display (as of this post). If any interest you, feel free to pick it up and take it to the Circulation Desk to check out.

The Body Bears the Burden by Robert C. Scaer

Call Number: 616.852 S278b 2001

ISBN: 9780789012463

Publication Date: 2001-08-08

Measure the neurophysiological changes associated with PTSD and whiplash! Using the clinical model of the whiplash syndrome, this groundbreaking book describes the alterations in brain chemistry and function induced in individuals by what is known as traumatic stress or traumatization--experiencing a life-threatening event while in a state of helplessness. The Body Bears the Burden: Trauma, Dissociation, and Disease presents evidence of the resulting and relatively permanent alteration in neurophysiology, neurochemistry, and neuronal organization. This book convincingly demonstrates that these changes create lasting effects on the emotional and physical well-being of the victim--changes correlated with many of the most common, yet poorly understood, physical complaints and diseases, including whiplash, migraines, fibromyalgia, irritable bowel syndrome, and other painful, difficult-to-treat conditions. Further, the causes and effects of retraumatization are explored, clarifying the reasons some patients suffer fresh trauma over relatively minor incidents while others handle major traumas more easily. This groundbreaking volume backs up its new theory of PTSD neurophysiology with cogent theory and persuasive evidence, including: case studies correlating clinical features of trauma and dissociation with compelling physiological rationales for the symptoms solid documentation drawing from the medical and psychiatric literature of PTSD, whiplash, brain injury, epidemiology of trauma, and a variety of disease processes linked to trauma in-depth discussions of medical traumatization of patients, including the results of pediatric procedures and ineffective anesthesia demonstrations that somatization and conversion are not imagined symptoms but result from measurable autonomic physiological alteration of the affected organ a well-documented exploration of the effect of prenatal and neonatal trauma on later emotional development, response to traumatic life events, and disease and mortality This impressive empirical evidence that body, brain, and mind are a continuum offers a powerful new paradigm to medical and mental health professionals, as well as new hope to sufferers from trauma. With a foreword by Bessel van der Kolk and helpful figures, The Body Bears the Burden: Trauma, Dissociation, and Disease is an essential resource for the in-the-trenches professionals who confront the effects of trauma and resulting somatic consequences. It will be of compelling interest and usefulness to family practice physicians, nurses and nurse practitioners, speech and physical therapists, counselors and psychotherapists, and any medical or mental health professional who treats physical or emotional trauma.

 

Body-Centered Psychotherapy by Ron Kurtz

Call Number: 615.851 K96b

ISBN: 0940795035

Publication Date: 1990-01-01

Cell-Level Healing by Joyce Whiteley Hawkes; Joan C. King (Foreword by)

Call Number: 615.852 H392c 2006

ISBN: 9781582701462

Publication Date: 2006-10-17

Our bodies glow with the miracle of life pulsing in 100 trillion cells. Spiritual resources can positively influence the wizardry of our natural cell science that repairs and renews the body. Cell-Level Healing: The Spiritual Bridge From Soul to Cell provides instruction at the interface of biology and spirit. While Masaru Emoto shows us that our thoughts change the structure of water, Dr. Hawkes shows that our thoughts change the functioning of our cells. Profoundly effective, yet simple to understand and use, the principles of appreciation, clearing, flow, and cell-level healing described and illustrated in Cell-Level Healing promote vibrant health. The book embarks on the premise that healing is a basic part of human nature, and provides a guide for the reader to tap their innate healing abilities. Introducing the concept of cell-level healing, the book leads the reader through exercises for health and healing. Illustrated with stories, electron microscope photography, and other inspiring pictures by the author, the book shows how simple tenets of spiritual healing can be applied to individual situations. 1. Appreciation of the physical body is described through the eyes of a cell biologist with spiritual insight. Attributes of the universe that apply to healing include mystery, creativity, balance, and resiliency. 2. The principle of clearing addresses emotional, physical, and spiritual aspects. 3. A chapter on flow examines the nature of soul language or vibrational uniqueness, rate, and direction of energy movement. 4. Deepening the conscious reach of healing to the cellular level gives this book its unique place among the collection of books on healing.

Exercise for Frail Elders by Elizabeth Best-Martini; Kim A. Jones-DiGenova

Call Number: 613.704 B561e 2014

ISBN: 9781450416092

Publication Date: 2014-01-31

As the older adult population increases, so does the demand for fitness professionals who understand the capabilities and special needs of seniors with illnesses, disabilities, chronic disorders, and sedentary lifestyles. Exercise for Frail Elders, Second Edition, is the only exercise fitness guidebook that focuses on working with frail elders and adults with special conditions. It is an invaluable resource for improving functional fitness, maintaining aspects of independent living, and enhancing quality of life. With Exercise for Frail Elders, Second Edition, readers will gain a deeper understanding of 14 medical conditions common to older adults, how these conditions may affect participants' ability to perform activities of daily living, and what exercises can help them maintain and increase functional fitness. This book focuses on special needs stemming from conditions including arthritis, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, hypertension, orthopedic issues, osteoporosis, Parkinson's disease, and Alzheimer's disease. The updated second edition provides a broader focus on balance, a critical component of any functional fitness program, to aid in designing classes that incorporate various stability exercises. Exercises that provide significant benefits to balance are indicated with a symbol to ensure effective program design. Additional features of this edition include the following: · Learning objectives at the beginning and review questions at the conclusion of each chapter provide a framework for understanding. · Reproducible forms provide readers with easy-to-use appraisals, questionnaires, and exercise logs for evaluating clients. · Checklists and reference charts highlight key areas of concern and consider specific needs when planning functional fitness programs for clients. · Guidelines and safety precautions for special conditions and how they apply to range-of-motion exercises, resistance training, aerobic exercise, and stretching have been updated. · Specific exercise instructions, including variations and progression options, show professionals how to add interest and challenge for participants. · Suggested resources encourage exercise leaders to continue their education. To enhance learning and program development, the text is divided into two parts. Part I covers planning an exercise program for frail elders or adults with special needs, including knowing the needs of class participants, motivating students to exercise, and keeping them safe while participating. It also offers strategies for success, including basic class structure creating a sense of fun and community. Part II covers implementation of a successful program, including course design, warm-up and cool-down, and exercises for range of motion, resistance training, aerobic training, and stretching, with their variations. Over 150 photos illustrate safe and effective execution of the exercises. Exercise for Frail Elders, Second Edition, is an easy-to-follow resource for working with elderly individuals in assisted living and nursing homes, rehabilitation facilities, hospitals, day centers, senior centers, recreation and community centers, and home health care environments. This unique guuide has the hands-on information necessary for creating safe and effective exercise programs and understanding medical disorders, safety precautions for specific disorders, and implications for exercise. Readers will learn to design and teach a dynamic fitness program for older adults--and keep it fun, safe, and functional--with Exercise for Frail Elders.

 

Fitness and Wellness by Sharon A. Hoeger

Call Number: 613.071 H693f 2007

ISBN: 9780495012566

Publication Date: 2006-03-07

FITNESS AND WELLNESS, Seventh Edition is a colorful, concise, less expensive option for instructors who value the powerful instruction that is the hallmark of the Hoegers' fitness and wellness texts. If you want the beauty found in the more comprehensive fitness and wellness text, the large ancillary package (see the "Ancillaries" section for a full listing), but are concerned about price and/or do not have enough time to get through the material, then this is your text! FITNESS AND WELLNESS, packaged with the Profile Plus 2007 CD-ROM, concentrates on health-related physical fitness components, with beneficial information about wellness. Inside, you'll also find discussions on motivation and behavior modification with an emphasis on teaching individuals how to take control of their personal fitness, health and lifestyle habits so they can make a constant and deliberate effort to stay healthy and realize their highest potential for well-being.

 

Get Up! by James A. Levine

Call Number: 613.71 L665g 2014

ISBN: 9781137278999

Publication Date: 2014-07-29

That the average adult spends 50 to 70 percent of their day sitting is no surprise to anyone who works in an office environment. But few realize the health consequences they are suffering as a result of modernity's increasingly sedentary lifestyle, or the effects it has had on society at large. InGet Up!, health expert James A. Levine's original scientific research shows that today's chair-based world, where we no longer use our bodies as they evolved to be used, is having negative consequences on our health, and is a leading cause of diabetes, cancer, and heart disease. Over the decades, humans have moved from a primarily active lifestyle to one that is largely sedentary, and this change has reshaped every facet of our lives--from social interaction to classroom design. Levine shows how to throw off the shackles of inertia and reverse these negative trends through simple changes in our daily lives.

Health and Wellness by Gordon Edlin; Eric Golanty

Call Number: 613 E23h 2004

ISBN: 9780763748197

Publication Date: 2004-01-01

Outlining the basic principles of physical, mental, and spiritual wellness, this colorful textbook explains how to eat and exercise toward a healthy lifestyle, build healthy relationships, prevent disease, and use drugs responsibly. Stress management techniques are described in the appendix.

 

Promoting Human Wellness by Margaret Schneider Jamner (Editor); Daniel Stokols (Editor)

Call Number: 613 P965

ISBN: 0520226097

Publication Date: 2001-01-05

This book is a state-of-the-art educational resource on the latest research and public-policy developments in the fields of wellness promotion and disease prevention. Based on award-winning lectures by University of California faculty on nine campuses as part of the Wellness Lectures Program jointly funded by The California Wellness Foundation, Health Net, and the University of California, the volume aims to widen the scope of health care research and policy to promote wellness rather than focus on illness and disease, and to incorporate proactive, interdisciplinary approaches to health care. The volume also contains chapters by distinguished scholars inthe fields of wellness promotion and disease prevention. Many of these articles fall outside the scope of what we conventionally call health promotion, bringing new perspectives to research and policy possibilities. Promoting Human Wellness is organized around core themes such as the importance of disease prevention programs that address multiple health risks, the link between poverty and minority status and disease susceptibility, and the challenge of evaluating health benefits and cost-effectiveness. The articles discuss such timely issues as genetic determinism as a paradigm in wellness promotion, adolescent health promotion and teen pregnancy prevention strategies, racial differences in cancer epidemiology, the California smokers' helpline, strategies for reducing youth violence, HIV/AIDS prevention, domestic violence education and prevention srategies, and the future of women's health research. Presented within the framework of social ecology, several of the chapters in this volume address new ideas and approaches in the wellness field that are only now beginning to be understood such as the social construction of variables including race, class, and gender. Promoting Human Wellness will be essential reading for health practitioners, policymakers, and others seeking to expand the ways we define and achieve health. Keywords: Public health, community health, medicine, nursing, social welfare, health education, health psychology, social ecology, public policy, aging, health promotion.