Hutchins Library News Blog

August's reference book of the month is The Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. The description below is from Amazon:

Edited by acclaimed science writer and physicist James Trefil, the Encyclopedia's 1000 entries combine in-depth coverage with a vivid graphic format to bring every facet of science, technology, and medicine into stunning focus. From absolute zero to the Mesozoic era to semiconductors to the twin paradox, Trefil and his co-authors have an uncanny ability to convey how the universe works and to show readers how to apply that knowledge to everyday problems.

~ Recommended for students majoring in the Sciences, as well as Technology and Applied Design majors ~

The Encyclopedia of Science and Technology by James Trefil (Editor)

Call Number: 503 E564 2004

Publication Date: 2001-08-24

Please join us as we congratulate Calvin Gross, our former Associate Director, on his promotion to Director of Library Services at Hutchins Library. Calvin is a Berea alum who majored in Studio Arts before going on to earn his Master's of Library and Information Science at the University of Kentucky.

Calvin is the thirteenth Director in Hutchins Library's history, replacing Anne Chase who retired on August 10, 2018. Congratulations, Calvin!

The August Holiday Spotlight shines on Eid al-Adha, or the Days of sacrifice, which is a Muslim holiday celebrated for four days during the Islamic month of Dhu al-Hijjah. It celebrates the willingness of the Prophet Abraham (called Ibrahim by Muslims) to sacrifice his son in obedience to God. Like Jews and Christians, Muslims also honor Ibrahim, though their telling of the story varies somewhat from that found in the biblical book of Genesis, where Abraham as an old man finally becomes the father to a son by his wife Sarah. When Isaac has grown to be a young boy, God orders Abraham to build an altar and kill Isaac. Abraham is about to comply when his hand is stayed and a ram is supplied in Isaac's place.

Works cited:

Melton, J. G. (2010). Eid al-Adha. In J. G. Melton & M. Baumann (Eds.), Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices (2nd ed., Vol. 3, pp. 951-952). Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO. Retrieved from http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CX1766500511/GVRL?u=berea&sid=GVRL&xid=376dbb8d

Browse some of our books listed below for more information on Eid al-adha:

Islam by James A. Beverley

Call Number: 297 B571i 2001 - Hutchins Library - Circulating (3rd Floor)

 

An essential introduction to the culture, history, and practices of the world's second largest religion. Professor James A. Beverley provides answers to questions many Christians have about Islam. Issues include what Muslims think about God, the world, and their place in it; how Muhammad established a religion that now stretches around the world, how different groups within Islam define Jihad, why Palestine is important to Muslims, what roles women play in different Islamic communities, and how Christians should relate to Muslims. Features include: Glossary of terms related to Islam A list of Frequently Asked Questions for easy reference Topical bibliography for further study

 

The Children of Abraham by F. E. Peters; John L. Esposito (Foreword by)

Call Number: 201.4 P481c 2004 - Hutchins Library - Circulating (3rd Floor)

 

F.E. Peters, a scholar without peer in the comparative study of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam, revisits his pioneering work after twenty-five years. Peters has rethought and thoroughly rewritten his classic The Children of Abraham for a new generation of readers-at a time when the understanding of these three religious traditions has taken on a new and critical urgency. He began writing about all three faiths in the 1970s, long before it was fashionable to treat Islam in the context of Judaism and Christianity, or to align all three for a family portrait. In this updated edition, he lays out the similarities and differences of the three religious siblings with great clarity and succinctness and with that same remarkable objectivity that is the hallmark of all the author's work. Peters traces the three faiths from the sixth century B.C., when the Jews returned to Palestine from exile in Babylonia, to the time in the Middle Ages when they approached their present form. He points out that all three faith groups, whom the Muslims themselves refer to as "People of the Book," share much common ground. Most notably, each embraces the practice of worshipping a God who intervenes in history on behalf of His people. The book's text is direct and accessible with thorough and nuanced discussions of each of the three religions. Updated footnotes provide the reader with expert guidance into the highly complex issues that lie between every line of this stunning and timely new edition of The Children of Abraham. ?

 

Ara'Is Al-Majalis Fi Qisas Al-Anbiya or Lives of the Prophets by Ahmad ibn Muhammad Thalabi; William M. Brinner

Call Number: E-Book (Berea College only)

 

These 11th-century tales, written in many different languages and well known throughout the Muslim world, have been read and studied through the years. This is, however, the first complete translation of the Arabic text into English, from the story of the creation of the world to the time just before the coming of the Prophet Muhammad and the revelation of Islam. It includes tales of prophets who are Biblical figures, but also of others not considered prophets in other traditions, and contains tales too like The Thousand and One Nights, with no prophetic content. In the Islamic world, this work has been and is still read and enjoyed, both as a source of religious study and for simple pleasure.

 

Hajj by Venetia Porter (Editor)

Call Number: 297.352 H154 2012 - Hutchins Library - Circulating (3rd Floor)

 

The Hajj, one of the five pillars of Islam, is the largest pilgrimage in the world today and a sacred duty for all Muslims. Each year, millions of the faithful from around the world make the pilgrimage to Makkah, the birthplace of Islam where the Prophet Muhammad received his revelation. With contributions from renowned experts Muhammad Abdel Haleem, Hugh Kennedy, Robert Irwin, and Ziauddin Sardar, this fascinating book pulls together many strands of Hajj, its rituals, history, and modern manifestations. Travel was once a hazardous gamble, yet devoted Muslims undertook the journey to Makkah, documenting their experiences in manuscripts, wall paintings, and early photographs, many of which are presented here. Through a wealth of illustrations including pilgrims' personal objects, souvenirs, and maps, "Hajj "provides a glimpse into this important holy rite for Muslim readers already grounded in the tradition and non-Muslims who cannot otherwise participate. "Hajj" does not, however, merely trace pilgrimages of the past. The Hajj is a living tradition, influenced by new conveniences and obstacles. Graffiti, consumerism, and state lotteries all now play a role in this time-honored practice. This book opens out onto the full sweep of the Hajj: a sacred path walked by early Islamic devotees and pre-Islamic Arabians; a sumptuous site of worship under the care of sultans; and an expression of faith in the modern world.

 

Understanding Islam and Muslim Traditions by Tanya Gulevich

Call Number: 297 G971u 2004 - Hutchins Library - Reference Area (2nd Floor)

 

An introduction to the religious practices, celebrations, festivals, observances, beliefs, folklore, customs, and calendar system of the world's Muslim communities, including an overview of Islamic history and geography.

 

This month's showcase is on a graphic novel and movie franchise by the name of Deadpool by Daniel Way.

"Daniel Way's hilarious, action-packed run begins here! When the Merc with a Mouth is hired to rub out Wolverine, sparks will fly! But when both men can regenerate any wound in minutes, how can either one expect to finish off his foe? And whoever wins will have to face Wolverine's murderous son, Daken!"             -from the publisher

Check it out!

Deadpool by Daniel Way by Daniel Way (Text by); Andy Diggle (Text by); Steve Dillon (Illustrator); Paco Medina (Illustrator); Carlo Barberi (Illustrator); Bong Dazo (Illustrator)

Call Number: 741.597 W3565d (Main Floor Circulation Area)

The invaders replicate Deadpool's healing factor in a new generation of Super-Skrulls - but why is Deadpool himself leading this brigade against Earth? And when Norman Osborn double-crosses Deadpool, the maniacal merc unleashes a full-on assault against Avengers Tower! Norman must pull out all the stops - and that means deploying his new team of bloodthirsty, black-ops Thunderbolts! 

Month 3's mini-lesson on all things queer! This month begins delving into each of the subareas of the community!

For the next few months, we will be picking apart the acronym LGBTQIA+ and exploring each letter individually. This month, we begin with the first two categories: Lesbian and Gay.

Vocabulary!

Orientation: Orientation is one’s attraction or non-attraction to other people.  An individual’s orientation can be fluid and people use a variety of labels to describe their orientation.  Some, but not all, types of attraction or orientation include: romantic, sexual, sensual, aesthetic, intellectual and platonic.

Lesbian: A woman whose primary sexual and affectional orientation is toward people of the same gender.

Gay:  A sexual and affectional orientation toward people of the same gender.

Butch: A gender expression that fits societal definitions of masculinity. Usually used by queer women and trans people, particularly by lesbians. Some consider “butch” to be its own gender identity.

Femme: Historically used in the lesbian community, it is being increasingly used by other LGBTQIA people to describe gender expressions that reclaim/claim and/or disrupt traditional constructs of femininity.

Bear Community: a part of the queer community composed of queer men similar in looks and interests, most of them big, hairy, friendly and affectionate.  The community aims to provide spaces where one feels wanted, desired, and liked.  It nourishes and values an individual’s process of making friends, of learning self-care and self-love through the unity and support of the community.  Bears, Cubs, Otters, Wolves, Chasers, Admirers and other wildlife comprise what has come to be known as the Brotherhood of Bears and/or the Bear community.

Ursula: Some lesbians, particularly butch dykes, also participate in Bear culture referring to themselves with the distinct label Ursula.

Look ino these books for more information and be sure to check back next month for everything bi- and pan-! 

Along the Journey River by Carole laFavor

Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 1452956081

Publication Date: 2017

Several sacred artifacts have gone missing from the Minnesota Red Earth Reservation and the suspect list is continuously growing. While it could be the racists from the bordering town, or a young man struggling with problems at home, or the county coroner and his cronies, the need for answers and apprehending the culprit is amplified when Jed Morriseau, the Tribal Chairman, is murdered. Investigating these mysterious occurrences because of tribal traditions and the honor of her family, Renee LaRoche works to track down the people responsible. But can she maintain her intense investigation as well as her new relationship with Samantha Salisbury, the visiting women's studies professor at the white college nearby? Renee is caught between the traditions of her tribe and efforts to help her chimook lover accept their cultural differences.

Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters

Call Number: W331t 2000

ISBN: 1573227889

Publication Date: 2000

"Erotic and absorbing...Written with starling power."--The New York Times Book Review   Nan King, an oyster girl, is captivated by the music hall phenomenon Kitty Butler, a male impersonator extraordinaire treading the boards in Canterbury. Through a friend at the box office, Nan manages to visit all her shows and finally meet her heroine. Soon after, she becomes Kitty's dresser and the two head for the bright lights of Leicester Square where they begin a glittering career as music-hall stars in an all-singing and dancing double act. At the same time, behind closed doors, they admit their attraction to each other and their affair begins.

The Color Purple by Alice Walker

Call Number: W177c 1992

ISBN: 0151191549

Publication Date: 1992

The Pulitzer Prize-winning novel that tells the story of two sisters through their correspondence.

 

 

Too Much Flesh and Jabez C Dowell by C. Dowell

Call Number: D746t

ISBN: 0811206580

Publication Date: 1977

 

 

 

A Boy's Own Story by Edmund White (Afterword by); Allan Gurganus (Introduction by)

Call Number: W5835bo 2002

ISBN: 0679642544

Publication Date: 2002

At home, in school, and on the streets, a homosexual teenager moves through comic sexual experiments, isolation, fear, and exciting expectations toward an escape from childhood and a firm sense of self.

 

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz; Mark Brabant (Cover Design by)

Call Number: S1275ar 2012

ISBN: 1442408928

Publication Date: 2012

A lyrical novel about family and friendship from critically acclaimed author Benjamin Alire Saenz. Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship--the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.