As African American History Month wraps up, we thought we would share this month's CD of the month. Ezekiel Saw De Wheel, by the Moses Hogan Singers, will present you with a collection of uplifting and moving spirituals arranged by the amazing composer., Moses Hogan 

Some Tracks include: 

"Ezekiel Saw de Wheel" 

"Walk Together Children"

and "My Lord, What a Mornin" 

Celebrate and honor African American History Month with this month's CD!

Check it out today:

Ezekiel saw de wheel: A collection of spirituals by Moses Hogan Singers

Call Number: CD 782.253 M911e - CD Collection (2nd Floor)

Attend Friendship Among Religions and in World Politics: How Religions Can Help Expand Apology

and Forgiveness on February 22nd, 2018, 3:00pm

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium

Sponsored by the CCC. Robbins Peace Lecture.

If you enjoyed his presentation today, check out some books available on display in front of the Circulation Desk!

Ethics of War and Peace in Iran and Shiʻi Islam by Mohammad Jafar Amir Mahallati

Call Number: 297.8209 M214e 2016 (New Items, Second Floor)

Nearly four decades after a revolution, experiencing one of the longest wars in contemporary history, facing political and ideological threats by regional radicals such as ISIS and the Taliban, and having succeeded in negotiations with six world powers over her nuclear program, Iran appears as an experienced Muslim country seeking to build bridges with its Sunni neighbours as well as with the West. "Ethics of War and Peace in Iran and Shi'i Islam explores the wide spectrum of theoretical approaches and practical attitudes concerning the justifications, causes and conduct of war in Iranian-Shi'i culture.

 

Political Violence in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam by Jonathan Fine

Call Number: 303.6 F495p 2015 (New Items, Second Floor)

Religious political violence is by no means a new phenomenon, yet there are critical differences between the various historical instances of such violence and its more current permutations. Since the mid-1970s, religious fundamentalist movements have been seeking to influence world order by participating in local political systems. For example, Islamic fundamentalism is at the heart of the Muslim Brotherhood in Egypt, the Christian fundamental right wing has seen a resurgence in Europe, and Jewish fundamentalism is behind the actions of Meir Kahane's Kach movement and the settler movement. The shift in recent years from secular to religious political violence necessitates a reevaluation of contemporary political violence and of the concept of religious violence. This text analyzes the evolution of religious political violence, in both historical and contemporary perspectives.

 

Shi'ite Islam by Muhammad H. Al-Tabataba'i; Seyyed Hossein Nasr (Edited and Translated by)

Call Number: 297.82 T112sxn (3rd Floor)

Despite a growing interest in the last hundred years in both orientalism and comparative religions, and the fact that there are over fifty million Shi'a Muslims, until now there has been no thorough and objective study of that part of Islam called Shi'ism for Western scholars. The present work provides a clear account of the origin, history, and doctrines of an important sector of the Muslim religious community. It is written by a distinguished leader of that community, who, in addition to possessing a thorough knowledge of its traditional history and literature, presents its rational-philosophic, traditional-legal, and gnostic-mystical elements with warmth and sympathy. The result is a well-integrated general picture which succeeds in giving the reader a clear and comprehensive picture of how the Shi'ite Muslim views his religion.

Hutchins Library is pleased to announce that Dr. Alan Mills and additional faculty and students of 2017 KIIS Winter Program are displaying a series of photographs of Maya Mexico from their recent trip. The exhibit runs from February 5 to February 16, 2018. This event is free and open to the public during library regular hours, and it can be viewed in the library's main floor on the right wall of the center lobby.

In addition, there will be a reception with the artists on Friday, February 16, 2018 from 3:00pm to 4:00pm in the library's main floor. All are invited. This event is also free and open to the public.

Student artists featured are:

Nick Bottom (Berea College)

Rachael Ferguson (Centre College)

Michelle Marshall (Eastern Kentucky University)

Lily McAfee (Eastern Kentucky University)

Jalen Prater (Berea College)

Lily Setters (Berea College)

Nathan Summey (Berea College)

Chris True (Berea College)

Chris Works (Berea College)

Leah Wright (Morehead State University)

Faculty:

Dr. Alan Mills (Berea College), Dr. Chris Fulton (University of Louisville), and Dr. Marie Petkus (Centre College)

Here is a small sampling of the items on display:

"Calle 55." Photo by Michelle Marshall

"El Castillo de Chichen Itza." Photo by Lily Setters

Attend Argentinean Guitar Jazz  on 

February 15th, 2018, 8:00pm

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium

Gonzalo Bergara has emerged as a virtuoso and lead guitarist who mixes a modern variant of 1930s Django Reinardt inspired Gypsy Jazz with the music of his native Argentina, resulting in his own distinctive style of progress guitar music. Stephenson Memorial Concert.

If you enjoyed the show, check out their cd on display in front of the Circulation Desk!

This month's showcase is a graphic novel by the name of Saga by Brian K. Vaughan.

"When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe. From New York Times bestselling writer Brian K. Vaughan (Y: The Last Man, Ex Machina) and critically acclaimed artist Fiona Staples (Mystery Society, North 40), Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the worlds. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in this sexy, subversive drama for adults." - from the publisher

Check it out today!

Saga by Brian K. Vaughan; Fiona Staples (Artist, Cover Design by)

Call Number: 741.597 V364s 2012 v. 1 - Graphic Novels (Main Floor Circulation Area)

Publication Date: 2012

Hutchins Library is pleased to announce that during the month of February, and to honor Black History Month, we will feature a solo art exhibit of Dr. Valeria Watkins' work. The exhibit will run throughout the month of February. It can be viewed in the library's center wall on the main floor. The exhibit can be viewed during regular library hours.

This event is free and open to the public.

In addition, the public is invited to a reception with the artist on Friday, February 9, 2018. The reception will run from 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm, and it will be held in the gathering area in front of the center wall. Light refreshments will be provided.

Dr. Watkins has provided the following statement to accompany  the exhibit:

"Welcome to Black History Month and this 2018 solo exhibit. It consists of 15 new Abstract Acrylic Paintings. I have added oil pastels to some of the images and they are identified as multi media.

The title of this series is, “Challenges to the Personal”. I work hard at stepping outside the frame of my personal idea of what is correct and incorrect to allow the colors to find their own boundaries and connections. My process begins with meditation.  It is from that space of stillness that I first engaged the creative process and I maintain this stillness until there is a finished canvas.

The more I spend time painting, the more I feel the energy of the combinations of colors and the rhythm they create when combined. And I fall in love all over again. I don’t see images and I don’t try to do… something. My intention is to allow my intuition to be my guide from beginning to end.

Thank you for viewing this work. I hope you will be inspired to discover the artist within you.

Enjoy, Dr. Valeria"

Some photos from the exhibit:

Wide view of display.

Painting entitled "Waking Up."

Painting entitled "Blue Invasion."

February's reference book of the month is George A. Barnett's Encyclopedia of Social Networks.The following description is from amazon.com: 

This two-volume encyclopedia provides a thorough introduction to the wide-ranging, fast-developing field of social networking, a much-needed resource at a time when new social networks or "communities" seem to spring up on the internet every day. Social networks, or groupings of individuals tied by one or more specific types of interests or interdependencies ranging from likes and dislikes, or disease transmission to the "old boy" network or overlapping circles of friends, have been in existence for longer than services such as Facebook or YouTube; analysis of these networks emphasizes the relationships within the network . This reference resource offers comprehensive coverage of the theory and research within the social sciences that has sprung from the analysis of such groupings, with accompanying definitions, measures, and research.

Recommended for sociology majors.

Interesting fact: The book not only discusses societies from all over the world but also the significantly rising online social medias.

Encyclopedia of Social Networks by George A. Barnett (Editor)

Call Number: 302.3 E564 2011

Publication Date: 2011

Attend Tomorrow's Table: Organic Farming, Genetics and the Future of Food on

February 8th, 2018, 3:00pm

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium

The technologies of plant breeding have always been controversial. Undoubtedly, new ways of producing crops--and the debates surrounding them--will continue. In her lecture, University of California Davis plant geneticist Dr. Ronald explains how integrated approaches are needed to enhance sustainable agriculture. The genetic engineering of crops launched in 1996, the marker assisted breeding of today, and the genome editing of tomorrow are examples of a continuum of new technologies aimed at helping farmers produce food in a productive and ecologically-based manner. Berea College Science Lecture.

If you enjoyed her presentation today, check out her books available on display near the cafe!

Tomorrow's Table by Pamela C. Ronald; Raoul W. Adamchak

Call Number: 644 R768t 2008 (New Items, Second Floor)

 In modern agricultural politics, organic farming and genetic engineering occupy opposite ends of the spectrum. In the Ronald-Adamchak household, the world is not so black and white. Ronald is a professor of plant pathology at the University of California, Davis. Adamchak manages the student-run organic farm on campus. Together, they're exploring the juncture where their methods can (and they argue, should) meet to ensure environmentally sustainable food production. Revealing common principles and "leveling the playing field," this book roughly chronicles one year in the lives of the Ronald-Adamchack family. Through dialogue with friends and family, the authors thoughtfully explore the use of GE agriculture and the concerns expressed by consumers. They discuss the contents of their own largely organic pantry, what they choose to feed their children, and how over the last ten years of their marriage, they have developed a specific criteria for the use of GE in agriculture. 

 

Plant-Pathogen Interactions by Pamela C. Ronald (Editor)

Call Number: 632.3 P7135 2007 v. 354 (3rd floor)

This book provides key methods, approaches, and strategies to dissect the plant defense response. Addressing methods to identify and characterize plant resistance genes as well as pathogen-associated molecules that trigger the plant defense response, this volume creates a better understanding of the interactions between pathogens and their hosts. This will help to develop better methods for disease control in plants and animals.

This month's display is dedicated to Black History Month:

Black History Month, or National African American History Month, is an annual celebration of achievements by black Americans and a time for recognizing the central role of African Americans in U.S. history. The event grew out of “Negro History Week,” the brainchild of noted historian Carter G. Woodson and other prominent African Americans. Since 1976, every U.S. president has officially designated the month of February as Black History Month. Other countries around the world, including Canada and the United Kingdom, also devote a month to celebrating black history.

Check out some relevant  resources we have available:

What Is African American History? by Pero Gaglo Dagbovie

Call Number: 973.049 D125w 2015

Publication Date: 2015

Scholarship on African American history has changed dramatically since the publication of George Washington Williams' pioneering A History of the Negro Race in America in 1882. Organized chronologically and thematically, What is African American History? offers a concise and compelling introduction to the field of African American history as well as the black historical enterprise past, present, and future. The author explores the growth and maturation of scholarship on African American history from late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries until the field achieved significant recognition from the 'mainstream' U.S. historical profession in the 1970s. Subsequent decades witnessed the emergence and development of key theoretical approaches, controversies, and dynamic areas of concentration in black history, the vibrant field of black women's history, the intriguing relationship between African American history and Black Studies, and the imaginable future directions of African American history in the twenty-first century. 

 

And Still I Rise by Henry L. Gates; Kevin M. Burke

Call Number: 973.049 G259a 2015

Publication Date: 2015

The companion book to Henry Louis Gates, Jr.’s PBS series, And Still I Rise—a timeline and chronicle of the past fifty years of black history in the U.S. in more than 350 photos. Beginning with the assassination of Malcolm X in February 1965, And Still I Rise: From Black Power to the White House explores the last half-century of the African American experience. More than fifty years after the passage of the Civil Rights Act and the birth of Black Power, the United States has both a black president and black CEOs running Fortune 500 companies—and a large black underclass beset by persistent poverty, inadequate education, and an epidemic of incarceration. Harvard professor and scholar Henry Louis Gates, Jr. raises disturbing and vital questions about this dichotomy. How did the African American community end up encompassing such profound contradictions? And what will “the black community” mean tomorrow? 

 

Carter G. Woodson in Washington, D. C. by Pero Gaglo Dagbovie

Call Number: 973.049 W898zda 2014

Publication Date: 2014

The discipline of black history has its roots firmly planted at 1538 Ninth Street, Northwest, in Washington, D.C. The Victorian row house in Black Broadway" was once the modest office-home of Carter G. Woodson. The home was also the headquarters of the Association for the Study of Negro Life and History (ASNLH). Woodson dedicated his entire life to sustaining the early black history "mass education movement." He contributed immensely not just to African American history but also to American culture. Scholar Pero Gaglo Dagbovie unravels Woodson's "intricate" personality and traces his relationship to his home, the Shaw neighborhood and the District of Columbia.

 

The Black Campus Movement by Ibram H. Rogers

Call Number: 378.198 R726b 2012

Publication Date: 2012

This book provides the first national study of this intense and challenging struggle which disrupted and refashioned institutions in almost every state. It also illuminates the context for one of the most transformative educational movements in American history through a history of black higher education and black student activism before 1965.

 

The New Abolition by Gary Dorrien

Call Number: 970.980 D716n 2015

Publication Date: 2015

The black social gospel emerged from the trauma of Reconstruction to ask what a "new abolition" would require in American society. It became an important tradition of religious thought and resistance, helping to create an alternative public sphere of excluded voices and providing the intellectual underpinnings of the civil rights movement. This tradition has been seriously overlooked, despite its immense legacy.   In this groundbreaking work, Gary Dorrien describes the early history of the black social gospel from its nineteenth-century founding to its close association in the twentieth century with W. E. B. Du Bois. He offers a new perspective on modern Christianity and the civil rights era by delineating the tradition of social justice theology and activism that led to Martin Luther King Jr.

 

Rethinking the Black Freedom Movement by Yohuru R. Williams

Call Number: 323.119 W728r 2016

Publication Date: 2015

The African American struggle for civil rights in the twentieth century is one of the most important stories in American history. With all the information available, however, it is easy for even the most enthusiastic reader to be overwhelmed. In Rethinking the Black Freedom Movement, Yohuru Williams has synthesized the complex history of this period into a clear and compelling narrative. Considering both the Civil Rights and Black Power movements as distinct but overlapping elements of the Black Freedom struggle, Williams looks at the impact of the struggle for Black civil rights on housing, transportation, education, labor, voting rights, culture, and more, and places the activism of the 1950s and 60s within the context of a much longer tradition reaching from Reconstruction to the present day. Exploring the different strands within the movement, key figures and leaders, and its ongoing legacy, Rethinking the Black Freedom Movement is the perfect introduction for anyone seeking to understand the struggle for Black civil rights in America.