Hutchins Library News Blog

This month's showcase is a graphic novel called Snowpiercer by Jacques Lob.

"Snowpiercer is the enthralling and thought-provoking post-apocalyptic graphic novel that inspired the critically acclaimed movie starring Chris Evans (Captain America, Fantastic Four). Originally published in French, this marks the first time that Snowpiercer will be available in English.

In a harsh, uncompromisingly cold future where Earth has succumbed to treacherously low temperatures, the last remaining members of humanity travel on a train while the outside world remains encased in ice.  

The surviving community are not without a social hierarchy; those that travel at the front of the train live in relative luxury whilst those unfortunate enough to be at the rear remain clustered like cattle in claustrophobic darkness. Yet, things are about to change aboard the train as passengers become disgruntled..." -from the publisher.

Check it out today!

The Escape by Jacques Lob; Jean-Marc Rochette (Illustrator); Benjamin Legrand

Call Number: 741.5 L796s - Graphic Novels (Main Floor Circulation Area)

Publication Date: 2014

Welcome back to Berea everyone. The month's DVD of the month is Whale Rider, an indigenous film about a small Maori village.  If you are interested in learning about indigenous peoples from around the world, this month's film is for you!

The heir of the Ngati Konohi dies at birth and is survived by his twin sister, Pai. Because she is a girl, she is shunned by the village people on her quest to lead her tribe. Follow Pai, as she follows the challenge to fulfill her true destiny, despite her grandfather's support!

Photo by IMDB

"Nothing Short of Astonishing!" - Jeffrey Lyons, NBC

"There's Magic in it! -Peter Travers, Rolling Stone

Happy August everyone! Did you know that we have a Children's picture book collection on the third floor? Well, we do and over the next year, we'll pick a favorite title to look at each month. This month is the Don Freeman classic Corduroy.

"Have you ever dreamed of being locked in a department store at night? The endearing story of Corduroy paints a picture of the adventures that might unfold (for a teddy bear at least) in such a situation. When all the shoppers have gone home for the night, Corduroy climbs down from the shelf to look for his missing button. It's a brave new world! He accidentally gets on an elevator that he thinks must be a mountain and sees the furniture section that he thinks must be a palace. He tries to pull a button off the mattress, but he ends up falling off the bed and knocking over a lamp. The night watchman hears the crash, finds Corduroy, and puts him back on the shelf downstairs. The next morning, he finds that it's his lucky day! A little girl buys him with money she saved in her piggy bank and takes him home to her room. Corduroy decides that this must be home and that Lisa must be his friend."

-Viking Juvenile from www.goodreads.com

Get the semester started off right with this classic children's tale. 

Photo from www.goodreads.com.

August's reference book of the month is The Encyclopedia of Foods. The following description is from amazon.com: 

The Encyclopedia of Foods: A Guide to Healthy Nutrition is a definitive resource for what to eat for maximum health as detailed by medical and nutritional experts. This book makes the connection between health, disease, and the food we eat.The Encyclopedia describes more than 140 foods, providing information on their history, nutrient content, and medical uses.The Encyclopedia also describes the "fit kitchen", including the latest in food safety, equipment and utensils for preparing fit foods, and ways to modify favorite recipes to ensure health and taste.

• Details healthy eating guidelines based on the RDA food pyramid
• Provides scientific basis and knowledge for specific recommendations
• Beautifully illustrated
• Extensive list of reliable nutrition resources
• Describes the fit kitchen from the latest in food safety to equipment and utensils for preparing fit foods to ways to modify favorite recipes to ensure health and taste.

Recommended for anyone taking courses on health and food as well as for Child and Family Studies Majors.

Unique of this book: The book was prepared by medical and nutrition experts from Mayo Clinic, University of California Los Angeles, and Dole Food Company, Inc.

Encyclopedia of Foods by Mayo Clinic Staff (Editor); University of California, Los Angeles Staff (Editor); Dole Food Company, Inc. Staff (Editor); Experts from UCLA Center for Human Staff (Editor)

Call Number: 613.2 E56

Publication Date: 2001

This month is dedicated to photography across time, geography and topics:

Founded in 2009 by Australian Photographer, Korske Ara, World Photo Day is an international photography event on August 19^th that celebrates the passion for photography in our communities.

In a world with millions of pictures uploaded every minute, World Photo Day is inspiring thousands of photographers across the planet to share a single photo with a simple purpose: to share their world with the world.

No matter who you are, where you are or what equipment and abilities you have, World Photo Day strives to open your eyes to the possibilities of photography and enable you to show us the world as you see it.

Check out some related resources we have on hand:

Shooting the Pacific War by Thayer Soule

Call Number: 940.542 S722s

Publication Date: 2015

Thayer Soule couldn't believe his orders. As a junior officer with no military training or indoctrination and less than ten weeks of active duty behind him, he had been assigned to be photographic officer for the First Marine Division. The Corps had never had a photographic division before, much less a field photographic unit. But Soule accepted the challenge, created the unit from scratch, established policies for photography, and led his men into combat. Soule and his unit produced films and photos of training, combat action pictures, and later, terrain studies and photographs for intelligence purposes. Though he had never heard of a photo-litho set, he was in charge of using it for map production, which would prove vital to the division. Shooting the Pacific War is based on Soule's detailed wartime journals. Soule was in the unique position to interact with men at all levels of the military, and he provides intriguing closeups of generals, admirals, sergeants, and privates -everyone he met and worked with along the way. Soule recounts the heat of battle as well as the intense training before and rebuilding after each campaign. 

Afterimages by Liam Kennedy

Call Number: 779 K359a 2016

Publication Date: 2016

In 2005, photographer Chris Hondros captured a striking image of a young Iraqi girl in the aftermath of the killing of her parents by American soldiers. The shot stunned the world and has since become iconic--comparable to the infamous photo by Nick Ut of a Vietnamese girl running from a napalm attack. Both images serve as microcosms for their respective conflicts. Afterimages looks at the work of war photographers like Hondros and Ut to understand how photojournalism interacts with the American worldview. Liam Kennedy here maps the evolving relations between the American way of war and photographic coverage of it. Organized in its first section around key US military actions over the last fifty years, the book then moves on to examine how photographers engaged with these conflicts on wider ethical and political grounds, and finally on to the genre of photojournalism itself. 

Walker Evans: American Photographs by Walker Evans (Photographer); Sarah Meister (Introduction by); Lincoln Kirstein (Text by)

Call Number: 917.3 E92a Copy 2 - Circulating

Publication Date: 2012

More than any other artist, Walker Evans invented the images of essential America that we have long since accepted as fact, and his work has influenced not only modern photography but also literature, film and visual arts in other mediums. The original edition of American Photographs was a carefully prepared letterpress production, published by The Museum of Modern Art in 1938 to accompany an exhibition of photographs by Evans that captured scenes of America in the early 1930s. As noted on the jacket of the first edition, Evans, "photographing in New England or Louisiana, watching a Cuban political funeral or a Mississippi flood, working cautiously so as to disturb nothing in the normal atmosphere of the average place, can be considered a kind of disembodied, burrowing eye, a conspirator against time and its hammers." This seventy-fifth anniversary edition of American Photographs, made with new reproductions, recreates the original 1938 edition as closely as possible to make the landmark publication available for a new generation.

Black by Henry Louis Gates; Deborah Willis

Call Number: 770.899 B627 2004

Publication Date: 2003

This book presents the vibrant panorama of 20th-century black culture in America and around the world in more than 500 photographs from the turn of the last century to the present day.

Avedon--Photographs,1947-1977 by Richard Avedon

Call Number: 779.939 A948a - Circulating

Publication Date: 1978

 

 

 

 

Black Book by Robert Mapplethorpe; Ntozake Shange (Foreword by); Robert Mapllethorpe

Call Number: 779.092 M297b Copy 2 - Circulating

Publication Date: 1986

In Black Book, Robert Mapplethorpe presents an astonishing photographic study of black men today. In their diversity, impact, subtlety, technical virtuosity, erotic appeal, and deep humanity, these photographs constitute a stunning celebration of the contemporary black male. "all my life they've been near me/these men" says Ntozake Shange in her Foreword, "i've been holdin your heart in/my hand since i was a child/cause i wanted what all you were/what all you are/now you're a man."