Hutchins Library News Blog

Hutchins Library would like to let patrons know that the library now offers Hein Online as part of its online electronic resources. The database can be described  as follows:

"HeinOnline is the world’s largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase."

Some of the materials available on Hein Online include, but are not limited to:

• Case law
• Law Journals
• Government documents like the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), U.S. Federal Agencies documents, decisions, and appeals, and U.S. Treaties and Agreements.
• Various legal history collections such  as religion and the law.

You can access Hein Online via the library website. It is listed under "Electronic Resources." This database can be useful for students working on topics such as legal issues, political science, history, women's studies, and other subjects.

Please note this is a subscription-based resource. If you are off campus, you will need to authenticate to gain access by providing your Berea College credentials (username and password).

Attend Mr. Harry Allen's convocation on

March 2, 2017, 3:00pm

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium.

If you liked this convocation speaker, then you'll love these books that we have available for check-out near cafe!

Thug Life by Michael P. Jeffries

Call Number: 306.484 J474t 2011

Publication Date: 2011

Hip-hop has come a long way from its origins in the Bronx in the 1970s, when rapping and DJing were just part of a lively, decidedly local scene that also venerated b-boying and graffiti. Now hip-hop is a global phenomenon and, in the United States, a massively successful corporate enterprise predominantly controlled and consumed by whites while the most prominent performers are black. How does this shift in racial dynamics affect our understanding of contemporary hip-hop, especially when the music perpetuates stereotypes of black men? Do black listeners interpret hip-hop differently from white fans? These questions have dogged hip-hop for decades, but unlike most pundits, Michael P. Jeffries finds answers by interviewing everyday people. Instead of turning to performers or media critics, Thug Life focuses on the music’s fans—young men, both black and white—and the resulting account avoids romanticism, offering an unbiased examination of how hip-hop works in people’s daily lives. As Jeffries weaves the fans’ voices together with his own sophisticated analysis, we are able to understand hip-hop as a tool listeners use to make sense of themselves and society as well as a rich, self-contained world containing politics and pleasure, virtue and vice.

 

Hip Hop Family Tree by Ed Piskor (Artist)

Call Number: 782.421 P677h

Publication Date: 2013

From exciting young talent and self-proclaimed hip hop nerd Ed Piskor comes this explosively entertaining, encyclopaedic history of the formative years of the music genre that has changed global culture. Originally serialised on the hugely popular website Boing Boing, Hip Hop Family Tree has been collected in a single volume cleverly presented in a style evocative of the Marvel comics of the same era. Captured are the vivid personalities of stars like DJ Kool Herc, Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five, as well as three kids who later become RUN-DMC.

 

 

The 'Hood Comes First by Murray Forman

Call Number: 782.421649 F724h 2002

Publication Date: 2002

The 'Hood Comes First looks at the increasingly specific emphasis on real neighborhoods and streets in rap music and hip hop culture as an urgent response to the cultural and geographical ghettoization of black urban communities. Examining rap music, along with ancillary hip hop media including radio, music videos, rap press and the cinematic ‘hood genre, Murray Forman analyzes hip hop culture's varying articulations of the terms "ghetto," "inner-city," and "the 'hood," and how these spaces, both real and imaginary, are used to define individual and collective identity. Negotiating academic, corporate, and "street" discourses, Forman assesses the dynamics between race, social space and youth. Race, class and national identification are recast and revised within rap's spatial discourse, concluding with the construction of “the ‘hood,” a social and geographic symbol that has become central to concepts of hip hop authenticity. Additionally, the book analyzes the processes within the music and culture industries through which hip hop has been amplified and disseminated from the ‘hood to international audiences.

Attend Stephenson Memorial Concert on

February 23, 2017, 8:00pm

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium.

If you enjoyed this performance, then you'll love these CDs and a book that we have available for check-out near cafe!

At Peace by Ballakâe Sissoko

Call Number: CD 781.6209 S623a 2012

Publication Date: 2012

 

 

 

Musique de nuit by Ballaké Sissoko, Vincent Segal

Call Number: CD 785 S623m

Publication Date: 2016

 

 

 

Guide to Musical Styles by Douglas Moore

Call Number: 781.8 M821g 1962

Publication Date: 1963

This book transports the reader into the spirit of great music, so that when he encounters an unfamiliar composition he will feel at home in its style and will have some idea of what to expect. It examines five great periods--the Renaissance, Baroque, Classic, Romantic, and Modern--and teaches him the technique of listening so that he can identify the style and form of a piece of music and place it in its proper period. For unless our ears can tell us the difference between a fugue and a sonata, the study of names, dates and historical trends will be futile.

Attend Mr. Jordan Ryan's convocation on

February 16, 2017, 3:00pm

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium

Sponsored by CCC.

If you liked Mr. Ryan's presentation, then you'll love these books that we have available for check-out near the cafe area!

The Road to Peace by Henri J. M. Nouwen; John Dear (Editor)

Call Number: 261.8 N934r 1998

Publication Date: 1998

Throughout his life Henri Nouwen stressed the connection between intimacy with Christ and solidarity with a wounded world. From his early support for the civil rights movement, through his engagement in the cause of peace and his life with the handicapped members of the L'Arche community, Nouwen was always engaged with the social dimensions of the gospel. In gathering Nouwen's writings on peace and social justice, editor John Dear amplifies this crucial element of Nouwen's message about the call of Christian discipleship. At the same time, Nouwen issues a call to activists to be peacemakers in the fullest sense: to root their witness in prayer, joy, and a spirit of love. Included are a previously unpublished essay on peacemaking; stories of the March on Selma and the funeral of Martin Luther King; reflections on the legacies of Oscar Romero and Thomas Merton; and a moving talk on compassion in the time of AIDS. For all those who have read and treasured the life and work of Henri Nouwen, The Road to Peace is an inspiration, and a challenge to live our Christian lives with both love and action.

 

Dance, Human Rights, and Social Justice by Naomi M. Jackson (Editor); 

Call Number: 306.484 D1732 2008

Publication Date: 2008

Dance, Human Rights, and Social Justice: Dignity in Motion presents a wide-ranging compilation of essays, spanning more than 15 countries. Organized in four parts, the articles examine the regulation and exploitation of dancers and dance activity by government and authoritative groups, including abusive treatment of dancers within the dance profession; choreography involving human rights as a central theme; the engagement of dance as a means of healing victims of human rights abuses; and national and local social/political movements in which dance plays a powerful role in helping people fight oppression. These groundbreaking papers--both detailed scholarship and riveting personal accounts--encompass a broad spectrum of issues, from slavery and the Holocaust to the Bosnian and Rwandan genocides to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict; from First Amendment cases and the AIDS epidemic to discrimination resulting from age, gender, race, and disability. A range of academics, choreographers, dancers, and dance/movement therapists draw connections between refugee camp, courtroom, theater, rehearsal studio, and university classroom.

 

Second Wave Spirituality by Chris Saade; Andrew Harvey (Foreword by)

Call Number: 204 S111s 2014

Publication Date: 2014

In his work as a spiritual teacher interacting with seekers and activists from around the world, Chris Saade has witnessed a remarkable recent phenomenon: an emerging wave of spirituality that is socially and globally engaged in the pursuit of justice, earth care, and solidarity. Saade calls this movement "second wave spirituality," and in this book he maps out the cutting-edge ideas that are fueling this burgeoning wave of engaged spirituality. He challenges us to rise to our spiritual task and join the millions of all faiths who are awakening to the suffering and social struggles of all living beings. According to Saade, second wave spirituality holds a vision of the intrinsic values of love: justice, global peace, solidarity, inclusion, democratic freedom, compassion, and reconciliation. Saade explores current trends of thought that are shaking the foundations of our belief systems and propelling us toward an evolutionary leap. We are in the midst of a spiritual renaissance, Saade asserts, a universal reawakening that will steer us away from the abysmal global dangers we are facing. The book also includes a collection of quotations as a resource for those working for peace, justice, and inclusion. By dividing the selections into theme-specific chapters, Saade helps us easily access the wisdom and companionship of other souls committed to our diversity, our oneness, and our pursuit of justice. 

Attend Dr. Margaret Lowman's convocation on

February 9, 2017, 3:00pm

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium

If you liked Dr Margaret Lowman's presentation, then you'll love these books that we have available for check-out, on display near the cafe! 

The Most Beautiful Roof in the World by Kathryn Lasky; Christopher G. Knight (Photographer)

Call Number: 574.526 L345m

Publication Date: 1997

Journey along with Dr. Meg Lowman, a scientist who, with the help of slings, suspended walkways, and mountain-climbing equipment, has managed to ascend into one of our planet’s least accessible and most fascinating ecosystems--the rain-forest canopy. “Fresh in outlook and intriguing in details, this book will strengthen any library collection on the rainforest.”

 

Life in the Treetops by Margaret D. Lowman; Robert D. Ballard 

Call Number: 577.3409 L918L 1999

Publication Date: 1999

A description of the mysteries of the treetops - their inhabitants, flowers and fruits, growth and mortality, and patterns of diversity. Margaret Lowman discusses different canopy access techniques. She also portrays the life of a field biologist from a woman's perspective.

 

 

It's a Jungle up There by Margaret D. Lowman; James Burgess; Edward Burgess;

Call Number: Ebook

Publication Date: 2008

Drawn to the mysteries of tropical rain forests and fascinated by life in the treetops, Meg Lowman has pursued a life of scientific exploration while raising her two sons, Edward and James Burgess. This book recounts their family adventures in remote parts of the world (Samoa, West Africa, Peru, Panama, India, Biosphere 2, and others), from the perspectives of both kids and parent. Together they explore tropical rain forests, encounter anacondas and piranhas, eat crickets as hors d’oeuvres, discover new species, and nurture a family ethic for conservation. The chapters of the book focus on field biology questions, the canopy access methods developed to answer the questions, and conservation or education components of each expedition. Lowman enumerates the challenges and joys of juggling parenthood and career, and the children reflect on how their mom’s work has affected their lives. A rollicking, inspiring book, It’s a Jungle Up There is an upbeat portrayal of how a parent’s career can imprint children, and how children in turn can influence the success and trajectory of their parent’s career.

Hutchins Library is hosting the solo art exhibit of Dr. Valeria Watkins titled "liberation." This winter art exhibit features 20 abstract pieces by the artist new for 2016. The exhibit is on display in the library's main floor. The exhibit may be viewed during library regular hours. It is free and open to the public.

In addition, we would like to invite the community to a reception and talk  with  the artist, Dr. Watkins at the library. The reception and talk will take place on Friday, February 10, 2017 at 5:00 pm. Refreshments will be provided. This event is also free and open to the public.

Dr. Watkins provided the following artist statement for the exhibit:

Welcome to this new exhibit of paintings called “liberation” which were painted in 2016.  These new paintings are an expression of where I am in my life. They are all ABSTRACT paintings which I love, because it is a language all its own. I believe Abstract helps to uncover something wonderful within the viewer and the artist.

 I am tapping into that creative spark within while making a visual image on the canvas.  Setting aside all distractions and self-talk allow the paintings to unlock the door from within.

I don’t see images and I don’t try to do anything. My greatest challenge with painting is to not stifle the creative process with details or thoughts of trying to do something. I become engage with the colors allowing the strokes and movement of the tools I use to shape and form the patterns with the paint. I am excited about repurposing used products so that they influence the texture and ultimately the painting. Those pieces are designated as multi-media.

Thank you for viewing this work and I hope it will speak to you as it has to me.  It is a journey of discovery with me hoping you will be able to go beyond what you have been conditioned to see. Enjoy the colors, experience the energy, find the images and experience something wonderful.

Have fun with the journey!

One of our student Building Managers, Breanna Dunning, has created a display in honor of Black History Month. Located near the Reference Desk, the books and DVDs on display are available for check-out.
 

Black History Month grew from Negro History Week, which was first celebrated in 1926, due to the efforts of historian (and Berea alum) Carter G. Woodson and prominent African-American minister Jesse E. Moorland.
 

Over time, with the growing awareness of black identity and the Civil Rights Movement, Negro History Week evolved into Black History Month on many college campuses.
 

In 1976, President Gerald Ford officially recognized Black History Month, urging the public to “seize the opportunity to honor the too-often neglected accomplishments of black Americans in every area of endeavor throughout our history.”

Want to know more? Check out these titles:
 

March by John Lewis; Andrew Aydin; Nate Powell (Artist, Cover Design by)

Call Number: 741.5 L674m 2013 bk. 1 (Graphic Novels)
 

Congressman John Lewis (GA-5) is an American icon, one of the key figures of the civil rights movement. His commitment to justice and nonviolence has taken him from an Alabama sharecropper's farm to the halls of Congress, from a segregated schoolroom to the 1963 March on Washington, and from receiving beatings from state troopers to receiving the Medal of Freedom from the first African-American president. Now, to share his remarkable story with new generations, Lewis presents March, a graphic novel trilogy, in collaboration with co-writer Andrew Aydin and New York Times best-selling artist Nate Powell. March is a vivid first-hand account of John Lewis' lifelong struggle for civil and human rights, meditating in the modern age on the distance traveled since the days of Jim Crow and segregation. Rooted in Lewis' personal story, it also reflects on the highs and lows of the broader civil rights movement.

 

March: Book Two by John Lewis; Andrew Aydin; Nate Powell (Artist, Cover Design by)

Call Number: 741.5 L674m 2015 bk. 2
 

Now, March brings the lessons of history to vivid life for a new generation, urgently relevant for today's world.After the success of the Nashville sit-in campaign, John Lewis is more committed than ever to changing the world through nonviolence - but as he and his fellow Freedom Riders board a bus into the vicious heart of the deep south, they will be tested like never before. Faced with beatings, police brutality,imprisonment, arson, and even murder, the movement's young activists place their lives on the line while internal conflicts threaten to tear them apart. But their courage will attract the notice of powerful allies, from Martin Luther King, Jr. to Attorney General Robert F. Kennedy... and once Lewis is elected chairman of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, this 23-year-old will be thrust into the national spotlight, becoming one of the "Big Six" leaders of the civil rights movement and a central figure in the landmark 1963 March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom.

 

From Selma to Montgomery by Barbara Harris Combs

Call Number: 323.119 C731f 2014
 

On March 7, 1965, a peaceful voting rights demonstration in Selma, Alabama, was met with an unprovoked attack of shocking violence that riveted the attention of the nation. In the days and weeks following "Bloody Sunday," the demonstrators would not be deterred, and thousands of others joined their cause, culminating in the successful march from Selma to Montgomery. The protest marches led directly to the passage of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, a major piece of legislation, which, ninety-five years after the passage of the Fifteenth Amendment, made the practice of the right to vote available to all Americans, irrespective of race. From Selma to Montgomery chronicles the marches, placing them in the context of the long Civil Rights Movement, and considers the legacy of the Act, drawing parallels with contemporary issues of enfranchisement. In five concise chapters bolstered by primary documents including civil rights legislation, speeches, and news coverage, Combs introduces the Civil Rights Movement to undergraduates through the courageous actions of the freedom marchers.

 

Blacks in Bondage by Robert S. Starobin (Introduction by); Ira Berlin (Introduction by)

Call Number: 301.4493 S795b

 

A collection of documents by black American slaves, written while enslaved or shortly after escape. The words recorded here express complexity and diversity of thought and feeling about slavery and being black, and offer glimpses into the interior lives of a number of American slaves.

 

 

 

Not the Triumph but the Struggle by Amy Bass

Call Number: 796.48 B317n

 

A sweeping examination of the role of Black Power in the 1968 Olympic games in Mexico City reveals the emergence of militancy and political consciousness in American sports.

 

 

 

We've Got a Job by Cynthia Y. Levinson

Call Number: 323.119 L6655w 2012

 

The inspiring story of one of the greatest moments in civil rights history as seen through the eyes of four young people who were at the center of the action. The 1963 Birmingham Children's March was a turning point in American history. In the streets of Birmingham, Alabama, the fight for civil rights lay in the hands of children like Audrey Hendricks, Wash Booker, James Stewart, and Arnetta Streeter. Through the eyes of these four protesters and others who participated, We've Got a Job tells the little-known story of the 4,000 black elementary, middle, and high school students who voluntarily went to jail between May 2 and May 11, 1963. The children succeeded - where adults had failed - in desegregating one of the most racially violent cities in America. By combining in-depth, one-on-one interviews and extensive research, author Cynthia Levinson recreates the events of the Birmingham Children's March from a new and very personal perspective.