Veterans day honors, celebrates, and acknowledges all our troops who have served the country in wartime and peacetime. Their diligent duty and sacrifice is remembered and appreciated.
To get more information about Veterans day, browse some of our titles below:
The Wounded Warrior Handbook by
Call Number: 362.108 P571w 2009 - Hutchins Library - Circulating (3rd Floor)
Publication Date: 2009-01-16
The typical wounded soldier must complete and file 22 forms following an active-duty injury. To many soldiers and their families coping with the shock and reality of the injuries, figuring out what to do next--even completing tasks as seemingly easy as submitting paperwork--can be overwhelming and confusing. Written with these men and women in mind, The Wounded Warrior Handbook provides our wounded heroes and their families with quick, straightforward answers to the questions they suddenly face and guides them through the deluge of processes, procedures, and policies they must adhere to in order to receive the care they deserve and need. Comprehensive and easy-to-use, the Handbook compiles information regarding medical treatment, rehabilitation, counseling, support, and transition, including Symptoms, treatment options, and information resources of common injuries Programs to help families reach and care for their injured soldiers Definitions of the seven classifications of "casualty" and the notification process for next of kin Documents family members should carry when traveling to see their loved ones Challenges of reintegrating into everyday life, and tips and resources for succeeding Guidance for finding a job that matches an injured soldier's physical abilities and skills Organizations offering advocacy and legal assistance Locations of Veterans Affairs hospitals, medical centers, and clinics Whether you work with members of the military or support a community that does, you can help our embattled men and women make the transition from active duty to post-war domestic life with this time-saving and life-restoring book.
The Oxford Handbook of Military Psychology by
Call Number: 335.001 O984 - Hutchins Library - Circulating (3rd Floor)
Publication Date: 2012-02-24
The critical link between psychology and the military is imprtant to recruiting, training, socializing, assigning, employing, deploying, motivating, rewarding, maintaining, managing, integrating, retaining, transitioning, supporting, counseling, and healing military members. These areas arehardly distinct, and the chapters in The Oxford Handbook of Military Psychology have contents that cross these boundaries.Collectively, the topics covered in this volume describe the myriad ways in which modern psychology influences warfare and vice versa. The extensive topics included come from within the areas of clinical, industrial/organizational, experimental, engineering, and social psychology. The contributorsare top international experts in military psychology - some uniformed soldiers, others academics and clinicians, and others civilian employees of the military or other government agencies. They address important areas in which the science and practice of psychology supports military personnel intheir varied and complex missions. Among the topics addressed here are suitability for service, leadership, decision making, training, terrorism, socio-cultural competencies, diversity and cohesion, morale, quality-of-life, ethical challenges, and mental health and fitness. The focus is the ways in which psychology promotes thedecisive human dimension of military effectiveness. Collectively, the 25 topical chapters of this handbook provide an overview of modern military psychology and its tremendous influence on the military and society as a whole.
War No More by
Call Number: 820.8 W235 2016 - Hutchins Library - Circulating (3rd Floor)
Publication Date: 2016-06-14
Featuring a diverse group of writers, War No More gathers the best of America's vibrant tradition of antiwar and peace literature, essays, letters, speeches, memoirs, poems, stories and songs spanning almost three centuries. It offers an unprecedented view of a powerful and perennially relevant American tradition, encompassing five-star generals, theologians, nuclear physicists, folk singers, signers of the declaration, quietists, anarchists, veterans, and Nobel laureates.
This Distracted and Anarchical People by
Call Number: E-Book (Berea College only)
Publication Date: 2013-01-21
While most of the fighting took place in the South, the Civil War profoundly affected the North. As farm boys became soldiers and marched off to battle, social, economic, and political changes transformed northern society. In the generations following the conflict, historians tried to understand and explain the North's Civil War experience. Many historical explanations became taken for granted, such as that the Union Army was ideologically Republican, northern Democrats were disloyal, and German Americans were lousy soldiers. Now in this eye-opening collection of eleven stimulating essays, new and important information is unearthed that solidly challenges the old historical arguments. The essays in This Distracted and Anarchical People range widely throughout the history of the Civil War North, using new methods and sources to reexamine old theories and discover new aspects of the nation's greatest conflict. Many of these issues are just as important today as they were a century and a half ago. What were the extent and limits of wartime dissent in the North? How could a president most effectively present himself to the public? Can the savagery of war ever be tamed? How did African Americans create and maintain their families? This Distracted and Anarchical People highlights the newest scholarship on a diverse array of topics, bringing fresh insight to bear on some of the most important topics in history today--such as the democratic press in the antebellum North, peace movements, the Union Army and the elections of 1864, Liberia and the U.S. Civil War, and African American veterans and marriage practices after Emancipation.
Soldiers Once and Still by
Call Number: E-Book (Berea College only)
ISBN: 1587294877
Publication Date: 2004-04-01
As the world enters a new century, as it embarks on new wars and sees new developments in the waging of war, reconsiderations of the last centuryOCOs legacy of warfare are necessary to our understanding of the current world order. In Soldiers Once and Still, Alex Vernon looks back through the twentieth century in order to confront issues of self and community in veteransOCO literature, exploring how war and the military have shaped the identities of Ernest Hemingway, James Salter, and Tim OOCOBrien, three of the twentieth centuryOCOs most respected authors. Vernon specifically explores the various ways war and the military, through both cultural and personal experience, have affected social and gender identities and dynamics in each authorOCOs work."
Commenting on blog posts requires an account.
Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.
If you do not have an account, Register Now.