Reference Book of the month: The Encyclopedia of Witches and Witchcraft

 June's reference book of the Month:  The Encyclopedia of Witches and Witchcraft.

More than 500 entries present a detailed look at the Craft and its history from its ancient origins to its modern revival. Here, in an A-to-Z format, researchers will find unparalleled coverage of witchcraft practices around the world in different time periods and societies, including entries on magic, shamanism, the occult, and wizardry. Also included are biographies of the most influential characters in the witchcraft movement and how they shaped the traditions and practices of their followers. Completely updated throughout, the second edition provides expanded cross-cultural entries and additional historical data. More than thirty new entries include modern Wicca and Paganism, related organizations, and their activities; magic tools, rituals, and types of divination; and mythological roots of witchcraft.

~ Recommended for students majoring in Psychology~

The Encyclopedia of Witches and Witchcraft More than 500 entries present a detailed look at the Craft and its history from its ancient origins to its modern revival. Here, in an A-to-Z format, researchers will find unparalleled coverage of witchcraft practices around the world in different time periods and societies, including entries on magic, shamanism, the occult, and wizardry. Also included are biographies of the most influential characters in the witchcraft movement and how they shaped the traditions and practices of their followers. Completely updated throughout, the second edition provides expanded cross-cultural entries and additional historical data. More than thirty new entries include modern Wicca and Paganism, related organizations, and their activities; magic tools, rituals, and types of divination; and mythological roots of witchcraft. by Rosemary ellen Guiley

Call Number: 133.43 G956e 1999

Publication Date: 1999-10-01

More than 500 entries present a detailed look at the Craft and its history from its ancient origins to its modern revival. Here, in an A-to-Z format, researchers will find unparalleled coverage of witchcraft practices around the world in different time periods and societies, including entries on magic, shamanism, the occult, and wizardry. Also included are biographies of the most influential characters in the witchcraft movement and how they shaped the traditions and practices of their followers. Completely updated throughout, the second edition provides expanded cross-cultural entries and additional historical data. More than thirty new entries include modern Wicca and Paganism, related organizations, and their activities; magic tools, rituals, and types of divination; and mythological roots of witchcraft.