Hutchins Library News Blog - Library Homepage at Berea College

Check out the newest editions to our Graphic Novel collection!

You can find them on the far right shelf in the Graphic Novel section!

Planetary Omnibus

Miles Morales: The Ultimate Spider-Man: Volumes 1 & 3

Rock Candy Mountain: Volume 1

Injection: Volume 3

Black Panther: World of Wakanda

Doctor Strange: The Way of the Weird: Volume 1

Batman: White Night

The Beauty

Vinland Saga: Volume 1

The Making of Modern China: The Ming Dynasty to the Qing Dynasty (1368-1912)

Want to find out where these books are? Here are the call numbers and links to the catalog!

The Planetary Omnibus by Warren Ellis

Call Number: 741.597 E476p 2014 (Graphic Novels -- Main Floor Circulation Area)

"PLANETARY has been hailed as a timeless story that turned modern superhero conventions on their heads.Written by Warren Ellis (TRANSMETROPOLITAN) and with stunning art by John Cassaday (Astonishing X-Men), this critically acclaimed, landmark series took a look at the inter-dimensional peace-keeping force known as Planetary. The trio on the ground includes Elijah Snow, a hundred-year-old man, Jakita Wagner, an extremely powerful woman, and The Drummer, a man with the ability to communicate with machines. Tasked with tracking down evidence of super-human activity, these mystery archaeologists uncover unknown paranormal secrets and histories, such as a World War II supercomputer that can access other universes, a ghostly spirit of vengeance, and a lost island of dying monsters. All 27 issues of the original series are collected in this hardbound omnibus edition."

Miles Morales by Marvel Comics Staff

Call Number: 741.597 B458m (Graphic Novels -- Main Floor Circulation Area)

Miles Morales takes up the mantle of the Ultimate Spider-Man! Before Peter Parker died, young Miles was poised to start the next chapter in his life in a new school. Then, a spider's bite granted the teenager incredible arachnid-like powers. Now, Miles has been thrust into a world he doesn't understand, with only gut instinct and a little thing called responsibility as his guides. Can he live up to Peter's legacy as Spider-Man? As Miles grapples with his new life, Miles' Uncle Aaron - a.k.a. the Prowler - learns his secret! He's got plans for his nephew, but little does he know that the Scorpion is on his tail!

Rock Candy Mountain Volume 1 by Kyle Starks

Call Number: 741.597 S7945r v. 1 (Graphic Novels -- Main Floor Circulation Area)

It's the first collection of the manic, hobo fighting epic that is ROCK CANDY MOUNTAIN. Come inside and meet the mysterious, unbeatable hobo Jackson on his quest to find the mythical hobo heaven. Meet his sidekick Pomona Slim. But watch out for the Devil! And the FBI! And the Hobo Mafia too! It's a fantastical fisticuff through post- World War II America via the rails and back roads through underground fight clubs, prison and the hobo jungles wrought with dangers, hobo fights, jokes and locomotive excitement.

Injection Volume 3 by Warren Ellis

Call Number: 741.5 E476i (Graphic Novels -- Main Floor Circulation Area)

An archeological dig in Cornwall has gone very wrong, very quickly. And Maria Kilbride has her hands full already, as the effects of the Injection begin to dig in. So Brigid Roth, her old comrade from the CCCU, gets hired to go to a stone circle in the middle of a moor, under a granite tor, to find out why a ritual murder might have torn a hole in the world. What is the Cold House? "If you're looking for an intense, moody exploration of how loud and strange the world could get, this is the one for you." - Kirkus Review

World of Wakanda by Marvel Comics Staff

Call Number: 741.597 G285b (Graphic Novels -- Main Floor Circulation Area)

The world building of Wakanda continues in a love story where tenderness is matched only by brutality! You know them now as the Midnight Angels, but in this story they are just Ayo and Aneka, young women recruited to become Dora Milaje, an elite task force trained to protect the crown of Wakanda at all costs. Their first assignment will be to protect Queen Shuri... but what happens when your nation needs your hearts and minds, but you already gave them to each other? Meanwhile, former king T'Challa lies with bedfellows so dark, disgrace is inevitable. Plus, explore the true origins of the People's mysterious leader, Zenzi. Black Panther thinks he knows who Zenzi is and how she got her powers - but he only knows part of the story!

Doctor Strange Vol. 1 by Jason Aaron

Call Number: 741.597 A113d v. 1 (Graphic Novels -- Main Floor Circulation Area)

Who do you call when things are coming out of your dreams and trying to kill you? Or when your daughter is cursing in Latin and walking like a spider? Or when your dog keeps screaming at you to strangle your neighbors? Doctor Strange, of course. He's the only person standing between us and the forces of darkness, but has he been paying his tab? Every act of magic has a cost.

Batman: White Knight by Sean Murphy

Call Number: 741.597 M978b (Graphic Novels -- Main Floor Circulation Area)

The impossible has happened: The Joker has become a ... hero? Batman: White Knight follows the man now known as Jack Napier as he embarks on a quest to heal the city he once terrorized. After reconciling with his long-suffering partner, Harley Quinn, he sets in motion a carefully plotted campaign to discredit the one person whom he views as Gotham City's true enemy: Batman. His crusade exposes a decades-long history of corruption within the Gotham City Police Department and transforms Napier into a city councilman and civic hero. But when the sins of his past return to threaten everything that he has accomplished, the distinctions between savior and destroyer begin to break down for both The Joker and Batman alike--and with them any hope for Gotham's future. Writer and artist Sean Murphy delivers an extraordinary examination of comics' greatest antagonists in Batman: White Knight, exploring justice, corruption, activism and the darkest depths of mental illness.

The Beauty Volume 1 by Jeremy Haun

Call Number: 741.597 H373b v. 1 (Graphic Novels -- Main Floor Circulation Area)

Modern society is obsessed with outward beauty. What if there was a way to guarantee you could become more and more beautiful every day? What if it was asexually transmitted disease? In the world of The Beauty, physical perfection is only one sexual encounter away. The vast majority of the population has taken advantage of it, but Detectives Vaughn and Foster will soon discover it comes ata terrible cost. Now, they'll have to find their way past corrupt politicians,vengeful federal agents, and a terrifying mercenary out to collect the price on their heads.

Vinland Saga 1 by Makoto Yukimura

Call Number: 741.595 Y949v bk. 1 (Graphic Novels -- Main Floor Circulation Area)

Soon to be a major anime series from the makers of Attack on Titan! FOR HONOR AND VENGEANCE As a child, Thorfinn sat at the feet of the great Leif Ericson and thrilled to wild tales of a land far to the west. But his youthful fantasies were shattered by a mercenary raid. Raised by the Vikings who murdered his family, Thorfinn became a terrifying warrior, forever seeking to kill the band's leader, Askeladd, and avenge his father. Sustaining Throfinn through his ordeal are his pride in his family and his dreams of a fertile westward land, a land without war or slavery...the land Leif called Vinland.

The Making of Modern China: The Ming Dynasty to the Qing Dynasty (1368-1912) by Jing Liu

Call Number: 931 L783f (Graphic Novels -- Main Floor Circulation Area)

"Does what it sets out to do and serves as a Chinese history text teenagers might actually read." --Asian Review of Books on Division to Unification in Imperial China The fourth volume in the Understanding China Through Comics series covers the stunningly productive Ming dynasty and its fall to the Manchus under the Qing, the last Chinese dynasty. The book also addresses Wang Yangming's School of Mind and the painful process of modernization and conflict with the West and Japan, including the Opium Wars and the Boxer Rebellion. Includes timeline. Jing Liu is a Beijing- and Davis, CA-based designer and entrepreneur who uses his artistry to tell the story of China.

Recent Posts

Honoring Harvey Milk Day: some library resources

May 22 is Harvey Milk Day, a day to honor the life and legacy of the first openly gay politician in California and civil rights leader and activist. Sadly, he was assassinated by a political rival in 1978, but his legacy and contributions live on. If you would like to learn more, here are some library resources that may be of interest: An Archive of Hope: Harvey Milk's Speeches and Writings (e-book). Harvey Milk: his lives and death by Lillian Faderman (biography, e-book). The Right Side of History: 100 Years of LGBTQI Activism (essay collection, print edition). See the essay “The Mayor of Castro Street.” You can find the book in the General Collection Stacks (2nd floor) by call number 323.326 B873r 2015. Milk (2009, film). This is the biopic of his life with Sean Penn portraying Harvey Milk. You can find it in our DVD Collection in the main floor under call number DVD 791.437 M644 2009. The Times of Harvey Milk (2004, Documentary). You can find it in the DVD Collection under call number DVD 364.152 T583 2004 Discs 1-2.If you want to find and read articles on Harvey Milk, LGBTQ+ topics, and other civil rights issues, the following databases may be of interest. You can find our databases on our library website via the “Databases A-Z” link: Academic Search CompleteAlt Press WatchJ-Stor Project MuseResources from the open web: Harvey Milk on Wikipedia. Harvey Milk Day on Wikipedia.The Harvey Milk Foundation. The Mayor of Castro Street. This is the 1982 biography written by Randy Shilts. I was a bit surprised our library does not have it at the moment, however, you can borrow it online via the Internet Archive. Notes: Please note that to access our library's electronic resources off campus, you will need campus authentication (your Berea College username, password, and DUO authentication). You can also access our electronic resources if you visit the library in person. If you need research assistance, you can always stop by the reference desk, use the chat widget on the library website, or make an appointment with one of the librarians from the library website. To borrow books on Internet Archive, you will need an account with Internet Archive. If you do not have one, you can set up a free account with Internet Archive. I have one, and I do use it. Just click on their “Sign Up/Log In” link to get started. ...

From our shelves: Antifa

Welcome to another edition of “From our shelves” where I read a book from our collection and write a short review about it. This week I am reviewing Antifa: the antifascist handbook by Mark Bray.The term “fascism” seems to be in the news constantly. We also often hear the terms “anti-fascist” or “antifa.” If you want to learn more about what antifa is and its history, this book is a pretty good primer that goes over the history of anti-fascism, Antifa, to today. The history starts around the 1920s with the rise of Hitler and Mussolini then the author takes us through to the 20th century and into the 21st century. The book has six chapters including history of the movement, interviews with anti-fascists from around the world, though the focus is a bit Eurocentric, tactics and philosophy of the movement. The book offers an accessible text, and unlike other texts on the topic this one does not get bogged down in theory and jargon. It also includes a list of resources for further reading. You can find the print edition of the book Antifa: the anti-fascist handbook in the library's General Collection Stacks (second floor) under call number: 320.533 B827a 2017 (link to catalog record)....

Remembering and learning about Pope Francis (1936-2025)

Pope Francis (link to his Wikipedia entry), the head of the Catholic Church and sovereign ruler of Vatican City, passed away on the morning of April 21, 2025. Here at the library we offer our condolences to Catholics here and around the world as well as others mourning his death. Pope Francis was the first non-European Pope since the 8th century (that first one was Gregory III from Syria), the first Latin American Pope, and the first Pope member of the Society of Jesus (Jesuits). For folks wanting to learn more about Pope Francis, here are some resources available at the our library as well as online. A small sampling of news reports about his death: From the Associated Press. From CNN. From the Vatican. If you want to search for more news articles and news sources from the U.S. and around the world, our library offers the database Access World News, which can be found on our library website under "Electronic Resources." Access World News, also known as Newsbank, offers "full text from nearly 3,700 U.S. and 2,300 International newspapers. Direct links are available to search Kentucky and Appalachian Region newspapers, major metro titles, international resources, newswires, broadcast transcripts, America's news magazines, world and US newspapers." Want more academic articles about Pope Francis, the papacy, the Conclave, and/or the Catholic Church, or religion in general? Then you can use the Religion Database, also accessible from the library website under "Electronic Resources." Religion Database, also known as ProQuest Religion, "provides an excellent source of religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history. More full-text journals have been added in related religious studies, such as philosophy, ethics, and international perspectives." Want to read some books on Pope Francis? Our library has a selection of e-books that may be of interest. Here is a small sampling of titles: Pope Francis and the Search for God in America by Maria Clara Bingemer (Editor); Peter J. Casarella (Editor); Archbishop Christophe Pierre Call Number: E-book ISBN: 9780813233796 Publication Date: 2021-06-25 In Tutti Fratelli, Pope Francis has called again for a "culture of encounter," But how should his theology, pastoral practice, and social message be understood and applied in the Church of the Americas, a single but complex reality that extends from South to North? This volume offers analyses from experts looking back to the Argentine pontiff's first fateful encuentros in the Americas as a help for understanding the present reality of the Church in the Western Hemisphere. The group includes theologians, historians, and political scientists, and the unique contribution of the volume lies in the panoramic perspective offered by the book as a whole. The initial essays set the stage for the volume as a whole, offering rich insight into Argentine and Latin American history, the world from which the Pope came and to which he returned in 2015, as well as surveying the impact of the Latin American "theology of the people" on the Pope's visit to the U.S.Additional essays address theological, historical, and pastoral engagements that cut across several of the visits. The final group of essays is dedicated to the visits themselves and is arranged in the order that they occurred. Pope Francis and the Search for God in América is offered to all the members of the Church in América, South and North, old and young, with the hope that it will spur even more thought, reflection, prayer, and service. Pope Francis and the Caring Society by Robert M. Whaples (Editor) Call Number: E-book ISBN: 9781598132892 Publication Date: 2017-09-01 Pope Francis and the Caring Society is a thoughtful exploration of the Pope's earnest call for a dialogue on building a truly compassionate society. Francis's fervent support for uplifting the poor and protecting the environment has inspired far-reaching discussions worldwide: Do capitalism and socialism have positive or negative social consequences? What is the most effective way to fight poverty? And what value does a religious perspective offer in addressing moral, political, and economic problems? Pope Francis and the Caring Society is an indispensable resource for consideration of these vital questions. Edited by Robert M. Whaples, with a foreword by Michael Novak, the book provides an integrated perspective on Francis and the issues he has raised, examining the intersection of religion, politics, and economics. Readers will discover important historical and cultural context for considering Francis's views, along with alternative solutions for environmental preservation, a defense of Francis's criticism of power and privilege, a case for market-based entrepreneurship and private charity as potent tools for fighting poverty, and an examination of Francis's philosophy of the family. Pope Francis and the Caring Society is essential reading for anyone interested in creating a better, more caring, and prosperous world. Pope Francis by Mario I. Aguilar Call Number: E-book ISBN: 9780718842314 Publication Date: 2014-05-29 Pope Francis: His Life and Thought paints a compelling picture of a truly remarkable pope, considering his life in detail until his election as Pope Francis in 2013. Cardinal Jorge Bergoglio was a highly unusual candidate for the papacy for two main reasons: the 'pope from far away' is the first non-European to be elected, and, furthermore, he began his career as a Jesuit, one of 'God's soldiers'. Members of the order traditionally do not ascend the hierarchy of the Church, and it took a personal request from Pope John Paul II for Bergoglio to leave the Society of Jesus and accept his appointment as bishop. Bergoglio's theological principles have been profoundly shaped by these two factors. However, the author also reveals that the evolution of his thought was deeply affected by his simple Argentinean upbringing and his fearless work in the slums of Buenos Aires as a young Jesuit and as a senior member of the Church. Bergoglio has consistently emphasised the importance of alleviating the suffering of the poor, following the teaching of Vatican II, and in keeping with his own unflinching morality. This volume reveals Pope Francis as remarkably humble and altruistic man, doctrinally conservative, and engaged less in politics than in the struggle to re-centre the Church at the margins of society. It will be of great interest to any reader who wishes to know more about this inspiring individual. Lead with Humility by Jeffrey Krames Call Number: E-book ISBN: 9780814449127 Publication Date: 2014-09-09 How did a relatively unknown priest from Argentina rise so quickly from obscurity to one of the top leaders of the twenty-first century? The answer lies in his humility, as well as the simple principles that have sprung from it. In the years since his election to the highest position in the Catholic Church, Pope Francis has breathed life into an aging institution, reinvigorated a global base, and created real hope for the future. His early accomplishments have been so remarkable that in 2014, Fortune magazine awarded the top spot of their coveted World's Greatest Leaders list not to a captain of industry or political leader but to the new pontiff. Lead with Humility explores 12 of these principles and shows how other leaders and managers across a broad spectrum can adapt them for the workplace with just as impressive results as our great pope has. These invaluable principles include: Don't stand over your employees--sit down with them. Don't judge--assess. Take care of people, not lobbies. Go where you are needed. Temper ideology with pragmatism. Don't change--reinvent! Even just a few years in, it is clear to all that Pope Francis's ability to inspire the world is unprecedented in modern times. Lead with Humility reveals the power of his methods, and helps anyone lead with the humility, grace, and authenticity that has elevated the pope to where he is today and had a direct impact in inspiring everyone and everything around him. Pope Francis' Little Book of Wisdom by Andrea Kirk Assaf Call Number: E-book ISBN: 9781612833507 Publication Date: 2015-09-01 Pope Francis appears to be changing the face of Roman Catholicism. He has infused what some consider a staid institution with openness and optimism. He has faced off against established power interests within the Vatican. He has reformed the Church's finances. And, most importantly, he has asked that Catholics approach one another and non-Catholics with candor, humility, and love. He has made the papacy and the Church relevant once again. A pope of the people, Pope Francis' teachings have been praised and shared by the faithful and nonreligious alike. Exploring themes such as faith and prayer, love and family, peace and poverty, this collection is accessible to all who admire the man and are inspired by his wisdom. Included in this gift-format edition are fifteen chapters on wide-ranging topics including: On Family On the Law of Love On the Nature of God On Humility and Faith On Sacrifice and Suffering On Prayer On Peace Some resources for other related topics: Need to learn what is a Conclave? How a Pope is elected? Other topics about the Catholic Church? For starters, we offer the The New Catholic Encyclopedia. Below is the information so you can find the set in the Reference Collection. The link also includes information for accessing the encyclopedia online as an e-book. This is a resource I often suggest to students and other researchers needing basic information about the Catholic Church. It also has some entries that can be useful for researchers exploring other Christian areas and denominations. New Catholic Encyclopedia by Catholic University of America Staff (Contribution by) Call Number: Reference - Stacks 282 N533 2003 ISBN: 9780787640040 Publication Date: 2002-09-13 The first edition of this reference work, called the Catholic Encyclopedia, was published around the turn of the 20th century, with the last revised edition appearing in 1967. This new edition includes the best of the previous entries - many completely revised and updated - as well as new entries, written by subject experts, covering the latest topics of interest. Many thousands of articles are biographical profiles of the people who make up the history of the Catholic Church. Our Reference Collection has other resources on the Catholic Church and Christianity in general that may be useful at this time or any other time patrons need to learn and/or do research on Catholicism and Christianity. If you need assistance, please feel free to stop by the Reference Desk, and we will be happy to help you. What's a Conclave? A Papal Conclave "is a gathering of the College of Cardinals convened to elect a bishop of Rome, also known as the pope" (from Wikipedia). Wikipedia can offer a good start, but if you want to learn more, in addition to some of the resources listed above, here are some books from our collection that may be of interest: Heirs of the Fisherman by John-Peter Pham Call Number: Stacks 262.13 P534h 2004 ISBN: 9780195178340 Publication Date: 2004-11-30 The election of a new pope always captures the world's attention, as all eyes turn to the chimney atop the Sistine Chapel, where the color of the smoke is our only clue to the secret deliberations inside. In this fascinating volume, former Vatican insider John-Peter Pham takes us where outsiders have never gone before, providing vital background to the selection of the heir of the fisherman. Here is a highly accurate portrait of the modern Vatican--indeed, the only account to reveal the striking changes to papal succession procedures made by Pope John Paul II. Blending political and ecclesiastical history, Pham goes beyond a mere description of the complex rituals--including a rare insight into the dramatic shifts inside the College of Cardinals, whose 130 members now hail from 57 nations around the globe. Pham takes us into the secret conclave (from the Latin cum clave, "with key"), where the electors are kept under lock and key, incommunicado, until they have selected a new pope. Here we find a fascinating chronicle of political intrigue set in the context of ritual--including a chapter devoted to the intrigues of the 20th century where the first conclave had an emperor's veto and the last was won by the first non-Italian in four centuries because the Italians were bitterly divided. In a most timely analysis, Pham also provides a valuable one-by-one assessment of the present-day cardinals and possible candidates (papabili, or pope-ables) to succeed John Paul II. He explores the legacy of this highly influential pope--looking beyond his papacy to discuss the highly-charged issues that his successor will have to confront, including financial and sexual scandals, the roles of priests and women, and the very future of the church itself. And throughout the book, he provides a gold mine of information that make this book an indispensable reference, including appendices that contain biographical notes on many of the key personalities of Catholicism past and present as well as a useful glossary of Catholic history and theology. Here then is an illuminating history and must-have guide to a vitally important world event, one that is moving ever closer and will be watched with intense interest by more than a billion people around the globe. The Election of Pope Francis by Gerard O'Connell Call Number: E-book ISBN: 9781626983199 Publication Date: 2019-04-24 Here is a fascinating behind-the-scenes account of history in the making-- the election in 2013 of Cardinal Jorge Bergoglio, the first Latin American pope, the first Jesuit pope, and the first pope to choose the name Francis. The author, a friend the Pope, now reveals what actually happed inside the secret conclave. A note on accessing some of our electronic resources. Some of the resources I am discussing here are library subscriptions. To access them, you can do so at the library. Otherwise, you need to have Berea College credentials (username, password, and DUO authentication to access them). If you are not part of the Berea College community (students and currently employed faculty and staff), as I stated, you can visit our library and access the resources inside the library. You may also be able to access some of these resources via your local public or academic library. Need assistance? Feel free to contact the reference desk. Photo credit: Photo of Pope Francis in public domain. Photo shows Pope Francis, an elderly white man, dressed in white papal vestments, holding his staff on the left hand. He stands in front of an altar. ...

April 6 to April 12 2025 is National Library Week. Here are some books about libraries and librarians

This week is National Library Week, a week where we celebrate libraries, the professionals who work in libraries, and the valuable role of libraries in society. This week, and always, is a good time to read a book or two, especially if you got it from a library. You can also encourage others to get a library card. For our campus community, in addition to having access to Hutchins Library and its resources, you can also get a library card with Madison County Public Library. Just make your way down to the Berea branch, show your Berea ID, and you can get a public library card. To help celebrate this week, I have put together a small list of books that feature in some way libraries and librarians. These books are available in our collections. If you need assistance, you can always stop by the Reference Desk. Books are listed in no particular order. The Library Book by Susan Orlean Call Number: Stacks 027.479 O714L 2018 ISBN: 9781476740188 Publication Date: 2018-10-16 On the morning of April 29, 1986, a fire alarm sounded in the Los Angeles Public Library. As the moments passed, the patrons and staff who had been cleared out of the building realized this was not the usual fire alarm. As one fireman recounted, "Once that first stack got going, it was 'Goodbye, Charlie.'" The fire was disastrous: it reached 2000 degrees and burned for more than seven hours. By the time it was extinguished, it had consumed four hundred thousand books and damaged seven hundred thousand more. Investigators descended on the scene, but more than thirty years later, the mystery remains: Did someone purposefully set fire to the library--and if so, who? Weaving her lifelong love of books and reading into an investigation of the fire, award-winning New Yorker reporter and New York Times bestselling author Susan Orlean delivers a mesmerizing and uniquely compelling book that manages to tell the broader story of libraries and librarians in a way that has never been done before. In The Library Book, Orlean chronicles the LAPL fire and its aftermath to showcase the larger, crucial role that libraries play in our lives; delves into the evolution of libraries across the country and around the world, from their humble beginnings as a metropolitan charitable initiative to their current status as a cornerstone of national identity; brings each department of the library to vivid life through on-the-ground reporting; studies arson and attempts to burn a copy of a book herself; reflects on her own experiences in libraries; and reexamines the case of Harry Peak, the blond-haired actor long suspected of setting fire to the LAPL more than thirty years ago. Along the way, Orlean introduces us to an unforgettable cast of characters from libraries past and present--from Mary Foy, who in 1880 at eighteen years old was named the head of the Los Angeles Public Library at a time when men still dominated the role, to Dr. C.J.K. Jones, a pastor, citrus farmer, and polymath known as "The Human Encyclopedia" who roamed the library dispensing information; from Charles Lummis, a wildly eccentric journalist and adventurer who was determined to make the L.A. library one of the best in the world, to the current staff, who do heroic work every day to ensure that their institution remains a vital part of the city it serves. Brimming with her signature wit, insight, compassion, and talent for deep research, The Library Book is Susan Orlean's thrilling journey through the stacks that reveals how these beloved institutions provide much more than just books--and why they remain an essential part of the heart, mind, and soul of our country. It is also a master journalist's reminder that, perhaps especially in the digital era, they are more necessary than ever. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon; Lucia Graves (Translator) Call Number: Stacks 863.64 Z17sxg ISBN: 9781594200106 Publication Date: 2004-04-12 "I still remember the day my father took me to the Cemetery of Forgotten Books for the first time..." Barcelona, 1945: A city slowly heals in the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War, and Daniel, an antiquarian book dealer's son who mourns the loss of his mother, finds solace in a mysterious book entitled The Shadow of the Wind, by one Julián Carax. But when he sets out to find the author's other works, he makes a shocking discovery: someone has been systematically destroying every copy of every book Carax has written. In fact, Daniel may have the last of Carax's books in existence. Soon Daniel's seemingly innocent quest opens a door into one of Barcelona's darkest secrets--an epic story of murder, madness, and doomed love. The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco; William Weaver (Translator); Richard Dixon (Translator) Call Number: Stacks 853 E19nxw ISBN: 9780151446476 Publication Date: 1983-06-09 Italy, 1347. While Brother William of Baskerville is investigating accusations of heresy at a wealthy abbey, his inquiries are disrupted by a series of bizarre deaths. Turning his practiced detective skills to finding the killer, he relies on logic (Aristotle), theology (Thomas Aquinas), empirical insights (Roger Bacon), and his own wry humor and ferocious curiosity. With the aid of his young apprentice, William scours the abbey, from its stables to the labyrinthine library, piecing together evidence, and deciphering cryptic symbols and coded manuscripts to uncover the truth about this place where "the most interesting things happen at night." First published in 1980, The Name of the Rose became an international sensation, beguiling readers around the world with its mix of history, humor, and intellectual heft. Collected Fictions by Jorge Luis Borges (Preface by); Andrew Hurley (Translator) Call Number: Stacks 863 B732cf ISBN: 9780670849703 Publication Date: 1998-09-01 Jorge Luis Borges has been called the greatest Spanish-language writer of our century. Now for the first time in English, all of Borges' dazzling fictions are gathered into a single volume, brilliantly translated by Andrew Hurley. From his 1935 debut with "The Universal History of Iniquity," through his immensely influential collections Ficciones and The Aleph, these enigmatic, elaborate, imaginative inventions display Borges' talent for turning fiction on its head by playing with form and genre and toying with language. Together these incomparable works comprise the perfect one-volume compendium all those who have long loved Borges, and a superb introduction to the master's work for those who have yet to discover this singular genius. Come for "The Library of Babel" and stay for the rest of his stories. BiblioTech by John Palfrey Call Number: Stacks 020.285 P159b 2015 ISBN: 9780465042999 Publication Date: 2015-05-05 Libraries today are more important than ever. More than just book repositories, libraries can become bulwarks against some of the most crucial challenges of our age: unequal access to education, jobs, and information. In BiblioTech, educator and technology expert John Palfrey argues that anyone seeking to participate in the 21st century needs to understand how to find and use the vast stores of information available online. And libraries, which play a crucial role in making these skills and information available, are at risk. In order to survive our rapidly modernizing world and dwindling government funding, libraries must make the transition to a digital future as soon as possible -- by digitizing print material and ensuring that born-digital material is publicly available online. Not all of these changes will be easy for libraries to implement. But as Palfrey boldly argues, these modifications are vital if we hope to save libraries and, through them, the American democratic ideal. Library by Matthew Battles Call Number: Stacks 027.009 B336L 2015 ISBN: 9780393351453 Publication Date: 2015-07-27 Through the ages, libraries have not only accumulated and preserved but also shaped, inspired, and obliterated knowledge. Now they are in crisis. Former rare books librarian and Harvard metaLAB visionary Matthew Battles takes us from Boston to Baghdad, from classical scriptoria to medieval monasteries and on to the Information Age, to explore how libraries are built and how they are destroyed: from the scroll burnings in ancient China to the burning of libraries in Europe and Bosnia to the latest revolutionary upheavals of the digital age. A new afterword elucidates how knowledge is preserved amid the creative destruction of twenty-first-century technology. Where Are All the Librarians of Color? by Rebecca Hankins (Editor); Miguel Juarez (Editor) Call Number: Stacks 027.709 W567 2015 ISBN: 9781936117833 Publication Date: 2016-01-20 This book offers a comprehensive look at the experiences of people of color after the recruitment is over, the diversity box is checked, and the statistics are reported. What are the retention, job satisfaction, and tenure experiences of librarians of color? The authors look at the history of librarians of color in academia, review of the literature, obstacles, roles, leadership, and the tenure process for those that endure. What are the recruitment and retention methods employed to create a diverse workforce, successes and failures? Finally what are some mentoring strategies that work to make the library environment less exploitative and toxic for librarians of color? The Library at Night by Alberto Manguel Call Number: Stacks 027 M277L 2006 ISBN: 9780300139143 Publication Date: 2008-04-29 Inspired by the process of creating a library for his fifteenth-century home near the Loire, in France, Alberto Manguel, the acclaimed writer on books and reading, has taken up the subject of libraries. “Libraries,” he says, “have always seemed to me pleasantly mad places, and for as long as I can remember I’ve been seduced by their labyrinthine logic.” In this personal, deliberately unsystematic, and wide-ranging book, he offers a captivating meditation on the meaning of libraries. Manguel, a guide of irrepressible enthusiasm, conducts a unique library tour that extends from his childhood bookshelves to the “complete” libraries of the Internet, from Ancient Egypt and Greece to the Arab world, from China and Rome to Google. He ponders the doomed library of Alexandria as well as the personal libraries of Charles Dickens, Jorge Luis Borges, and others. He recounts stories of people who have struggled against tyranny to preserve freedom of thought—the Polish librarian who smuggled books to safety as the Nazis began their destruction of Jewish libraries; the Afghani bookseller who kept his store open through decades of unrest. Oral “memory libraries” kept alive by prisoners, libraries of banned books, the imaginary library of Count Dracula, the library of books never written—Manguel illuminates the mysteries of libraries as no other writer could. With scores of wonderful images throughout, The Library at Night is a fascinating voyage through Manguel’s mind, memory, and vast knowledge of books and civilizations. You Could Look It Up by Jack Lynch Call Number: Stacks 028.709 L987y 2016 ISBN: 9780802777522 Publication Date: 2016-04-21 "Knowledge is of two kinds," said Samuel Johnson in 1775. "We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information upon it." Today we think of Wikipedia as the source of all information, the ultimate reference. Yet it is just the latest in a long line of aggregated knowledge--reference works that have shaped the way we've seen the world for centuries. You Could Look It Up chronicles the captivating stories behind these great works and their contents, and the way they have influenced each other. From The Code of Hammurabi, the earliest known compendium of laws in ancient Babylon almost two millennia before Christ to Pliny's Natural History; from the 11th-century Domesday Book recording land holdings in England to Abraham Ortelius's first atlas of the world; from Samuel Johnson's A Dictionary of the English Language to The Whole Earth Catalog to Google, Jack Lynch illuminates the human stories and accomplishment behind each, as well as its enduring impact on civilization. In the process, he offers new insight into the value of knowledge. Down Cut Shin Creek: the pack horse librarians of Kentucky by Kathi Appelt; Jeanne Cannella Schmitzer Call Number: Stacks 027.076 A646d ISBN: 9780060291358 Publication Date: 2001-04-24 It's 4:30 in the morning, and the "book woman" and her horse are already on their way. Hers is an important job, for the folks along her treacherous route are eager for the tattered books and magazines she carries in her saddlebags. During the Great Depression, thousands lived on the brink of starvation. Many perished. In 1935 President Franklin D. Roosevelt created the Works Progress Administration under his 1933 New Deal initiative. The WPA was designed to get people back on their feet. One of its most innovative programs was the Pack Horse Library Project of Eastern Kentucky. Thoroughly researched and illustrated with period photographs, this is the story of one of the WPA's greatest successes. People all over the country supported the project's goals. But it was the librarians themselves -- young, determined, and earning just $28 a month -- who brought the hope of a wider world to people in the crooks and hollows of Kentucky's Cumberland Mountains. The Library by Andrew Pettegree; Arthur der Weduwen Call Number: Stacks 027.009 P499L 2021 ISBN: 9781541600775 Publication Date: 2021-11-09 Perfect for book lovers, this is a fascinating exploration of the history of libraries and the people who built them, from the ancient world to the digital age. Famed across the known world, jealously guarded by private collectors, built up over centuries, destroyed in a single day, ornamented with gold leaf and frescoes, or filled with bean bags and children's drawings--the history of the library is rich, varied, and stuffed full of incident. In The Library, historians Andrew Pettegree and Arthur der Weduwen introduce us to the antiquarians and philanthropists who shaped the world's great collections, trace the rise and fall of literary tastes, and reveal the high crimes and misdemeanors committed in pursuit of rare manuscripts. In doing so, they reveal that while collections themselves are fragile, often falling into ruin within a few decades, the idea of the library has been remarkably resilient as each generation makes--and remakes--the institution anew. Beautifully written and deeply researched, The Library is essential reading for booklovers, collectors, and anyone who has ever gotten blissfully lost in the stacks. Reading Rooms by Susan A. Toth Call Number: Stacks 820.803 R287 ISBN: 9780385412919 Publication Date: 1991-03-01 America's foremost writers celebrate our public libraries with stories, memoirs, essays, and poems. ...

New Additions to the Graphic Novel Collection!

Leave a comment

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.

If you do not have an account, Register Now.

New Additions to the Graphic Novel Collection!

Leave a comment

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please login here and try again.

If you do not have an account, Register Now.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.