Research Assistance
Resources
Services
Berea College
Special Collections and Archives is pleased to announce the following events for Fall 2022.
The exhibit "Works of Art on the Art of Quilting."
When: Now through October 28, 2022.
Where: Special Collections and Archives (lower level of Hutchins Library).
Description: This exhibit features twenty prints published by the Work Projects Administration (WPA) in 1937 as part of the New Deal economic recovery program during the Great Depression. The prints illustrate historic quilt block patterns and then deconstruct them so that the designs can be appreciated and appropriated by quilters. 2022 is the 85th anniversary of their printing. All exhibit visitors are invited to vote on their favorite pattern.
The exhibit website is https://scaexhibits.omeka.net/exhibits/show/wpaquilts.
St. John's Bible Tours
When: Every Monday at 2:00 PM through December 12, 2022, holidays excepted.
Where: Meet in the Hutchins Library Foyer.
Description: This free weekly tour allows participants to encounter volumes of the St. John’s Bible directly so that their artistry can be studied close-up.
Pre-registration is required at least 2 hours in advance. To register for this experience, visit https://bctrace.com/explore/.
Tours of Special Collections Books on Quilts and Quilting
When: Every Friday at 2:00 PM through December 16, 2022, holidays excepted.
Where: Meet in the Hutchins Library Foyer.
Description: This free weekly tour will view the exhibit Works of Art on the Art of Quilting. The group will then visit the Special Collections and Archives reading room to view selected Special Collections books on quilts and quilting.
Pre-registration is required at least 2 hours in advance. To register for this experience, visit https://bctrace.com/explore/.
For further information, you can contact Tim Binkley, Head of Special Collections and Archives, via e-mail at binkleyt@berea.edu or via phone at 859-985-3267.
Research Assistance
Resources
Services
Berea College
0 Comments.