Reference Book of the Month: Black women in America : a historical encyclopedia
by Unknown User on 2020-02-03T09:00:00-05:00 | 0 CommentsFebruary's reference book of the month is Black women in America : an historical encyclopedia.The description provided below is from Amazon:
Provides 614 biographical and 163 topical essays discussing the important roles Black women have played in American history.
~ Recommended for students majoring in African American Studies as well as Women and Gender Studies~
Black Women in America by
ISBN: 0926019619
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Christians speak of “being saved,” but all too oftendon’t follow the phrase to its logical reply: “Savedfrom what?” How do we answer this question when we share thegospel with others? Far from being a matter of semantics, the issueholds critical importance for believers and non-believers alike. Isit really sufficientto say that we are saved from oursins? R. C. Sproul uses Scripture to show that the question, in itsmost important sense, should be phrased, “Saved fromwhom?” The answer: God himself. God, in righteous wrath,stands against us in our sin. But the glory of the gospel is thatthe one from whom we need to be saved is the very one who saves us.It is when we truly grasp the significance of Christ’sredeeming work that we begin to understand the serious demands andjoys of repentance. Thoughtful readers will be strengthened andchallenged by this insightful volume. Now available inpaperback.
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
Recent Posts
Remembering and learning about Pope Francis (1936-2025)
April 6 to April 12 2025 is National Library Week. Here are some books about libraries and librarians
Celebrating Women's History Month in 2025
As we close Black History Month for 2025, some more books to read now and year round
A few more books for Black History Month 2025: Biographies
Subscribe
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
Archive
Subjects
Abolitionists /Antislavery Movement
African & African American Studies
African American Music
African Americans
Agriculture & Natural Resources
Appalachian Region
Appalachian Studies
Art & Art History
Arts & Crafts
Asian Studies
Authors / Literature
Awards, Honors, & Recognition
bell hooks
Berea College
Berea College Student Music Performances
Berea Sound Archives
Biographies
Biology
Business Administration
Campus Christian Center
Center for Excellence in Learning through Service (CELTS)
Chemistry
Child & Family Studies
Civil Rights / Race Relations
Dance
Economics
Education / Schools
Education Studies
Educational Technology
English
Environmental Issues
Faculty & Staff
Film Production & Studies
Folklore / Folktales / Storytelling
Foodways / Cookbooks
Forestry
General Studies: GSTR310
Graphic Novels
Health and Human Performance
History
Honorary Degree Recipients
Hutchins Library
Labor Program
Latinx Studies
Librarianship
Mathematics
Music
Music - Appalachian Region
Nursing
Office of the Academic Vice President
Oral Histories and Interviews
Organizations - Local / Regional
Peace & Social Justice Studies
Philosophy
Photograph Collections
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health / Health Care
Religion
Religious Expression
Social Life and Customs
Sociology
Special Collections & Archives
Spotlight on...
Sustainability & Environmental Studies
Technology & Applied Design
Technology in Education
Theatre
Wellness
Women's & Gender Studies
Zines
Return to Blog
0 Comments.