Hutchins Library will be closed from 7/9/16 until 7/17/16 for a planned power outage due to necessary electrical repairs.
Even though the Library is closed, we will have a temporary location housed in the TRC's Training Room, where we will continue to offer limited services from 8am - 5pm, Monday 7/11 through Friday 7/15. These services include:
Reference will be providing research assistance in-person, via email, and via phone
Circulation will continue to circulate library materials
Special Collections and Archives will answer questions via email
The “Active Learning Open Lab” will have an iMac station available
Find out more about these services below.
Active Learning Open Lab
The “Active Learning Open Lab” will also be impacted by the library closure. During the closure, an iMac station will be available will be available in the TRC's Training Room from 8am-5pm, Monday 7/11 through Friday 7/15.
The station will provide access to specialized software programs needed to complete classroom projects in video creation. The “Open Lab” consultants will also be available if you need assistance.
Checking Out Materials During the Closure
Do you have a question? We have answers! Search the box below for many of our most frequently asked questions and answers.
Didn't find what you were looking for? Feel free to call us at (859)985-3109, submit an email to us using the form below, or visit us at our temporary location in the TRC's Training Room, where we will be located from 8am-5pm, Monday 7/11 through Friday 7/15.
Special Collections and Archives
The library closure will also impact Special Collections and Archives. During the period 7/7/16 - 7/19/16, Special Collections and Archives will be physically closed, but will continue to respond to email inquiries. If you need their assistance, email them at: firstname.lastname@example.org