How to Use this Guide
Welcome to our GSTR210 Library Guide, co-developed by Amanda Peach, Assistant Director of Library Services, and Dr. Nichols. In the links below, you’ll find sets of starting resources and books to help you begin exploring your topic. They are intended to help jumpstart the research process as we move through a condensed semester, but you will have to hunt down your own relevant sources as well; the “Accessing Books” and “Keyword Searching” sections will be relevant to these efforts. The course will help you develop the necessary research skills as we go, but use this page as a guide throughout the course.
Need more help finding resources? You can meet with a research librarian at any time by scheduling a research consultation. You will be required to have at least one research consultation for Major Assignment #2.
Background Information
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library offers a wide variety of full-text interdisciplinary content on virtually any subject area to support assignments, papers, projects, and presentations. Includes the Scribner Writers Series.
Anthologies to Explore
American English by Call Number: 427.973 W861a 2006 - Circulating (3rd Floor)This book provides a very readable, up-to-date description of language variation in American English, covering regional, ethnic, and gender-based differences. It contains new chapters on social and ethnic dialects, including a separate chapter on African American English and more comprehensive discussions of Latino, Native American, Cajun English, and other varieties, includes samples from a wider array of US regions features updated chapters as well as pedagogy such as new exercises, a phonetic symbols key, and a section on the notion of speech community accessibly written for the wide variety of students that enroll in a course on dialects, ranging from students with no background in linguistics to those who may wish to specialize in sociolinguistics
Bad Ideas about Writing by Call Number: ebookThe entries in this book cohere around eight major categories of bad ideas about writing that are tied to the production, circulation, cultural use of, evaluation, and teaching of writing in multiple ways. The categories are bad ideas about:
• The features of good writing
• What makes good writers
• How grammar and style should be understood
• Which techniques or processes produce good writing
• Particular genres and occasions for writing
• How writing should be assessed
• How technology impacts writing
• Teachers of writing
English with an Accent by Call Number: 306.4409 L765e 1997 - Circulating (3rd floor)In this bestselling textbook, Rosina Lippi-Green scrutinizes American attitudes towards language. Using examples drawn from a variety of contexts: the classroom, the court, the media and corporate culture, she exposes the way in which discrimination based on accent functions to support and perpetuate social structures and unequal power relations. English with an Accent: focuses on language variation linked to geography and social identity looks at how the media and the entertainment industry work to promote linguistic stereotyping examines how employers discriminate on the basis of accent reveals how the judicial system protects the status quo and reinforces language subordination This fascinating and highly readable book forces us to acknowledge the ways in which language is used to discriminate.
Journals to Explore
What is an academic journal? An academic or scholarly journal is a periodical publication in which scholarship relating to a particular academic discipline is published. Academic journals serve as permanent and transparent forums for the presentation, scrutiny, and discussion of research. They are usually peer-reviewed or refereed and are typically accessed through library databases, although some are available freely (or open-source) on the internet.
Below are three specific journals recommended by your professor.
Recommended Databases
In library research, a database is where you find journal articles. Each database contains thousands of articles which you can search for simultaneously and quickly to find articles with higher relevancy than searching in individual journals.
Here are 3 great databases to consider searching within:
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- JSTOR Collections This link opens in a new windowJSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes over one thousand leading academic journals and thousands of e-books across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch™, the current file, covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
African American Language and Culture
- Examining Instructional Practices, Intellectual Challenge, and Supports for African American Student WritersAlston, Chandra L. “Examining Instructional Practices, Intellectual Challenge, and Supports for African American Student Writers.” Research in the Teaching of English, vol. 47, no. 2, National Council of Teachers of English, 2012, pp. 112–44.
link to full-text of article
African American English and the Achievement Gap: The Role of Dialectal Code Switching by Call Number: 371.829 C886a 2018 - Circulating (3rd Floor)Many African American children make use of African American English (AAE) in their everyday lives, and face academic barriers when introduced to Standard American English (SAE) in the classroom. Research has shown that students who can adapt and use SAE for academic purposes demonstrate significantly better test scores than their less adaptable peers. Accordingly, AAE use and its confirmed inverse relationship to reading achievement have been implicated in the Black-White Test Score Gap, thus becoming the focus of intense research and practical interest.
Writing Centers and the New Racism by Call Number: ebookGreenfield, Laura, and Karen Rowan. Writing Centers and the New Racism : A Call for Sustainable Dialogue and Change. Utah State University Press, 2011.
- Code-Switching Pedagogies and African American Student Voices: Acceptance and ResistanceHill, K. Dara. “Code-Switching Pedagogies and African American Student Voices: Acceptance and Resistance.” Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy, vol. 53, no. 2, 2009, pp. 120–31.
link to full-text of article
The Oxford Handbook of African American Language by Call Number: 427.973 O984 2015CTL --Writing Resources -- Ground FloorThe goal of The Oxford Handbook of African American Language is to provide readers with a wide range of analyses of both traditional and contemporary work on language use in African American communities in a broad collective. The Handbook offers a survey of language and its uses in AfricanAmerican communities from a wide range of contexts organized into seven sections: Origins and Historical Perspectives; Lects and Variation; Structure and Description; Child Language Acquisition and Development; Education; Language in Society; and Language and Identity. It is a handbook of researchon African American Language (AAL) and, as such, provides a variety of scholarly perspectives that may not align with each other - as is indicative of most scholarly research.The chapters in this book "interact" with one another as contributors frequently refer the reader to further elaboration on and references to related issues and connect their own research to related topics in other chapters within their own sections and the handbook more generally to create dialogueabout AAL, thus affirming the need for collaborative thinking about the issues in AAL research. Though the Handbook does not and cannot include every area of research, it is meant to provide suggestions for future work on lesser-studied areas (e.g., variation/heterogeneity in regional, social, andethnic communities) by highlighting a need for collaborative perspectives and innovative thinking while reasserting the need for better research and communication in areas thought to be resolved.
Talkin That Talk by Call Number: 427.973 S664ta 2000 - Circulating (3rd Floor)A highly readable collection of key articles and essays by a leading scholar on African American language and politics. Discussing the inter-relationship between African American language, culture and education, Talkin' that Talk is divided into sections, each introduced by the author, which include: * African American language and education * Language theory, research and the Black intellectual tradition * Black language and culture * Black women's discourse * Language policy and global multilingualism.
- Online Resources for African American LanguageThe Online Resources for African American Language (ORAAL) project seeks to bring together information and resources about language in the African American community, for educators, researchers, and the public.
Appalachian English and Culture
Talking Appalachian by Call Number: ebookTradition, community, and pride are fundamental aspects of the history of Appalachia, and the language of the region is a living testament to its rich heritage. Despite the persistence of unflattering stereotypes and cultural discrimination associated with their style of speech, Appalachians have organized to preserve regional dialects -- complex forms of English peppered with words, phrases, and pronunciations unique to the area and its people. Talking Appalachian examines these distinctive speech varieties and emphasizes their role in expressing local history and promoting a shared identity. Beginning with a historical and geographical overview of the region that analyzes the origins of its dialects, this volume features detailed research and local case studies investigating their use. The contributors explore a variety of subjects, including the success of African American Appalachian English and southern Appalachian English speakers in professional and corporate positions. In addition, editors Amy D. Clark and Nancy M. Hayward provide excerpts from essays, poetry, short fiction, and novels to illustrate usage. With contributions from well-known authors such as George Ella Lyon and Silas House, this balanced collection is the most comprehensive, accessible study of Appalachian language available today.
- Honoring Dialect and Culture: Pathways to Student Success on High-Stakes Writing AssessmentsCrotteau, Michelle. “Honoring Dialect and Culture: Pathways to Student Success on High-Stakes Writing Assessments.” English Journal, vol. 96, no. 4, 2007.
link to full-text of article
- "Real Ways of Talking" and School Talking: One Appalachian Student's Perception of Teacher Discourse During Writing Conferences"Real Ways of Talking" and School Talking: One Appalachian Student's Perception of Teacher Discourse During Writing Conferences. Reading Horizons: A Journal of Literacy and Language Arts, 43 (2). Retrieved from https://scholarworks.wmich.edu/reading_horizons/vol43/iss2/1.
full-text of article
Rereading Appalachia by Call Number: 302.224 R428 2015 - - Circulating (3rd Floor)Appalachia faces overwhelming challenges that plague many rural areas across the country, including poorly funded schools, stagnant economic development, corrupt political systems, poverty, and drug abuse. Its citizens, in turn, have often been the target of unkind characterizations depicting them as illiterate or backward. Despite entrenched social and economic disadvantages, the region is also known for its strong sense of culture, language, and community. In this innovative volume, a multidisciplinary team of both established and rising scholars challenge Appalachian stereotypes through an examination of language and rhetoric. Together, the contributors offer a new perspective on Appalachia and its literacy, hoping to counteract essentialist or class-based arguments about the region's people, and reexamine past research in the context of researcher bias. Featuring a mix of traditional scholarship and personal narratives, Rereading Appalachia assesses a number of pressing topics, including the struggles of first-generation college students and the pressure to leave the area in search of higher-quality jobs, prejudice toward the LGBT community, and the emergence of Appalachian and Affrilachian art in urban communities. The volume also offers rich historical perspectives on issues such as the intended and unintended consequences of education activist Cora Wilson Stewart's campaign to promote literacy at the Kentucky Moonlight Schools. A call to arms for those studying the heritage and culture of Appalachia, this timely collection provides fresh perspectives on the region, its people, and their literacy beliefs and practices.
Bilingualism
Discourse and Practice of Bilingualism: Contemporary Ukraine and Russia/Tatarstan. by
Call Number: ebookDiscourse and Practice of Bilingualism present the results of an international sociolinguistic project which compared bi- and multilingual situations in present-day Ukraine and Russia.
Four Words for Friend: Why Using More Than One Language Matters Now More Than Ever. by
Call Number: ebookA compelling argument about the importance of using more than one language in today's world. In a world that has English as its global language and rapidly advancing translation technology, it's easy to assume that the need to use more than one language will diminish-but Marek Kohn argues that plural language use is more important than ever. In a divided world, it helps us to understand ourselves and others better, to live together better, and to make the most of our various cultures.
The Psychology of Bilingualism: A Conversation with Ellen Bialystok. by
Call Number: ebookThis book is based on an in-depth conversation with Ellen Bialystok, Professor of Psychology at York University. Ellen Bialystok is a world-leading expert on the effects of bilingualism on cognitive processes across our lifespan. This conversation examines how Bialystok discovered differences in the development of essential cognitive and language abilities for bilingual children, the use of different brain networks by monolingual and bilingual young adults performing simple conflict tasks, and the postponement of symptoms of dementia in bilingual older adults, and many more important aspects of bilingualism
“Spanish-Speakers and Bilingualism.” Films On Demand, Films Media Group, 1992, https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=105099&xtid=3391. Accessed 11 Jan. 2023.
** streaming video **
- Two is better than one: bilingual education promotes the flexible mindChristoffels, Ingrid, et al. “Two Is Better than One: Bilingual Education Promotes the Flexible Mind.” Psychological Research, vol. 79, no. 3, May 2015, pp. 371–79. EBSCOhost.
**link to full-text of article**
Codeswitching/Codemeshing
Other People's English by Call Number: 428.007 Y77o 2018 - CTL--Writing Resources (Ground Floor)Other People's English: Code-Meshing, Code-Switching, and African American Literacy presents an empirically grounded argument for a new approach to teaching writing to diverse students in the English language arts classroom. Responding to advocates of the "code-switching" approach, four uniquely qualified authors make the case for "code-meshing"--allowing students to use standard English, African American English, and other Englishes in formal academic writing and classroom discussions.
- Code-Switching and Contrastive Analysis: Tools of Language and Culture Transform the Dialectically Diverse ClassroomWheeler, Rebecca, and Rachel Swords. “Code-Switching and Contrastive Analysis: Tools of Language and Culture Transform the Dialectically Diverse Classroom.” Social Diversity Within Multiliteracies: Complexity in Teaching and Learning, Routledge, 2015, pp. 110–26.
full-text of book chapter
- Should Writers Use They Own English?Young, Vershawn Ashanti. “Should Writers Use They Own English?” In Writing Centers and the New Racism: a Call for Sustainable Dialogue and Change, 2011, p.61-74
link to full-text of article
More Englishes
Spanglish
- "Spanglish" as Literacy Tool: Toward an Understanding of the Potential Role of Spanish-English Code-Switching in the Development of Academic LiteracyMartínez, Ramón Antonio. “‘Spanglish’ as Literacy Tool: Toward an Understanding of the Potential Role of Spanish-English Code-Switching in the Development of Academic Literacy.” Research in the Teaching of English, vol. 45, no. 2, 2010, pp. 124–149. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40997087.
link to full-text article
- Spanglish: The Hybrid Voice of Latinos in the United StatesCasielles-Suárez, Eugenia. “Spanglish: The Hybrid Voice of Latinos in the United States.” Atlantis, vol. 39, no. 2, 2017, pp. 147–168. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26426334. Accessed 16 Dec. 2020.
link to full-text article
- On so-called SpanglishOtheguy, Ricardo, and Nancy Stern. "On so-called Spanglish." International Journal of Bilingualism 15.1 (2011): 85-100.
full-text of article
Pidgin and Creole Languages
- Da State of Pidgin AddressLee A. Tonouchi. “Da State of Pidgin Address.” College English, vol. 67, no. 1, 2004, pp. 75–82. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4140726.
link to full-text article
Pidgins and Creoles Beyond Africa-Europe Encounters by Call Number: ebookMost of what we know about pidgin and creole languages is the result of research into contact languages that developed as a consequence of European expansion into Africa and the Caribbean. The narrow focus on European lexifier and West African substrate languages has resulted in insufficient investigation of other contact varieties. Even more perniciously, lesser known and often under-described contact languages have not been taken into consideration when formulating supposedly general tendencies about the linguistic properties of contact languages. This volume aims to give a platform to research on the history, genesis, and typology of a number of non-European language-based contact languages.
World Englishes
Modelling World Englishes: A Joint Approach to Postcolonial and Non-Postcolonial Varieties by Call Number: ebookThis book brings together two types of varieties of English that have so far been treated separately: postcolonial and non-postcolonial Englishes. It examines these varieties of English against the backdrop of current World Englishes theory, with a special focus on the extra- and Intra-Territorial Forces (EIF) Model.
World Englishes at the Grassroots by Call Number: ebookExplores the growth of Englishes in a range of multilingual contexts.
World Englishes - Problems, Properties and Prospects by Call Number: ebookWorld Englishes is a vibrant research field that has attracted scholars from many different linguistic subdisciplines. Emphasizing the common ground of all research on World Englishes, the 22 articles in this collected volume, selected from more than a hundred papers presented at the 2007 conference of the International Association for World Englishes in Regensburg, cover a broad range of topics which together reflect the state of the art of research in this field. The volume focuses on regions as diverse as Africa, the Caribbean, the Antipodes and Asia, but also promotes a globally comparative perspective by analyzing selected characteristics of the English language across a wide range of varieties.
Teaching and Language Equity
- Critical Language Pedagogy in an Urban High School English ClassGodley, Amanda J., and Angela Minnici. “Critical Language Pedagogy in an Urban High School English Class.” Urban Education, vol. 43, no. 3, SAGE Publications Inc, Mar. 2008, pp. 319–46, doi:10.1177/0042085907311801.
full-text of article
Culturally Sustaining Pedagogies by Call Number: 370.117 C968 2017CTL --Writing Resources -- Ground FloorCulturally Sustaining Pedagogies raises fundamental questions about the purpose of schooling in changing societies. Bringing together an intergenerational group of prominent educators and researchers, this volume engages and extends the concept of culturally sustaining pedagogy (CSP)--teaching that perpetuates and fosters linguistic, literate, and cultural pluralism as part of schooling for positive social transformation. The authors propose that schooling should be a site for sustaining the cultural practices of communities of color, rather than eradicating them.
- Teachers’ Beliefs About English Language Learners in the Mainstream Classroom: A Review of the LiteraturePettit, Stacie Kae. “Teachers’ Beliefs About English Language Learners in the Mainstream Classroom: A Review of the Literature.” International Multilingual Research Journal, vol. 5, no. 2, Routledge, July 2011, pp. 123–47, doi:10.1080/19313152.2011.594357.
link to full-text article
Working-Class Students and Language
- Playing the Game: "Proficient Working-Class Student Writer's Second Voices"Ashley, Hannah. “Playing the Game: ‘Proficient Working-Class Student Writer's Second Voices.’” Research in the Teaching of English, vol. 35, no. 4, 2001, pp. 493–524., www.jstor.org/stable/40171522.
link to full-text article
- Marinara, M. (1997). When working class students "do" the academy: How we negotiate with alternative literacies. Journal of Basic Writing, 16, 3-16.Marinara, M. (1997). Marinara, M. (1997). When working class students "do" the academy: How we negotiate with alternative literacies. Journal of Basic Writing, 16, 3-16.. Journal of Basic Writing, 16, 3-16.
full-text of article
Accessing Books
How do you find books at Hutchins?
If you want to search for books other than those listed in this guide, you will need to look in BANC, our online catalog. The link to it is available below:
- BANC Basic SearchHere's a link to the library catalog
Keyword Searching
Step 1: Check out this video about searching with keywords
Step 2: Practice generating keywords for your topic by considering synonyms and related terms.
Keep in mind that there are many different ways to talk about an issue and that terms can grow outdated.
See this example:
| Original keyword: | Alternate keyword # 1 | Alternate keyword # 2 | Alternate keyword # 3 | Alternate keyword # 4 |
|
African-American Vernacular |
AAVE (an acronym for the original term) |
Black English | African-American Language (or AAL, the acronym for the same) |
Ebonics (an outdated and controversial term) |
