This is the "Sound Preservation & Access" page of the "Berea Sound Archives - Sound Preservation & Access" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Berea Sound Archives - Sound Preservation & Access  

Learn how Berea College Special Collections & Archives makes legacy audio formats available for students, researchers, and the world.
Last Updated: Jul 3, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.berea.edu/soundpreservation Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Sound Preservation & Access Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Us

For more information about the Sound Archive or access to our collection don't hesitate to contact us directly:

Harry Rice
Sound Archivist
859-985-3249

John H. Bondurant
Sound Preservation
& Access Specialist

Special Collections & Archives
859-985-3262

Sound Preservation and Access

The sound recordings preservation and access program at Berea College's Hutchins Library began in 2006.

The program's focus is on Berea's collections of noncommercial recordings that document Appalachian history and culture and the history of Berea College. The recordings are especially strong in the areas of traditional music, religious expression, folklore, radio programs, College events, and oral history. Preserving these one-of-a-kind recordings is an urgent need because the open reel and cassette tape on which they are recorded is nearing the point of being unplayable due to age and scarceness of proper playback equipment.

In accomplishing the task of accurately and reliably preserving the recordings for the very long term, the program is guided by the recommendations of the International Association of Sound and Audiovisual Archives as set forth in IASA-TC04 Guidelines on the Production and Preservation of Digital Audio Objects: Standards, Recommended Practices, and Strategies.

Key elements of Berea’s preservation and access efforts include converting the original recordings to high resolution digital files, providing CD listening copies for Library use, and storing the digital files on a dedicated server which is backed up at remote locations. A searchable online database of collection contents and selected audio files are available through Hutchins Library’s Sound Archives Search Page.

      

    Sound Preservation & Access Specialist

    Profile Image
    John H. Bondurant
    Contact Info
    Special Collections & Archives
    office: 859-985-3389
    email: bondurantj@berea.edu
    Send Email
     

    Audio Highlight

    Philip Kazee

    Philip Kazee - Magoffin County, Kentucky
    "I Won't Marry At All," 10-29-1982.
    Celebration of Traditional Music Collection, RG 11.08
    (AC-OR-005-219-03)


    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip