Traditional MusicRadio ProgramsReligious ExpressionBerea College Oral HistoriesAppalachian Region Oral HistoriesBerea College Campus EventsSpoken Lore
Traditional Music ResourcesRadio Programs ResourcesReligious Expression Resources
This is the "Sound Archives Guide Home" page of the "Berea Sound Archives Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Berea Sound Archives Guide  

Unique and non-commercial sound and video collections documenting Berea College and the Southern Appalachian region.
Last Updated: Sep 4, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.berea.edu/soundarchivesguide Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Sound Archives Guide Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Us

For more information about the Sound Archive or access to our collection don't hesitate to contact us directly:

Harry Rice
Sound Archivist
859-985-3249

John H. Bondurant
Sound Preservation
& Access Specialist

Special Collections & Archives
859-985-3262

Other Library Multimedia

Not what you were looking for?

We focus on rare materials and obsolete formats.  To find more readily available commercial movies and albums in the library search the Hutchins Library Catalog (BANC).

      
     

    Berea Sound Archives

    Berea's non-commercial audio and video collections document Appalachian history and culture, and the history of Berea College. They are especially strong in the areas of traditional music, religious expression, spoken lore, radio programs, oral history, and College events and personalities. These collections include field recordings from homes and churches, local and regional folk festivals, student performances, presentations of notable scholars, preachers, and social activists who have visited Berea.

    An ongoing digitization effort is making these audio and video recordings readily available to faculty, students, and the public in Hutchins Library’s Department of Special Collections and Archives.  Many of these collections have online finding aids. A large and growing sampling of traditional music audio performances are available on line through the Sound Archives search page. Performance video and complete oral history recordings are available on line as well.

     

    Sound Archives Search

     

    Video Highlights

     

    Audio Highlight

    Bradley Kincaid

    Bradley Kincaid - Garrard County, Kentucky
    "Barbara Allen (Child #84)," 1974 Celebration of Traditional Music
    (AC-OR-005-001-T3-01)

     

    About Subject Guides

    Sound Archives subject guides outline the audio and manuscript collections you can use to research different subjects. 

    Collections are listed by title and collection number.  Some have only a brief catalog record while others will link to more comprehensive Special Collections finding aids. 

    Contact us for more information about collections that interest you.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip