This is the "Historical Radio Broadcasts Collections" page of the "Berea Sound Archives Historical Radio Broadcasts Collections Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Berea Sound Archives Historical Radio Broadcasts Collections Guide  

Last Updated: Feb 23, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.berea.edu/radio Print Guide Email Alerts

Historical Radio Broadcasts Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Us

For more information about the Sound Archive or access to our collection don't hesitate to contact us directly:

Harry Rice
Sound Archivist
859-985-3249

John H. Bondurant
Sound Preservation
& Access Specialist

Special Collections & Archives
859-985-3262

Other Library Multimedia

Not what you were looking for?

We focus on rare materials and obsolete formats.  To find more readily available commercial movies and albums in the library search the Hutchins Library Catalog (BANC).

      

    Historical Radio Broadcasts Collections

    radio boys
    Going beyond the limitations of words on paper, these rare recordings make possible hearing in the present the same accents, emotions, and issues that entertained and informed a past generation.

    • WHAS Radio Historical Collection, HC 41  
        
      Louisville's WHAS and the CBS network, 1936 to the mid 1950s, document a wide range of state, national, and world political figures and news events.
    • John Lair Papers 1930-1984, SAA 66  
        
      John Lee Lair, a pioneer Kentucky country music broadcaster, music collector, and community historian. They consist mainly of business correspondence, radio listener mail, photographs, radio program scripts, and broadcast recordings. Also included are printed promotional material, news clippings, performer repertoire lists, and oral history transcripts.
    • Asa Martin Collection, SAA 115
      Audio material includes taped copies of his commercial recordings from the 20s and 30s and original recordings of 1970’s era radio programs featuring Martin and his band, the Cumberland Rangers that were broadcast by WIRV in Irvine, Kentucky. Also included are several audio recorded interviews with Martin.
    • Asher and Little Jimmie Sizemore Radio Program Reference Collection, SAA 143
      This collection documents early country music performers Asher Sizemore and his son, James L. "Little Jimmie" Sizemore. It includes photographs, songbooks, and audio recordings of 18 fifteen minute radio programs dating from 1936 that were copied from radio station recording discs.
     

    Audio Highlight

    Homer Ledford

    Homer Ledford and the Cabin Creek Band - Stanton, Kentucky
    "There's A Bluebird Singing," Kentucky Traditions radio program, WSKV
    (HL-OR-001-001)

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip