This is the "Home" page of the "Weatherford-Hammond Mountain Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Weatherford-Hammond Mountain Collection   Tags: special collections & archives  

Started in 1914 as a separate collection in the Berea College Library, Berea's Mountain Collection of published works on the Appalachian region is a resource of great importance and significance.
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.berea.edu/mountain Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Book Collections in
Special Collections & Archives

Berea Collection
by Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
The Berea Collection brings together books, pamphlets and other printed sources dealing with the college and the Berea Community.
140 views this year
Curio (Rare Books)
by Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
The Curio (Rare Book) Collection consists of over 12,000 valuable books dating from the earliest period of printing in the 15th century to important first editions and beautifully illustrated books of the 20th century.
83 views this year
Curio Manuscript and Bible Facsimiles
by Sharyn Mitchell, Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
43 views this year
Shedd/Schwarzschild Abraham Lincoln Collection
by Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
The Shedd/Schwarzschild Abraham Lincoln Collection consists of over 1800 books and other materials.
48 views this year
Weatherford-Hammond Mountain Collection
by Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
Started in 1914 as a separate collection in the Berea College Library, Berea's Mountain Collection of published works on the Appalachian region is a resource of great importance and significance.
81 views this year
 

Weatherford-Hammond Mountain Collection

The Weatherford-Hammond Mountain Collection


Started in 1914 as a separate collection in the Berea College Library and given the name Weatherford-Hammond in 1964, Berea's Mountain Collection of published works on the Appalachian region is a resource of great importance and significance. A collection that cannot be easily duplicated, it is the pioneer or parent collection of printed sources and research materials on Southern Appalachia.

The collection was named after W.D Weatherford, Sr., who served Berea College for 50 years as a trustee, and his friend and co-sponsor William A. Hammond, a businessman from Xenia, Ohio. Through the endowed fund, which they established in 1964, the library seeks to acquire for this collection books and other printed materials on all aspects of the history and culture of the region, including both newly published and available out-of-print works. Today there are over 21,000 volumes in the collection.

The Weatherford-Hammond Mountain Collection is the oldest Appalachian collection in the world, and represents nearly a century of the College's efforts to collect and preserve Appalachian materials.

 

Search Library Catalog - Special Collections & Archives

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip