This is the "Overview" page of the "Shedd/Schwarzschild Abraham Lincoln Collection " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Shedd/Schwarzschild Abraham Lincoln Collection   Tags: special collections & archives  

The Shedd/Schwarzschild Abraham Lincoln Collection consists of over 1800 books and other materials.
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.berea.edu/lincoln Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 

Book Collections in
Special Collections & Archives

Berea Collection
by Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
The Berea Collection brings together books, pamphlets and other printed sources dealing with the college and the Berea Community.
92 views this year
Curio (Rare Books)
by Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
The Curio (Rare Book) Collection consists of over 12,000 valuable books dating from the earliest period of printing in the 15th century to important first editions and beautifully illustrated books of the 20th century.
58 views this year
Curio Manuscript and Bible Facsimiles
by Sharyn Mitchell, Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
29 views this year
Shedd/Schwarzschild Abraham Lincoln Collection
by Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
The Shedd/Schwarzschild Abraham Lincoln Collection consists of over 1800 books and other materials.
39 views this year
Weatherford-Hammond Mountain Collection
by Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
Started in 1914 as a separate collection in the Berea College Library, Berea's Mountain Collection of published works on the Appalachian region is a resource of great importance and significance.
66 views this year
 

Shedd/Schwarzschild Abraham Lincoln Collection

Berea’s collection of works on Abraham Lincoln began with a gift to the Library in 1935 of John A. Shedd Lincoln collection. Shedd, a New York attorney, was an avid collector of Lincolniana, and his estate bequeathed his collection to Berea College. In 2000, the Lincoln Collection of Henry Schwarzschild, a well-known civil-rights attorney, was added to the holdings in Special Collections. Schwarzschild’s important collection of printed works, government publications, and other contemporary pieces came to the College through the generosity of Berea alumna, Katherine Jett Schwarzschild, ’46.

The Shedd/Schwarzschild Abraham Lincoln Collection consists of over 1800 books and other materials. Included are Eastman Johnson’s famous picture of “The Boy Lincoln,” a gift to the College in 1908; two handsome bronze plaques; and an original Lincoln letter. An Abraham Lincoln Collection in Historical Collections includes numerous photographs, printed memorabilia, and other period pieces supplementing the book collection. New books about Lincoln are regularly added to the collection.

 

Search Library Catalog - Special Collections & Archives

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip