This is the "Historical Collections Overview" page of the "Historical Collections | Special Collections and Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Historical Collections | Special Collections and Archives   Tags: special collections & archives  

Historical Collections consist of material that document organizations and individuals with local, state, or national significance, but not related either to the Appalachian region or to Berea College.
Last Updated: Apr 30, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.berea.edu/hc Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Historical Collections Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Collections by Topic

 

Featured Historical Collection

The William Goodell Family Papers

The William Goodell Family Papers consist of correspondence, writings, sermons and addresses, diaries, and biographical material of William Goodell (prominent 19th century abolitionist and temperance reformer, 1792-1878), and his two daughters, Maria Goodell Frost  and Lavinia Goodell.

All of the archival materials in this collection may be accessed online through the Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice: 1490-2007 portal hosted by Adam Matthew Digital.

Selected Collections by Name

Abraham Lincoln Collection, 1857-1989
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
The online finding aid to the rare print, newspaper, artifact, and memorabilia materials concerning Abraham Lincoln and his legacy at Berea College.
110 views this year
Annie Fellows Johnston Papers, 1917 - 1955
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 2, 2014
26 views this year
Anti-Slavery Collections
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated May 1, 2014
Slave bills of sale, abolitionist pamphlets, and correspondence relating to the crusade against slavery.
36 views this year
Battle of Richmond Research Papers
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 30, 2014
21 views this year
Berea Arts Council Papers, 1985-1987
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
Early organizational papers from the “Committee to Establish an Arts Council in Berea” and the subsequent result, the Berea Arts Council
7 views this year
Berea Citizen Collection, 1984-Present
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 29, 2014
17 views this year
Berea City Records, 1890-1918
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
19 views this year
Berea Community Collection, 1802-1964
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 21, 2014
The collection is comprised of records and photographs providing background and historical information about the Berea community.
31 views this year
Berea Friends (Quaker) Meeting Collection
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Jun 11, 2014
Collection of the Berea Friends Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends in Berea, Kentucky.
14 views this year
Berea Interfaith Task Force for Peace Collection, 1896 -
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 30, 2014
11 views this year
Berea League of Women Voters Records, 1946-1998
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
This collection is comprised of miscellaneous correspondence, reports, clippings, minutes, and publications relating to the Berea Branch of the League of Women Voters.
5 views this year
Berea Women's Club Collection, 1919-
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 21, 2014
10 views this year
Berea Younger Woman's Club, 1948-1994
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
Collection consists of the Club’s Yearbooks, meeting minutes and scrapbooks.
8 views this year
Berea/Richmond and Beyond Unidentified WWI Era Photo Album
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
8 views this year
Cardinal Deli Kitchen Book
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Mar 24, 2014
Recipe and pricing book for the Cardinal Deli (previously the Co-op, Berea College Grocery, and the Cardinal Grocery) located at 110 Main Street, Berea, KY.
30 views this year
Cassius M. Clay Collection, 1845 - 1975
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 3, 2014
Newspaper clippings, publications, and photographs gathered by Hutchins Library staff.
61 views this year
Charles Guest WWII Photograph Collection, c. 1930's-1945
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 9, 2014
31 views this year
Chemical Demilitarization Media Project Collection, 1970-1993
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
Government and opposition group records documenting the controversy over alternatives for disposal of nerve gas and other chemical weapons stored at the Bluegrass Army Depot in Madison County, Kentucky.
12 views this year
Church of Christ, Union of Berea, Ky (Union Church) Historical Collection, ca. 1859 - 2004
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 2, 2014
Subject files are comprised chiefly of official church records, publications, and correspondence documenting the founding and history of Union Church.
43 views this year
Church Women United (Berea) Collection, 1960-2009
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 28, 2014
6 views this year
Citizens Review Support Study Collection, 1960 - 1990
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 14, 2014
13 views this year
Currency Collection [Paper Money], 1771-1955
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
Representative examples of American currency from 1771 to 1955.
45 views this year
Darwin Rush James Collection, 1865-1895
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
1 views this year
Documents and Manuscripts (Autographs) Collection
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
This collection consists of autographed letters and documents signed by persons of literary, political, or historical note.
14 views this year
George U. Morris Collection, 1861-1876
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
12 views this year
Henrietta Child Collection, 1897-1977
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 21, 2014
This collection consists of notebooks, correspondence, clippings, manuscripts, and toys relating to Miss Henrietta Ellery Child and her work.
13 views this year
Historical Collections | Special Collections and Archives
by Lori Myers-Steele, Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Apr 30, 2014
Historical Collections consist of material that document organizations and individuals with local, state, or national significance, but not related either to the Appalachian region or to Berea College.
526 views this year
Joe Samuel Barker (Autograph) Collection, 1949-1973
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
This collection consists of autographed letters written to former Berea student, Joe Samuel Barker, many of which relate to a project he undertook to elicit the principal concerns of prominent political leaders.
8 views this year
Margaret Hay Edwards Papers, 1901-1994
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Mar 28, 2014
Collection of papers documenting the life and work of Dr. Margaret Hay Edwards M.D. Includes writings, photographs and award certificates of the native Appalachian who made outstanding contributions in the field of cancer education.
5 views this year
New Opportunity School for Women Collection, 1996-
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Jun 18, 2014
19 views this year
Norman Ball Photographic Collection, 1942-1945
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated May 2, 2014
This collection is comprised of photographs taken by Norman Ball, while serving in the 19th Depot Supply Squadron, United States Army Air Force.
18 views this year
Papers of Alfred A. and Gertrude C. Gilman, 1865-1966
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
Papers documenting the lives and work of Alfred A. Gilman, an Episcopal Bishop in Hankow, China, and his wife Gertrude Carter Gilman, also a missionary in China.
8 views this year
Papers of Andrew Beaumont Humphrey, 1890-1930
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
Collection contains correspondence, personal papers and business records of Andrew B. Humphrey, including materials relating to his association with the National Republican Club.
7 views this year
Papers of J. Calvin Bright, 1911-1983
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
13 views this year
Papers of the United States National Student Association, 1946-1983
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
Documenting the activities of the United States National Student Association and its first president, former Berea student William "Bill Welsh."
36 views this year
Progress Club Collection, 1907-
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 28, 2014
14 views this year
Records of the Berea Kiwanis Club, 1929-
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 28, 2014
29 views this year
Reverend Ida A. Green Collection
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
Correspondence, diaries, clippings, and photographs documenting the life and work of Ida Green, minister and social reformer.
20 views this year
Ruth Cranston Papers, 1908-1957
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
This small collection contains several manuscripts as well as limited biographical material related to writer and interfaith advocate Ruth Cranston, (c1888 -1956)
6 views this year
Second Nature Recycling Collection, 1981-1987
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Jun 19, 2014
Records documenting Second Nature Recycling, a Berea community organization that sought to raise public awareness of the need for a community waste recycling plan.
5 views this year
Sprague-Smith Collection, 1904-1938
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
6 views this year
Sustainable Berea Papers, 2010-
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 3, 2014
3 views this year
Tate Building Documentation Collection, 2004
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Jun 19, 2014
16 views this year
United Neighbors Homemakers Club Records (1966-1988)
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
1 views this year
Watergate Collection, 1973-1974
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
This collection primarily consists of Time and Newsweek magazines contemporaneous to the events leading to the resignation of President Richard M. Nixon (1973-1974).
37 views this year
WHAS Radio Historical Collection, 1936-1967
by John Bondurant, Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Aug 21, 2014
74 views this year
William Goodell Family Papers, 1780-1892
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 3, 2014
33 views this year
Women's Christian Temperance Union - Berea Chapter Records
by Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
Records include a single ledger used to record minutes of the Chapter from its organization in November, 1890, through December, 1902.
30 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip