This is the "Overview" page of the "Curio (Rare Books)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Curio (Rare Books)   Tags: bibles, special collections & archives  

The Curio (Rare Book) Collection consists of over 12,000 valuable books dating from the earliest period of printing in the 15th century to important first editions and beautifully illustrated books of the 20th century.
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.berea.edu/curio Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 

Book Collections in
Special Collections & Archives

Berea Collection
by Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
The Berea Collection brings together books, pamphlets and other printed sources dealing with the college and the Berea Community.
124 views this year
Curio (Rare Books)
by Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
The Curio (Rare Book) Collection consists of over 12,000 valuable books dating from the earliest period of printing in the 15th century to important first editions and beautifully illustrated books of the 20th century.
77 views this year
Curio Manuscript and Bible Facsimiles
by Sharyn Mitchell, Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
38 views this year
Shedd/Schwarzschild Abraham Lincoln Collection
by Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
The Shedd/Schwarzschild Abraham Lincoln Collection consists of over 1800 books and other materials.
46 views this year
Weatherford-Hammond Mountain Collection
by Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
Started in 1914 as a separate collection in the Berea College Library, Berea's Mountain Collection of published works on the Appalachian region is a resource of great importance and significance.
76 views this year
 

Curio (Rare Books)

Berea's Rare Book Collection consists of over 12,000 valuable books dating from the earliest period of printing in the 15th century to important first editions and beautifully illustrated books of the 20th century. Most of the important rare books have been gifts from friends of the College.

The collection is distinguished for its centuries-old Bible, its first editions in English and American Literature, ballad books, hymnals, and 19th century works on the anti-slavery movement and Black history. The rare books, used in library displays and in teaching, provide a great depth and richness to the holdings of Hutchins Library.

Berea's rare books are a great resource for a college with a strong liberal arts program. As a part of the record of civilization, they delight and instruct in various ways. There is no substitute, for example, for turning the pages of the first edition of the King James Bible (1611), or holding in one's hand a Shakespeare folio. Rare books stimulate the imagination and foster an appreciation for the great tradition of the written word.

The library does not engage in an active collecting program for the rare book collection, either through gift solicitation or purchase.

 

Search Library Catalog - Special Collections & Archives

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip