Related Berea Sound Archives Sites
- Traditional Music and Spoken Word Performances This link opens in a new windowListen to selected musical performances and storytelling from the Berea Sound Archives.
- Alan Lomax Kentucky CollectionListen to ocumentary sound recordings of rural Kentucky music and lore collected under the auspices of the Archive of American Folk Song at the Library of Congress between 1933 and 1942.
- Oral History Collections GuideBerea's online oral history collections cover a broad range of topics in the areas of Appalachian history and culture, and the history of Berea College. In many instances searchable transcripts accompany the digitized audio recordings.
- Examples of Oral Histories For Use As Primary SourcesSelected interview texts and recordings covering a wide range of topics.
- Sound Recording Analysis WorksheetA teaching / learning resource from the National Archives.
- Sound Archives Research GuidesResearch guides are the work of Archives staff and the College's Sound Archives Fellows. Using audio and video illustrations, the guides cover a wide range of topics.
- Sound Preservation ProgramThe program's focus is on Berea's collections of noncommercial recordings that document Appalachian history and culture and the history of Berea College.
- Berea Sound Archives HomepageBrowse By Topic
Contact the Berea Sound Archives
Red Foley Award
Red Foley Memorial Music Award
In 1970 Berea College established the Red Foley Memorial Music Award in honor of Berea native Clyde Julian "Red" Foley, a country music artist widely recognized for his vocal and instrumental virtuosity. The annual award is presented to talented Berea College students in recognition of their musical contributions to the social life of the campus community, and to promote the kind of music associated with Red Foley’s career, such as folk, country, bluegrass, gospel, and popular music. Complete list of past winners.
 |
Phuzz Street Knuckle Busters, 1972-73 Red Foley Award, was a student string band with many different spellings of their name. Their original song "Take It Easy" was released as a 45 RPM single on the group's own Phuz Street Records. (SC-PD-051-B) |
Katie Morgan, 2000-01 Red Foley Award, is a native of the urban appalachian center of Cincinnati, OH, Katie (sometimes spelled Caty) majored in English and vocal music at Berea, went on to earn a Master of Theological Studies at Harvard Divinity School, and become a critically-acclaimed and best selling of "All the Living" as C.E. Morgan.
"Shady Grove and other songs with the Berea College Bluegrass Ensemble from the 2001 Celebration of Traditional Music.
(AC-OR-005-720-02)
Jake Krack, 2005-06 Red Foley Award, is a new generation old-time fiddle player. As a youngster, Jake learned fiddle tunes from West Virginia fiddlers Lester McCumbers and Melvin Wine.
"Waiting For The Boatsman" is a Melvin Wine tune Jake performed at the 2006 Appalachian Stringband Festival in Clifftop, WV. (JK-CD-300-021-002)
 |
Ashley Nicole Long, 2007-08 Red Foley Award, is a singer whose family's roots reach far back into western Virginia. Never Leave Harlan Alive and other songs with the Berea College Bluegrass Ensemble from the 2007 Celebration of Traditional Music. (SC-CD-074-003) |
Darrin Hacquard, 2009-10, Red Foley Award, is from Rockbridge, Hocking County, Ohio in the Appalachian region southeast Ohio.
"Walk Sign Main Street" is Darrin's original composition and performs this Berea inspired song at the Berea College Bluegrass Ensemble's spring 2009 concert.
(Disc 2, Track 8, "Berea Bluegrass Ensemble, Live, 2009)
Sam Gleaves, 2013-14, Red Foley Award, grew up in Wytheville, Virginia, the crossroads of the Blue Ridge. After graduating in the spring of 2014, Sam was hired as a processing assistant in the Berea College Special Collections & Archives.
"Blue Diamond Mines," the now classic modern mountain folk song written by Jean Ritchie, is performed here by Sam with the Berea College Bluegrass Ensemble at the 2011 Celebration of Traditional Music.
(SC-CD-113-008-A-04)
