This is the "About Us" page of the "About Hutchins Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

About Hutchins Library   Tags: policies, staff  

General information about Berea College Hutchins Library.
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.berea.edu/aboutus Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

About Us Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

 

 

 

 

Hutchins Library

Hutchins Library supports the educational mission of the college by maintaining a rich collection of materials in a variety of formats (books, journals, newspapers, e-resources, CDs, audio tapes, videos, DVDs, LPs, etc.), by providing Interlibrary Loan service, and by helping students develop their skills in locating and evaluating information. Further information on the library's mission may be found below.

Hutchins Library is a teaching library. The librarians work closely with the faculty in both General Studies and departmental courses to help students become more effective researchers. Library liaisons are available to work with instructors in a variety of ways--from conducting research sessions in the library or the classroom to preparing research guides on particular topics.

We encourage all faculty who are incorporating research into their courses to keep us informed about these assignments. Your library liaison welcomes opportunities to talk with you about assignments and to provide instructional support as appropriate. For a list of both the collection development and bibliographic instruction library liaisons for the various areas of study, see the Academic Program Liaison tab.

Research assistance is always available on a drop-in basis, and the reference staff is happy to provide more thorough consultations by appointment.

The library has a Special Collections & Archives department, audiovisual viewing areas, group study rooms, and copiers/printers/scanners.  Library 106 & 107 are fully equipped multimedia classrooms.

Computers are available in the Reference Area.  Wireless networking is available throughout the building.

 

Mission

Hutchins Library provides resources and services appropriate for an undergraduate, liberal arts college to meet the educational, professional, and recreational needs of students, faculty, and staff.

Goals

To support the curriculum by providing access to materials in the most appropriate format.   This includes developing local collections of print and non-print materials and providing access to off-campus resources.

To  participate actively in the instruction of students in the location, use, and evaluation of appropriate information.

To support the professional development of faculty and staff by developing appropriate local collections of print and non-print materials and by providing access to off-campus resources.

To collect, organize, and maintain the archival records of Berea College and other appropriate archival/manuscript materials.

To develop a comprehensive collection of resources on the southern Appalachian region in selected subject areas to support the research of students, faculty, and visiting scholars.

To serve as an information resource for the total Berea community and to cooperate with local organizations and groups in promoting information services to Berea and Madison County.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip