Skip to main content

Moodle and Library Resources

Hutchins Library offers a variety of resources that faculty can integrate into their Moodle spaces. Here are some ways to help you embed library resources into Moodle for your students.

The Basics of Linking Online Resources

These are the general principles for linking to an article or other material, like an e-book,  from one of the library's databases into Moodle. We have then provided in other boxes some specific examples from major resources in order to point out any small differences or exceptions.

Linking to Articles in an EBSCO Database


 

These directions will work in any of our Ebsco databases which include:

 

    • Academic Search Premier
    • AGRICOLA
    • America History and Life
    • Art Index
    • Business Source Premier
    • CINAHL
    • Communication & Mass Media Complete >
    • Education Research Complete
    • ERIC
    • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
    • Family & Society Studies Worldwide
    • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
    • GreenFILE
    • Health Source - Consumer Edition
    • Historical Abstracts
    • Humanities International Complete
    • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
    • MAS Ultra - School Edition
    • MasterFILE Premier
    • MEDLINE
    • Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
    • Middle Search Plus
    • MLA Directory of Periodicals
    • MLA International Bibliography
    • Music Index
    • Newspaper Source
    • Peace Research Abstracts
    • Philosopher's Index
    • Primary Search
    • PsycARTICLES
    • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    • PsycINFO
    • Race Relations Abstracts
    • Regional Business News
    • Serials Directory
    • Small Business Reference Center
    • Sociological Collection
    • Teacher Reference Center
    • TOPICsearch
    • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
    • Women's Studies International
  • Follow the basic instructions.
  • Look to the right hand side of the screen for the Permalink option. The option may have a small icon that looks like a chain. Click on the Permalink link. In EBSCO, when you open the full record of the article, by clicking on the title, it is on the right side of the screen:

     

  • Once you click on Permalink, you will see Permalink listed near the top of the record. It will look like this:

  • Now, to make it work off-campus, remember that you need to add our EZ Proxy Link, so it will look like this: https://webapps.berea.edu:2443/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=53985755&site=ehost-live
  • Copy the modified URL and then paste it in the appropriate spot in Moodle.

Example: "Appalachia's Wounds."

Linking to Articles in JStor

  • Follow the basic instructions.
  • Once you find the article, look for the "Article Stable URL" in the citation. Under Tools, which are on the right side, you need to click on the link for View Citation.

  • When the citation opens (in a small pop-up window), find the spot with the Stable URL:

  • Now, to make it work off-campus, you need to add our EZ Proxy Link to the Article Stable URL, so it will look like this: https://webapps.berea.edu:2443/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/23045175
  • This is the URL you will need to copy. Copy the URL and then paste it in the appropriate spot in Moodle.

Example: "Pirates of the Caribbean"

Linking to Articles in Lexis-Nexis

  • Follow the basic instructions.
  • On top of the article, you will see a grey navigation bar. At the right side of that bar, you will see some icons for output options: a small printer (to print), a small envelope (for e-mailing the article), a floppy disk (remember those? This indicates option for saving on your computer or USB drive), a little notebook (for exporting to your citation manager), a clipboard with a chain (for the permalink), and a small cloud with an arrow (for sending to Dropbox). You want to click on the clipboard with a chain to get the permalink:

  • This will open a small pop-up window that includes a bold text of the title of the article (it is a live link). Move your cursor over this bold text, right click, and copy the link (when you do this, it may say "Copy Link Location." Do that, not just "Copy").

  • Your copied link may look like this: http://www.lexisnexis.com/lnacui2api/api/version1/getDocCui?lni=58MB-CMP1-DYJT-21YD&csi=247189&hl=t&hv=t&hnsd=f&hns=t&hgn=t&oc=00240&perma=true
  • Now, to make it work off-campus, you need to add our EZ Proxy Link to the Article UR" so it will look like this: https://webapps.berea.edu:2443/login?url=http://www.lexisnexis.com/lnacui2api/api/version1/getDocCui?lni=58MB-CMP1-DYJT-21YD&csi=247189&hl=t&hv=t&hnsd=f&hns=t&hgn=t&oc=00240&perma=true
  • This is the URL you will need to copy into Moodle. Copy the URL and then paste it in the appropriate spot in Moodle.

Example: "Parading to Celebrate 25 Years of Gay Pride."

Linking to Articles in Project Muse

  1. Follow the basic instructions.
  2. NOTE: For Project Muse, once you open the record of the article, you can copy the URL from the browser. It will look like this: http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/cultural_critique/v059/59.1mackie.html
  3. You add the EX Proxy link in front of the permalink (article URL), so it will look like this: https://webapps.berea.edu:2443/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/cultural_critique/v059/59.1mackie.html
  4. This is the URL you will need to copy into Moodle. Copy the URL and then paste it in the appropriate spot in Moodle.

Example: "Welcome the Outlaw: Pirates, Maroons, and Caribbean Countercultures."

Linking to Articles in ProQuest

 

 These instructions will work in any of our ProQuest Databases, which include:

  • Alt-PressWatch
  • Career and Technical Education
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
  • New York Times (1851-2007)
  • New York Times(1980 to the Present)
  • Physical Education Index
  • ProQuest Religion

  • Follow the basic directions.
  • Once you find your article, on the abstract/citation screen you will see Document URL as you scroll the detailed record; you need to scroll down past the abstract and the full text of the article, if available. You should see Document URL then.  This is the URL you will need to copy for use. It may look like this: http://search.proquest.com/docview/210365061?accountid=8578

  • You then add EX Proxy link in front of the permalink (article stable URL), so it will look like this: https://webapps.berea.edu:2443/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/210365061?accountid=8578
  • That then is the URL you will need to copy into Moodle. Copy the URL and then paste it in the appropriate spot in Moodle.

Example: "Poverty, Race, and LGBT Youth."