Wiregrass Sacred Harp TV Program
Henry Japeth Jackson, standing center in lighter grey suit, leads the singing. Dewey Williams is seated 2nd from left.
c. 1990s WTVY Channel 4, Dothan, AL. Uploaded to YouTube by Steve Grauberger.
Related Berea Sound Archives Sites
- Traditional Music and Spoken Word Performances This link opens in a new windowListen to selected musical performances and storytelling from the Berea Sound Archives.
- Alan Lomax Kentucky CollectionListen to ocumentary sound recordings of rural Kentucky music and lore collected under the auspices of the Archive of American Folk Song at the Library of Congress between 1933 and 1942.
- Oral History Collections GuideBerea's online oral history collections cover a broad range of topics in the areas of Appalachian history and culture, and the history of Berea College. In many instances searchable transcripts accompany the digitized audio recordings.
- Examples of Oral Histories For Use As Primary SourcesSelected interview texts and recordings covering a wide range of topics.
- Sound Recording Analysis WorksheetA teaching / learning resource from the National Archives.
- Sound Archives Research GuidesResearch guides are the work of Archives staff and the College's Sound Archives Fellows. Using audio and video illustrations, the guides cover a wide range of topics.
- Sound Preservation ProgramThe program's focus is on Berea's collections of noncommercial recordings that document Appalachian history and culture and the history of Berea College.
- Berea Sound Archives HomepageBrowse By Topic
Contact the Berea Sound Archives
Online Resources
- Stormy Banks and Sweet Rivers: A Sacred Harp GeographyArticle in Southern Spaces by James B. Wallace, Emory University. "This essay explores the history, geography, and contemporary practices of Sacred Harp—one form of a cappella, shape-note music—in the US South. "
Manuscript & Print Resources
- William H. Tallmadge Baptist Hymnody Collection 1968-1980
This link opens in a new window
This collection includes correspondence, sound recordings, notebooks, church association minutes, and hymnbooks compiled during the 1960s and 1970s by William H. Tallmadge while studying Old Regular, Primitive, and United Baptist hymnody in eastern Kentucky, western North Carolina, and western Virginia, as well as the African-American shape-note singing tradition in southeastern Alabama. (17 ms boxes) - Symposium on Rural Hymnody Collection, 1974-1982
- This link opens in a new window
The symposium was conceived by Berea faculty members Loyal Jones and William Tallmadge. Presenters looked to challenge the pioneering work of George Pullen Jackson. The audio recordings document each of the seventeen oral presentations, and performances by the A.L. Phipps Family, the Wiregrass Sacred Harp Singers, and Sunday services at the Left Beaver Old Regular Baptist Church at Martin in Floyd County, Kentucky.
The Colored sacred harp (2nd revised edition) by Call Number: 782.27 J131c 1983 (Special Collection - MT)Publication Date: 19831983 reprint with brief biography of Judge Jackson.
The sacred harp by Call Number: 782.27 S1235 (Special Collections - MT)Publication Date: 1968including as a historical introduction, The story of The sacred harp / by George Pullen Jackson.
Judge Jackson and the Colored Sacred Harp by Call Number: 782.2509 B789j 2002Publication Date: 2002Boyd provides a personal and insightful study of the Southeast Alabama man who, during the Great Depression, appropriated the concept of the popular Shape-note tunebook The Sacred Harp into a new tunebook for African Americans that began what is now considered an important American folk music tradition. Boyd, a journalist and folklorist, uses research he began in the 1960s to create a portrait of Jackson and his music. The book, which was funded partly by the Alabama State Council for the Arts, includes a CD with 27 historical recordings. Annotation (c) Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)
The role of shape-note singing in the musical culture of black communities in southeast Alabama by Call Number: 781.773 D995r (Special Collections - MT)Publication Date: 1977Shape-note singing in the musical culture of black communities in southeast Alabama.
