Skip to main content

Library Collection Development - Specific Collections

Electronic Resources

The primary purpose of Hutchins Library’s electronic resources collection is to support the curriculum goals of Berea College.   A secondary emphasis of the collection is to support the College’s dedication to liberal arts education, multicultural diversity, and the research needs of students and faculty.   Electronic resources, including journals, books, indexes, aggregating resources, and websites, are selected to fulfill academic curriculum needs.   They are chosen according to the same selection criteria as print materials, plus sustainability of cost, value added, and ease of access and use. 

 Websites available at no cost are selected according to the same criteria as gift books and the general collection.   Free websites of limited interest (time sensitive, course-specific focus) are regarded as analogous to course reserves: a quick record may be added to BANC, but the website is not considered part of the Hutchins Library collection.

 

Media Collections

The primary purpose of Hutchins Library’s audiovisual collection is to support the educational programs of Berea College.   A secondary emphasis of the collection is to support the College’s dedication to liberal arts education and multicultural diversity as well as the research needs of the students and faculty.   Audiocassettes, videocassettes, audio compact discs, DVDs, and multimedia are selected to fulfill academic curriculum needs.   The same criteria for selecting monographs are used for the selection of library media.