This is the "Overview" page of the "Berea Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Berea Collection   Tags: special collections & archives  

The Berea Collection brings together books, pamphlets and other printed sources dealing with the college and the Berea Community.
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.berea.edu/bereacollection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 

Book Collections in
Special Collections & Archives

Berea Collection
by Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
The Berea Collection brings together books, pamphlets and other printed sources dealing with the college and the Berea Community.
124 views this year
Curio (Rare Books)
by Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
The Curio (Rare Book) Collection consists of over 12,000 valuable books dating from the earliest period of printing in the 15th century to important first editions and beautifully illustrated books of the 20th century.
77 views this year
Curio Manuscript and Bible Facsimiles
by Sharyn Mitchell, Lori Myers-Steele - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
38 views this year
Shedd/Schwarzschild Abraham Lincoln Collection
by Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
The Shedd/Schwarzschild Abraham Lincoln Collection consists of over 1800 books and other materials.
46 views this year
Weatherford-Hammond Mountain Collection
by Rachel Vagts - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
Started in 1914 as a separate collection in the Berea College Library, Berea's Mountain Collection of published works on the Appalachian region is a resource of great importance and significance.
76 views this year
 

The Berea Collection

The Berea Collection brings together books, pamphlets and other printed sources dealing with the college and the Berea Community. In it are college histories and biographies, works of local history, and books written or edited by Berea faculty, staff, and alumni. The library seeks to acquire all such works for the collection. Although most additions to the Berea Collection are gifts to the College, a modest fund exists for the purchase of Berea-related materials.

The Berea Collection contains over 2500 volumes. This collection reflects Berea's strong sense of its own institutional history, as well as the associational value of works authored by Berea faculty, staff, and alumni.

 

Selected Titles from The Berea Collection

Cover Art
Berea and Madison County
- Jacqueline Grisby Burnside
Call Number: 976.953 B967b 2007

After the Civil War, black families were invited to Berea by white abolitionist Rev. John G. Fee to develop an interracial school and church. From 1866 to 1904, residents' lives revolved around Berea College, which educated black and white students together from primary school through college. In 1904, the Day Law prohibited interracial education. College trustees retained white students while funding blacks to attend allblack colleges elsewhere. From 1904 to 1950, when the Day Law was amended, many residents upheld racial equality principles.

Cover Art

Berea
- Howard Carlberg; Marvin Carlberg; Patricia L. Stephens
Call Number: 976.953 C278b 2009

In 1853, emancipationist Cassius M. Clay gave a portion of his land holdings in central Kentucky to Rev. John G. Fee. Together they had a vision of building a community for all people of the earth, regardless of race, color, creed, gender, or class. Berea College was founded in 1855 with the same principles in mind, becoming the first interracial and coeducational college in the South. By the 1920s, Berea was a popular stopping point for travelers driving the Dixie Highway, highlighted by the Boone Tavern, which opened in 1909. Images of America: Berea takes readers on a pictorial journey of Berea’s history, the growth of the college, and the flourishing artisan community with more than 200 images selected from the extensive Berea College Archives, private collections, and other sources.

 

Search Library Catalog - Special Collections & Archives

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip