Skip to main content

About Special Collections & Archives

Information about Berea College Special Collections & Archives

Planning Your Research Visit

Welcome to Special Collections & Archives

We are located on the lower level of the Hutchins Library on the Berea College Campus.  Included here are some webpages, which may prove helpful in your research experience.  

Berea College Website

Hutchins Library is the home of our Special Collections & Archives.

 

DIRECTIONS: 

  • From I-75 take exit #76 and head east into Berea on Chestnut St. for approximately one mile until you reach the campus; 
  • Turn LEFT at Ellipse St (Stoplight #7);
  • Turn immediately RIGHT onto Campus Drive. 
  • Parking for Hutchins Library is on Campus Drive with a visitors’ permit.   Please note there is a significant incline when walking from the parking lot to the front entrance of Hutchins Library.   There is also un-metered 2-hour parking on Chestnut Street, which does not involve the climb. 
  • If you require assistance or have difficulty locating us, please call 859-985-3262.

PARKING PERMITS:  Visitors’ Parking Permits are available through PUBLIC SAFETY.  For directions and instructions, call 859-985-3333.

COPIES:  Photocopies are $0.10 per page.  A limited number of copies may be made during your visit as staffing and time permit.  Larger volume copies/scans may require mailing or scanning to a flash drive (not furnished).  Currently, there is no additional charge for this service.

ALLOWED TECHNOLOGY:  Portable scanners, iPads, cameras without flash and camera phones are welcome

HOURS:  Special Collections & Archives observes more limited hours than the Hutchins Library in general.  SC&A is not open on weekends and has special hours when classes are not in session and during holidays.  Please verify times before your visit by calling (859) 985-3892 or (859) 985-3262.

Our Special Collections & Archives staff is eager to assist you.  Feel free to CONTACT US.