Cherokee Trail of Tears
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity by Call Number: EbookPublication Date: 2004Hoig, Stan. "Trail of Tears." Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity. Ed. Dinah L. Shelton. Vol. 3. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2005. 1043-1045. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 10 Nov. 2016.
The Cherokees by Call Number: 970.3 W899c Copy 2 (Location: Circulating Books)Publication Date: 1982Of the Five Civilized Tribes of Indians the Cherokees were early recognized as the greatest and the most civilized. Indeed, between 1540 and 1906 they reached a higher peak of civilization than any other North American Indian tribe. They invented a syllabary and developed an intricate government, including a system of courts of law. They published their own newspaper in both Cherokee and English and became noted as orators and statesmen. At the beginning the Cherokees’ conquest of civilization was agonizingly slow and uncertain. Warlords of the southern Appalachian Highlands, they were loath to expend their energies elsewhere. In the words of a British officer, "They are like the Devil’s pigg, they will neither lead nor drive." But, led or driven, the warlike and willful Cherokees, lingering in the Stone Age by choice at the turn of the eighteenth century, were forced by circumstances to transfer their concentration on war to problems posed by the white man. To cope with these unwelcome problems, they had to turn from the conquests of war to the conquest of civilization.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
- "Trail of Tears" (film segment)“Empire Upon the Trails: The West, a Film by Stephen Ives,” Films Media Group, 1996,
Sanctuary Movement
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice by Call Number: EbookPublication Date: 2007"Sanctuary Movement." Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice. Ed. Gary L. Anderson and Kathryn G. Herr. Vol. 3. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Reference, 2007. 1257-1259. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 10 Nov. 2016.
Sanctuary by Call Number: 362.87 G618s (Location: Circulating 3rd Floor)Publication Date: 1986Examines the efforts of American church groups to help Central Americans to find refuge in the United States
- Religion Database This link opens in a new windowReligion Database covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. In addition, there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations.
ProQuest Religion provides an excellent source of religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history. More full-text journals have been added in related religious studies, such as philosophy, ethics, and international perspectives.
Women's Movement of the 1970s
Culture Wars by Call Number: EbookPublication Date: 2009"Feminism, Second-Wave." Culture Wars: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices. Ed. Roger Chapman. Vol. 1. Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 2010. 177-178. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 10 Nov. 2016.
Daring to Be Bad by Call Number: 305.4209 E18d (Location: Circulating 3rd Floor)Publication Date: 1989Examines the most controversial and explosive shaping force in the women's movement in America, and traces its influence on modern feminism.
- "Second Wave of Feminism" (film segment)“Revolution—The Ascent of Woman: A 10,000 Year Story,” Films Media Group, 2015.
Barbara Kingsolver’s biography
Contemporary Literary Criticism by Call Number: EbookPublication Date: 2013"Barbara Kingsolver." Contemporary Literary Criticism. Ed. Jeffrey W. Hunter. Vol. 342. Detroit: Gale, 2013. Literature Resource Center. Web. 10 Nov. 2016.
Barbara Kingsolver by Call Number: 305.4209 E18dPublication Date: 2004The Great Writers series explores the lives of some of the most talked about literary figures of the past half-century. Kentucky native Kingsolver gained recognition as a contemporary author for works such as The Bean Trees and The Poisonwood Bible. Ages 14+.
Scholarly vs. Popular
Many of our faculty will require students to use scholarly sources in their papers. So, what does that mean? Watch the brief video below and then review the characteristics in the chart to your right to be reminded of the difference between popular and scholarly sources.
Looking for CRAAP
How do you know if a source is good enough to use? Watch the video below and then follow up by reviewing the questions to your right which comprise the CRAAP criteria.
