Browse the Collections
Browse these sections of the Reference, Circulating, and Media collections
| 264.2 | Music in public worship, Hymnology, Hymn stories |
| 780 | Music (general works) |
| 780.7 | Music education |
| 780.9 | History of music |
| 780.92 | Biographies of composers, performers; thematic catalogs |
| 781 | Theory of Music - General principles & musical forms |
| 781.3 | Composition |
| 781.43 | Performance techniques |
| 781.45 | Conducting |
| 781.6 | Traditions of music - includes folk, bluegrass, country and jazz, etc. |
| 781.71 | Christian sacred music/church music |
| 782 | Vocal music |
| 782.1 | Opera |
| 782.27 | Hymnals |
| 783 | Music for single voices; the voice |
| 784 | Instruments & instrumental ensembles |
| 786 | Keyboard & other instruments |
| 786.2 | Piano |
| 786.8 | Percussion instruments (Idiophones) |
| 786.9 | Percussion instruments (Membranophones) |
| 787 | Stringed instruments (Chordophones) |
| 788 | Wind instruments (Aerophones) |
Link to selected websites
- Turning the Pages: Mozart's Thematic Catalogue - British LibraryMulti-media presentation of Mozart's record of works from the last seven years of his life. Follow prompts to load the required version of Flash before enjoying this rich resource.
- UCSB English Broadside Ballad Archive"Making broadside ballads of the seventeenth
century fully accessible as texts, art, music, and cultural records."
Your Liaison
Amanda Peach
she/her
Contact:
Office: Hutchins Library 215
CPO LIB
Hutchins Library
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404
CPO LIB
Hutchins Library
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404
859.985.3279
Website
Need Assistance? Ask Us!
Find Background Info
- Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of MusiciansReference: R 780.922 B168 2001
- Encyclopedia of Popular MusicReference: R 781.6403 E56 2006
- Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicReference: R 780.9 G233
- Literature of Chamber MusicReference: R 785.009 C678L
- New Grove Dictionary of Music and MusiciansReference: R 780.3 N532 2001
- Harvard Dictionary of MusicReference: R 780.3 H3392 2003
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002). Articles that have been updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen. The publisher has also added The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music to this online resource.
Find Music (audio and scores/parts)
- Naxos Music Library (streaming music) This link opens in a new windowNaxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, and Folk music. Whilst listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database. (Publisher's website)
Because Berea has a license for only 4 simultaneous sessions, it is very important to LogOut of Naxos instead of just closing the browser window. - Digital Library of Appalachia This link opens in a new windowThe Digital Library of Appalachia provides online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region. The contents of the DLA are drawn from special collections of Appalachian College Association member libraries.
Find Scores and Parts
- Public domain scores at the Sibley Music Library, Eastman.Free public domain scores, and sometimes parts, available for downloading.
- ChoralWiki"The resource hosts public-domain scores of more than 22,200 choral and vocal works by 2,600-plus composers. Users may easily search by composer and title and can conduct broader searches using pull-down options to select specific score categories, including sacred and secular genres, voicing, and accompaniment. There are numerous browse options, including a way to locate information on composers by birth and death anniversaries." - CHOICE review
Find Articles
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowThe Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. Formerly The Music Index Online provided by Harmonie Park Press, this database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. The comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music makes Music Index an invaluable resource for both novice and scholar. Music Index cites: • Book Reviews • Obituaries • News Periodicals • News and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- JSTOR Collections This link opens in a new windowJSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes over one thousand leading academic journals and thousands of e-books across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- New York Times (1851-2013) This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times is considered the United States newspaper of record for the late 19th and the 20th century. Historical advertisements and images are also included in this database. The New York Times (1851-2010) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- New York Times (1980 - Current) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. The New York Times is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
Assignment Resources
- Annotated Bibiography HandoutThis handout from the Learning Center may provide you with additional ideas for your Annotated Bibliography assignment. Your professor's instructions, however, are your primary guide to this assignment.
Other Resources
- MUS 330 NotesThis is the handout used in the library session.
You can locate materials in other libraries through WorldCat.
For your convenience, here is the handout from our library session.
