*History: Start Your Research

Profiling the age of war and reconstruction, this encyclopedia details European history from the Bolshevik Revolution to the European Union, linking it to the history of the rest of the world. Many transformations in the European story are covered in this easily accessible collection of about 675 illustrations and 920 articles: Europe sundered by war and genocide, Europe reconfigured after World War II and the Cold War, and much more.

Conceived and produced by an expert group of teachers, librarians, and historians, Milestone Documents in American History offers an innovative approach to historical reference. This new series by Schlager Group offers students and researchers in-depth, analytical essays illuminating famous primary source documents from U.S and world history. Each entry includes the full text of the document in question as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context. With content aligned to the National History Standards and signed essays written by a team of nearly 100 esteemed historians, Milestone Documents in American History offers an unparalleled reference tool for students conducting primary source research.

Traces the history of revolts and rebellions from the colonial era to the 20th century.

The original 1995 encyclopedia, an award winner from both the American Library Association (Dartmouth Certificate) and the American Historical Association, was celebrated as a landmark in the development of Latin American studies (The Americas). This new edition adds nearly 600 entirely new topics, replaces some 150 obsolete entries, and also provides substantial revisions to hundreds more. Every one of the 5,700+ entries has been reviewed for currency of content and bibliography. An entirely new illustration program features over 100 full-color photographs in addition to hundreds in black-and-white. National statistics have been conveniently tabulated for every one of Latin America's 37 countries. New content addresses research on prehistoric environments and cultures, U.S. Haitian interventions, the consequences of NAFTA and increased Mexican immigration, the troubled aftermaths of Pinochet's Chile and Fujimori's Peru, truth and reconciliation commissions, and the still-contested legacy of the Mexico City massacre of 1968. New leaders like Brazil's Lula da Silva and Venezuela's Hugo Chavez are profiled along with hundreds of other rising figures in politics, letters, and the arts. Newly commissioned master essays synthesize current knowledge on such major regional themes as Democracy in the Americas, Hemispheric Affairs, and the Hispanic Impact on the U.S. Includes full index and table of biographical subjects by profession. Edited by Jay Kinsbruner and an international team of consultants on three continents.

Now updated and expanded for the electronic age, this best-selling how-to manual introduces students, teachers, and anyone interested in history to the theory, craft, and methods of the discipline and provides a series of tools to help them read, research, and understand the past. The first part of the book is a stimulating introduction to the key elements of history - evidence, narrative, judgement - that explores how the study and concepts of history have evolved over the centuries. The second part guides readers through the workshop of history. Unlocking the historian's toolbox, it reveals the tricks of the trade including documents, sources, footnotes, bibliographies, chronologies, and more. This section also covers issues of interpretation, speculation, professional ethics, and controversial issues such as plagiarism, historical hoaxes, and conspiracy theories.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History captures the experiences of women throughout world history in a comprehensive, 4-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women have played throughout world history. The past thirty years have seen an explosion of research and effort to present the experiences and contributions of women not only in the Western world but acrossthe globe. Historians have investigated womens daily lives in virtually every region and have researched the leadership roles women have filled across time and region. They have found and demonstrated that there is virtually no historical, social, or demographic change in which women have not been involved and by which their lives have not been affected. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History benefits greatly from these efforts and experiences, and illuminates how women worldwide have influenced and been influenced by these historical, social, and demographic changes. The Encyclopedia contains over 1,300 signed articles arranged in an A-Z format for ease of use. The entries cover six main areas: biographies; geography and history; comparative culture and society, including adoption, abortion, performing arts; organizations and movements, such as the Egyptian Uprising, and the Paris Commune; womens and gender studies; and topics in world history that include slave trade, globalization, and disease. With its rich and insightful entries by leading scholars and experts, this reference work is sure to be a valued, go-to resource for scholars, college and high school students, and general readers alike.

Who was the first King of England? What prompted the Cat and Mouse Act? When was Wembley stadium demolished? Where did the Rebecca riots take place? How long did the Hundred Years War last? Containing more than 3,800 authoritative entries written by over 100 specialist contributors, this dictionary describes the people and events that have shaped and defined domestic, political, social, and cultural life in Britain since 55 BC. New entries to this edition include Gordon Brown, DavidCameron, Gerry Adams, and Rowan Williams and existing entries on Tony Blair, Iraq, Northern Ireland, and terrorism have been updated. Following the A-Z text is an appendix of recommended web links that provide relevant and useful extra information. Web links are conveniently accessed via the Dictionary of British History companion website, where they are regularly checked and kept up to date. Derived from the highly acclaimed The Oxford Companion to British History, A Dictionary of BritishHistory has been a leading historical reference work since its publication in 2001. Now thoroughly revised and fully updated, this handy and invaluable A-Z remains essential for anyone studying or with an interest in British history as well as for those in need of a compact reference book covering 2,000 years of people, events, places, and change.

This book offers a guided tour of the current state scholarship on daily life, including the knowledge that generated and suggestions for further research. Edited by Peter N. Stearns, the eminent social historian and Chair of the Advanced Placement World History committee.

This title presents in-depth critical essays on important women and men in all areas of achievement and from around the world, who flourished between 1901 and 2000. It is a reference set which covers a century in global fashion.

It is impossible to understand America without understanding the history of African Americans. In nearly seven hundred entries, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 documents the full range of the African American experience during that period - from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass - and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans. The Encyclopedia covers an extraordinary range of subjects. Major topics such as "Abolitionism," "Black Nationalism," the "Civil War," the "Dred Scott case," "Reconstruction," "Slave Rebellions and Insurrections," the "Underground Railroad," and "Voting Rights" are given the in-depth treatment one would expect. But the encyclopedia also contains hundreds of fascinating entries on less obvious subjects, such as the "African Grove Theatre," "Black Seafarers," "Buffalo Soldiers," the "Catholic Church and African Americans," "Cemeteries and Burials," "Gender," "Midwifery," "New York African Free Schools," "Oratory and Verbal Arts," "Religion and Slavery," the "Secret Six," and much more. In addition, the Encyclopedia offers brief biographies of important African Americans - as well as white Americans who have played a significant role in African American history - from Crispus Attucks, John Brown, and Henry Ward Beecher to Olaudah Equiano, Frederick Douglass, Sarah Grimké, Sojourner Truth, Nat Turner, Phillis Wheatley, and many others. All of the Encyclopedia's alphabetically arranged entries are accessibly written and free of jargon and technical terms. To facilitate ease of use, many composite entries gather similar topics under one headword. The entry for Slave Narratives, for example, includes three subentries: The Slave Narrative in America from the Colonial Period to the Civil War, Interpreting Slave Narratives, and African and British Slave Narratives. A headnote detailing the various subentries introduces each composite entry. Selective bibliographies and cross-references appear at the end of each article to direct readers to related articles within the Encyclopedia and to primary sources and scholarly works beyond it. A topical outline, chronology of major events, nearly 300 black and white illustrations, and comprehensive index further enhance the work's usefulness.

The conflict that dominated world events for nearly five decades is now captured in a multivolume work of unprecedented magnitude--from a publisher widely acclaimed for its authoritative military and historical references. Under the direction of internationally known military historian Spencer Tucker, ABC-CLIO's "The Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History" offers the most current and comprehensive treatment ever published of the ideological conflict that not so long ago enveloped the globe. From the Second World War to the collapse of the Soviet Union, "The Encyclopedia of the Cold War" provides authoritative information on all military conflicts, battlefield and surveillance technologies, diplomatic initiatives, important individuals and organizations, national histories, economic developments, societal and cultural events, and more. The nearly 1,300 entries, plus topical essays and an extraordinarily rich documents volume, draw heavily on recently opened Russian, Eastern European, and Chinese archives. The work is a definitive cornerstone reference on one of the most important historical topics of our time.